Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (71 total).

Kuklish S. n.d.. Combating infant mortality: Perinatal periods of risk analysis–A comparison of 2000-2002 and 2003-2005 birth cohort results. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 21 pp.

Annotation: This electronic file presents PowerPoint-type slides that describe the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) analysis process and findings from a study of a reference group of individuals in Arizona that include a chart of feto-infant death, how different data can lead to potential actions, and changes between the first (2000-2002) and second (2003-2005) cohorts. Data are analyzed according to ethnicity, age, and level of education. It concludes with a statement of which groups and which periods on the prenatal-infancy continuum need to be focused on.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Ave., Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 364-1400 Fax: (602) 364- 1495 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/index.htm Out of print.

Keywords: Arizona, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, State surveys

Arizona Oral Health Coalition Advocacy Committee. 2024. Advocacy toolkit. [no place]: Arizona Oral Health Coalition, 18 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit, which is geared toward oral health advocates in Arizona, is a collection of resources that can help with advocating for oral heath policies at the Arizona legislature. The toolkit is divided into three sections. The first section provides information about the Arizona legislature. The second discusses how a bill becomes a law. The third provides tools and tips related to the following topics: advocacy vs. lobbying, finding a lawmaker, the request-to-speak system, creating a message, and meeting with a legislator.

Contact: Arizona Oral Health Coalition, Web Site: https://azohc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Arizona, Legislation, Legislatures, Lobbying, Oral health, State government

Russinof H. 2023. Arizona: Environmental scan results 2023. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Arizona. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, Arizona Oral Health Coalition, and Arizona Children's Action Alliance. 2022. Room to grow: An analysis of dental and health care claims in Medicaid-enrolled children in Arizona. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Roth E, Atkeson A. 2022. Improving access to oral health care for tribal populations in Arizona = Engaging tribal populations to improve oral health care access in Arizona. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health care for tribes in Arizona and steps that are being taken to improve access to care for this population. It explains what the Indian Health Service is and how services are reimbursed. It also discusses Arizona Medicaid’s tribal consultation policy and community engagement with oral health in the state.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health, Medicaid, Native Americans, Oral health, State information

Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health. [2019]. Finding the keys to Arizona's oral health issues: Arizona 2019-2022 oral health action plan. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 30 pp.

Annotation: The Arizona Oral Health Action Plan 2019–2022 provides guidance for improving the oral health of all Arizonans. It introduces issues related to oral health in Arizona and discusses the following topics: understanding oral health disparities among children, pregnant women, adults, and older adults; improving oral health equity; cross-cutting oral health care systems; and improving health and oral health in the state.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-1891 Fax: (602) 364-1494 Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/prevention/womens-childrens-health/oral-health/ Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adult health, Arizona, Older adults, Oral health, Service delivery systems, State planning

First Things First. 2019. The big picture for Arizona's littlest kids (rev). Phoenix, AZ: First Things First, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Northern Arizona University. 2019. Arizona Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project [FY 2019 progress report]. Flagstaff, AZ: Northern Arizona University, 20 pp.

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Arizona Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report offers information about project progress (including accomplishments), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Arizona Department of Health Services. 2019. Arizona 2019-2022 oral health action plan. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, 30 pp.

Annotation: This action plan provides guidance for improving the oral health of all Arizonans. The plan introduces the problem and provides information about oral health disparities among children, pregnant women, adults, older adults, and people with special health care needs. Also discussed are oral health equity, oral health care systems, and steps to achieving better oral health in Arizona.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Service delivery systems, Special heath care needs, State programs

Bauman NL, Davidson J. 2017. The reform that can increase dental access and affordability in Arizona. Phoenix, AZ: Goldwater Institute, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses difficulties related to accessing oral health care in Arizona and how licensing mid-level oral health practitioners (dental therapists) to perform routine oral health procedures could make care more accessible and affordable. Topics include the importance of oral health, crossing the border for care, reimbursement rates, dental therapy, dental therapy supervision, and the safety of dental therapy.

Contact: Goldwater Institute , 500 East Coronado Road, Phoenix, AZ 85004, Telephone: (602) 462-5000 Fax: (602) 256-7045 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.goldwaterinstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Dental care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Models, Oral health, Policy development, State legislation, Underserved communities, Vulnerability, Work force

First Things First. 2016–. Arizona parent kit. Phoenix, AZ: First Things First, multiple items.

Annotation: This kit is designed to help parents meet the challenges of parenting and support the healthy development of their infant or young child. Contents include resources about child development, health and safety, quality child care, and school readiness. Information about the importance of oral health in young children, preventing and treating tooth decay, oral hygiene during pregnancy and infancy, and finding a dentist is included.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child development, Child health, Child safety, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Infant health, Infants, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, State initiatives, Toddlers, Young children

Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board. 2016. Taking a bite out of school absences: Children's oral health report 2016. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board, 122 pp.

