Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This video provides information about how successful consultation strategies can help child care health consultants address children’s oral health in Head Start and other early childhood education and care programs. The video discusses why good oral health in early childhood is important and includes a scenario in which a child care health consultant advises teachers in a Head Start program on how to determine whether a child with behavior issues may have an underlying health problem—specifically, an oral health problem—and how they can address it.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consultation, Head Start, Oral healthy, Preschool children, Preschool education, Teachers, Young children

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This handbook provides child care programs and schools with information on health, safety, and development issues. Topics include healthy living and health promotion including oral health promotion, policies and procedures, child development and guiding children's behavior, injury prevention and infection control, guidelines for childhood injuries, managing childhood illnesses and infestations, managing chronic medical conditions and special health care needs, and child abuse. Handouts, resources, and sample forms are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Child safety, Children, Consultation, Disease management, Health promotion, Infection control, Injuries, Injury prevention, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs

Annotation: This policy statement supports families, early childhood programs, and states by providing recommendations from the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services and Education for preventing and severely limiting expulsion and suspension practices in early childhood settings. Contents include an overview, recommendations for early childhood programs and state action. The appendices include information and resources to implement early childhood mental health consultation and positive behavior intervention and support. Resources for parents and families; programs, schools, and staff; and states are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral health, Consultation, Discipline, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Intervention, Mental health, Parent support services, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: This document provides standard-of-practice recommendations for perinatal health care professionals in Georgia. It is also intended to be a blueprint for the State Perinatal Health Care System, a system to improve the quality of reproductive health care for women and perinatal health care for pregnant women and infants. Topics include strategy for action, preconception and interconception health care, antepartum care, intrapartum care, postpartum care, and perinatal infection.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consultation, Georgia, Guidelines, Health care systems, Hospitals, Infant health, Infection control, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes findings on the potential of practice-management consulting to strengthen community oral health practices. The report is based on an evaluation of a project to ascertain the effectiveness of an intensive year-long engagement of individualized assistance aimed at improving the long-term sustainability of safety net dental clinics. Contents include information about the project’s participating clinics and providers, implementation, and results. The consulting model, considerations for future work, and recommendations are also presented. The appendices address clinic case studies, attributes and data, goals and outcomes, communities, and interview participants.

Contact: Harder+Company, 299 Kansas Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 522-5400 Fax: (415) 522-5445 Web Site: http://www.harderco.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Clinic administration, Consultation, Cost effectiveness, Evaluation, Families, Fiscal management, Models, Operations research, Oral health, children

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help mental health consultants work with early childhood programs to evaluate and implement the Teaching Pyramid Model. Contents include materials and strategies to help programs evaluate their progress towards implementing the model and learn more about how adult behavior and the design of the child care classroom environment support the social emotional development of infants and toddlers. The kit contains forms for monitoring the overall prevalence of challenging behavior in an early childhood classroom, collecting information on an individual child's behavior, monitoring the location of challenging behavior in an early childhood classroom, and identifying patterns in child engagement across activities. Reproducible forms, case examples, and sample completed forms are included.

Contact: Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecmhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Child mental health, Consultation, Early childhood education, Emotional development, Forms, Model programs, Social development, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: This directory for health professionals serving expectant and new mothers provides breastfeeding resources such as classes, books, videos, state laws, professional services, insurance information, and websites. The directory also provides tools and guidelines that health professionals can turn to for easy access to information on managing common breastfeeding problems. It includes the Rhode Island Breastfeeding Coalition's position paper on breastfeeding, information on the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative sponsored by the World Health Organization (WHO), and the United Nation''s Children's Fund (UNICEF), and statistics on breastfeeding in Rhode Island from the 2010 CDC Breastfeeding Report Card. Individual sections cover prenatal and postnatal support, local and national resources, clinical information and resources, and breastfeeding tools and guidelines.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Nutrition services, Resource materials, Rhode Island, State programs, WIC Program

Annotation: This online tutorial is designed to to help early childhood mental health consultants as well as Head Start and Early Head Start staff understand what is meant by trauma, recognize the developmental context of trauma in early childhood, and extend their own knowledge for intervention through consultation. The tutorial includes a pretest and five modules: (1) trauma and types of trauma; (2) the impact of trauma on infants, toddlers, and young children; (3) trauma signs and symptoms in infants, toddlers, and young children; (4) the role of the consultant and consultation; and (5) further learning and exploration (a resource compendium). It also includes a list of take home messages, a post test, and links to additional information sources.

Contact: Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecmhc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child mental health, Consultants, Consultation, Early Head Start, Early intervention, Head Start, Injury prevention, Prevention programs, Professional education, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes the findings from a study of six early childhood mental health consultation (ECMHC) programs that have demonstrated positive child, family, staff, and/ or program outcomes. The study is based on data gathered during two-day site visits and focuses on the following key questions: 1) What are the essential components of effective mental health consultation programs? 2) What are the skills, competencies, and credentials of effective consultants? 3) What are the training, supervision and support needs of consultants? 4) What level of intervention intensity (i.e., frequency and duration) is needed to produce good outcomes? 5) Which outcomes should be targeted and how should they be measured? The study also reports on the extent to which consultation efforts are occurring nationally and provides a series of recommendations from experts in the field to guide policy makers, funders, researchers, evaluators, early childhood mental health consultation providers, and early care and education programs administrators.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Child health, Consultation, Data collection, Field studies , Measures, Mental health, Model programs, Program evaluation

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of early childhood mental health consultation (ECMHC) and how it can support the implementation of the Pyramid Model for promoting the social emotional competence of infants and young children. The brief delineates between ECMHC and the Pyramid Model, describing how mental health consultation uses a systematic approach to build the capacity of the early childhood professional while the Pyramid Model provides a tiered framework of promotion, prevention, and intervention practices for organizing and delivering research-based strategies to improve social-emotional development in young children. The brief discusses the policy issues that arise when administrators seek to integrate ECMHC programs with the Pyramid Model and explains how better integration of these programs can benefit children served by the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA).