Annotation: This report presents survey results on the prevalence and severity of tooth decay in students in kindergarten in public schools in Arizona. Contents include information about tooth decay and the impact of poor oral health on children, families, and society, with an emphasis on the relationship between oral health and academic achievement. Survey results are presented by domain, including prevalence of decay experience, untreated decay, pain and infection, annual dental visits, and insurance coverage. Comparisons to previous statewide surveys, benchmarks and national data, and regional and county highlights are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board, First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Web Site: http://azftf.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Benchmarking, Dental caries, Health insurance, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Risk factors, School readiness, State surveys, Statewide planning, Young children

Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health. 2014. EMPOWER: Arizona tooth brushing manual–Fostering healthy smiles in the child care setting for ages 3 and older: Empower standard 7: Oral health. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 22 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides information and resources to support licensed early care and education facilities' efforts to implement a program standard for oral health. The standard gives facilities the option of implementing a toothbrushing program or introducing oral health education in the classroom through teacher-led and age-appropriate activities, while at the same time educating parents.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-1891 Fax: (602) 364-1494 Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/prevention/womens-childrens-health/oral-health/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Children, Health education, Manuals, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parents, Program development, Standards

Martin AB, Torres M, Vyavaharkar M, Chen Z, Towne S, Probst JC. 2013-. Rural border health chartbook. Columbia, SC: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, Varies.

Annotation: This document describes the health status of and health care use among people residing on the U.S. side of the entire U.S.-Mexico border. Topics include geographic and ethnic disparities among U.S. border residents and select indicators related to access to care, women's preventive services, oral health, infectious and communicable diseases, and mental health warranting programmatic and policy interventions. Contents include issues among residents in Arizona, California, New Mexico, and Texas, including comparison of indicators by ethnicity (Hispanic vs. non-Hispanic), rurality (rural vs. urban), and proximity to border (border vs. non-border).

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, California, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health disparities, Health status, New Mexico, Rural population, State surveys, Texas

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2013. Partnering to promote follow-up care for premature infants. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 6 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This document provides a series of case studies on state models to support neonatal intensive care unit follow-up programs. The document also includes national resources for state Title V programs as they continue to develop and support similar programs. Models from the following states are described: Arizona, California, Colorado, Iowa, For each model, an overview is provided, followed by a discussion of partners and funding and successes and contact information.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Arizona, California, Case studies, Colorado, Costs, Family support services, Financing, Health services, Infant health, Iowa, Premature infants, Programs, State initiatives

Pires SA, Stroul BA, and Hendricks T, ed. 2013. Making Medicaid work for children in child welfare: Examples from the field. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 63 pp.

Annotation: This document discusses Medicaid strategies that emerged from a project conducted by the Center for Health Care Strategies to explore strategies used in selected states to improve Medicaid for children in child welfare. The document also presents case studies highlighting the experiences of Arizona, Massachusetts, Michigan, and New Jersey and concludes with a discussion of cross-state observations and lessons learned.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Child health, Child welfare, High risk children, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, New Jersey, State programs

Courtot B, Coughlin TA, Lawton E. 2013. Medicaid and CHIP managed care payment methods and spending in 20 states: Final report to the Office of Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 51 pp.

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health. 2013. Arizona fluoride varnish program (rev.). Phoenix, AZ: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This letter to parents describes a free fluoride varnish program to prevent dental caries in infants and young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The letter describes the problem and how fluoride varnish works, why it is recommended, and how it is applied. Tips on how to keep children's teeth healthy are also included. The letter is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-1891 Fax: (602) 364-1494 Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/prevention/womens-childrens-health/oral-health/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Fluorides, Oral health, Preventive health services, Screening, Spanish language materials, State programs

Arizona American Indian Oral Health Initiative. 2012. Arizona American Indian oral health initiative: Status report on the formation of a statewide coalition. Phoenix, AZ: Arizona American Indian Oral Health Initiative, 19 pp.

Annotation: in process] This report describes the formation of a coalition to achieve the vision of optimal oral health for all American Indians in Arizona. Contents include information about the coalition's structure, governance, and functioning; funding and sustainability; measures of success; results; benefits; and next steps.

Contact: Arizona American Indian Oral Health Initiative, 1740 West Adams Street, Suite 409, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-5725 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaiohi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Arizona, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Financing, Health literacy, Oral health, Program development, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Statewide planning

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2011. School health programs: Improving the health of our nation's youth—At a glance. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 4 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This report emphasizes the important role schools play in promoting the health and safety of young people and helping them establish life-long healthy habits. It highlights research findings that demonstrate how effective school health programs can reduce risky behavior and improve learning and describes how the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) supports and advances coordinated school health programs based on partnerships between schools and community agencies and organizations. Examples of model coordinated school health programs in the states of Mississippi, New Mexico (Albuquerque), and Arizona are provided. A map of the United States shows which states received funding in 2010 for coordinated school health programs.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Community programs, Community role, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mississippi, New Mexico, Program coordination, Risk reduction, School health programs, Statistics