Contact: Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 North Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC2-1134, Tampa, FL 33612-3807, Telephone: (813) 974-9803 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.challengingbehavior.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health programs, Child mental health, Consultation, Infants, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This document describes state models for addressing each of four components that contribute to an effective early childhood mental health service system: (1) consultation, (2) work force preparation and professional development, (3) partnership, and (4) financing. The document provides background, discusses methodology, and provides findings for the four state models: Connecticut (consulation), Michigan (preparation/professional development), Ohio (partnerships), and Illinois (financing).

Contact: National Association of State Directors of Special Education, , 225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 420, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 519-3800 Fax: (703) 519-3808 Web Site: http://www.nasdse.org Available from the website after registration.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Connecticut, Consultation, Financing, Illinois, Mental health services, Michigan, Ohio, Professional education, Service delivery systems, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides resources to assist those who are working with pregnant and postpartum women who need assistance in making informed infant feeding choices and who can benefit from breastfeeding services and support. The guide includes statements on the benefits of breastfeeding; examples of breastfeeding initiatives; and contact information for La Leche League leaders, lactation consultants, and Massachusetts WIC program breastfeeding coordinators. It also lists organizations that supply educational materials for parents, childcare providers; sources for breastfeeding promotion materials; and suppliers of breast pumps and breastfeeding equipment. Other resources include guidelines on pumping and storing milk; information on medications and breastfeeding; lists of state and local breastfeeding support organizations, sources of breastfeeding literature; and courses, training, and continuing education opportunities. Patient rights under the Family and Medical Leave Act and the breastfeeding sections of the Massachusetts Hospital Licensure Regulations are included in the appendices. i

Contact: Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition, 254 Conant Road , Weston, MA 02493, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.massbfc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Massachusetts, Nutrition services, Resource materials, State programs, WIC Program

Annotation: This book for mental health professionals, early childhood educators and trainers, and policymakers reviews current theory and offers practical suggestions for improving relationships to help identify and remove obstacles to quality child mental health care and to make positive changes in the child care environment. The first chapter describes how the relationship between the mental health care provider and child care provider is established and how the range of activities are part of mental health consultation in child care. Part one describes several relationships that characterize program consultation: the consultant's relationships with the child care program's director and staff, the relationships among staff members, and the staff's relationship with parents. Part two examines case consultation, exploring the integration of information from observation and from the adults in the child's life as a way to understand the meaning of a child's behavior. It also examines the process of translating this understanding into responsive action, reducing the child's distress.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Case studies, Child behavior, Child care, Child care services, Child care workers, Child mental health, Consultation, Parent child relations, Parent professional relations, Relationships

Annotation: This document provides a synthesis of 79 published and unpublished resource documents -- evaluations, presentations, monographs, etc. -- related to health consultation to early care and education (ECE) programs, with the aim of mapping the current landscape of child care health consultant (CCHC) services and identifying CCHCs’ impact on ECE programs’ health and safety practices and child health outcomes. It includes the knowledge base needed by consultants, a model of how health consultation works, and best practices and lessons learned. A list of the documents is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care services, Consultation, Early childhood education, Literature reviews, Program evaluation

Annotation: This monograph summarizes the presentations, discussions, and background materials from the Roundtable on Mental Health Consultation Approaches for Programs/Systems Working with Infants, Toddlers, Preschoolers and Their Families convened in May 1998 by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's Center for Mental Health Services. Its dual purpose is to broaden the discussion on mental health consultation and to facilitate the integration of mental health consultation into Early Head Start and Head Start programs; center-based child care and family child care home, early intervention, child welfare, family support, and other programs; and other systems of care that serve young children and their families, with the aim of promoting healthy development among young children. An appendix gives descriptions of several models of early childhood mental consultation with contact information for each program.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Community programs, Consultation, Mental health, Young children

Annotation: This report outlines states' requests to Health Systems Research and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) for technical assistance in developing comprehensive systems of care for children and their families as part of their State Systems Development Initiative (SSDI). For each state, a brief discussion of the problems being experienced regarding systems development is provided as is summarization of the specific type of assistance being requested. The report also provides a set of two tables summarizing various aspects of the requests. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Contact Phone: (202) 828-5199 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

Keywords: Consultation, State MCH programs, State grants, Systems development, Technical assistance

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Consultation, Program evaluation, Youth development

Annotation: This comprehensive manual is a practical reference designed to enhance nutrition services in migrant health centers. The manual has specific sections for physicians, physician assistants, nurses, nutritionists, and paraprofessionals such as outreach workers and health aides. The major topics are: evaluating nutrition status; eating for health; addressing special concerns; and maximizing food resources. Special focus topics are food and drug interactions, developmental disabilities, and nutrition folk medicine. The appendices include growth charts, nutrition screening forms, and case studies. A packet of handout material in both English and Spanish is included for easy reproduction. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Community health services, Developmental disabilities, Educational materials, Low literacy materials, Migrants, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition consultation, SPRANS, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs