Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: Data taken from the 2015, 2017 and 2019 YRBS (Youth Risk Behavior Survey) data cycles were used to analyze the risks of violence and suicide for youth self-identifying as LGB (Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual). Because the surveys find that these youth have a greater risk for both violence and suicide, it supplies information on how schools can provide safer environments for these students by reducing victimization and and bolstering their mental health. Charts, tables, and a link to the survey data are provided.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, LGBTQ, Sexual identity, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This report summarizes results for 118 health-related behaviors plus obesity, overweight, and asthma by sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts from the 2015 national Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 25 state surveys, and 19 large urban school district surveys conducted among students in grades 9–12. Contents include a description of the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, survey methodology, and survey results for the prevalence of health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students compared with nonsexual minority students. Recommendations for reducing disparities in health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students are also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Comparative analysis, Health behavior, Health surveys, Individual characteristics, Minority groups, National surveys, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Risk factors, Risk taking, School districts, School surveys, Sex factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexual partners, State surveys, Statistical data, Urban population

Annotation: This resource lists training curricula for behavioral health and primary care practitioners to help them assess, treat, and refer lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) clients in a culturally sensitive manner. Topics include effective communication tools for health professionals, HIV/AIDS and substance use disorders in ethnic minority men who have sex with men, nurses health education about LGBT (HEAL) elders, substance abuse treatment for LGBT individuals, and access to care and other health issues specific to women-who-partner-with-women. Continuing education credits are available.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Cultural competence, Curricula, Mental health, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: This report, which provides information from a survey that measured key factors impacting the daily lives of over 10,000 lesbian, gay, bixexual, or transgender adolescents (ages 13-17) from every region of the United States, presents a picture of the difficulties that this population faces. The report includes a summary of the findings and presents information in the following categories: personal well-being, community, home and family, school and peers, and culture.

Contact: Human Rights Campaign, 1640 Rhode Island Avenue, N.W, Washington, DC 20036-4160, Telephone: (800) 777-4723 Secondary Telephone: (202) 216-1572 Fax: (202) 347-5323 Web Site: http://www.hrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Communities, Discrimination, Families, Homosexuality, Schools, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This literature review (from 1983-2011) evaluates the effectiveness of quality improvement (QI) strategies in reducing disparities in health and health care. The review focused on 12 clinical conditions and assessed health disparities associated with race or ethnicity, socioeconomic status, insurance status, sexual orientation, health literacy/numeracy, and language barrier. Contents are divided into the following sections: background on QI and health disparities approaches, scope and key questions of focus for the review, methods used, a results overview, and discussion of main findings. References, tables, and appendices are also inlcuded.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pu.b No. 12-E009-EF.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care disparities, Health insurance, Health literacy, Health status disparities, Language barriers, Literature reviews, Minority health, Racial factors, Sexual identity, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the new objective in Healthy People 2020's lesbian, gay, bisexual,and transgender topic area; transgender health; the development of gender identify; and health issues specific to transgender individuals. The webinar also discusses how the Affordable Care Act of 2010 affects individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) and how the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is working to including LGBT issues in its health research. Efforts to increase access to care and improve the health of individuals with HIV/AIDS are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Archive Site With Materials

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Discrimination, Gender discrimination, HIV infected patients, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Legislation, Prevention, Research, Sexual identity

Annotation: This field guide is intended to help hospitals and health care organizations improve quality of care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) patients and their families by enhancing efforts to provide care that is more welcoming, safe, and inclusive. The guide presents strategies for creating processes, policies, and programs that are sensitive to and inclusive of LGBT individuals and their families. Topics include leadership; provision of care, treatment, and services; work force; data collection and use; and patient, family, and community engagement. Each chapter contains recommended issues to address and practice examples.

Contact: Joint Commission, One Renaissance Boulevard, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181, Telephone: (630) 792-5800 Fax: (630) 792-5005 Web Site: http://www.jointcommission.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Families, Health care delivery, Homosexuality, Hospitals, Inclusion, Leadership, Policies, Programs, Sexual identity, Statistical data, Treatment

Annotation: This report examines and summarizes psychological theory, research, and clinical experience addressing the sexualization of girls. The report defines sexualization and addresses how the prevalence and effects of sexualization may vary among girls from different ethnic, socioeconomic, religious, and family backgrounds, as well as among girls of different sexual orientations. The authors discuss (1) examples of sexualization in society and in cultural institutions, as well as interpersonally and intrapsychically; (2) evidence suggesting that sexualization has negative consequences for girls and for the rest of society; and (3) positive alternatives that may help counteract the influence of sexualization. Recommendations for research, practice, education, training, policy, and public awareness are presented. The report concludes with a list of references and media-literacy resources.

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: mis@apa.org Web Site: http://www.apa.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Female children, Income factors, Mass media, Sexual identity, Sexuality

Annotation: This interim report focuses on the National Consensus Process (NCP) on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior, a process on sexual health in which leaders of major constituency organizations with interest in sexual health participated. The goal of the NCP is to improve sexual health and responsible sexual behaviors in America. The report includes a letter from the former U.S. Surgeon General; an executive summary; a call to action; background; and a statement of agreement covering the following topics: vision, goal, sexuality, sexual health, individual responsibility, community responsibility, outcomes, and normative differences. Also included is a discussion of NCP areas of agreement and non-agreement and supporting documents; areas for further discussion; participant observations; commentary; and NCP's future. The report includes eight appendices: (1) best practices; (2) research recommendations; (3) HIV, AIDS, STDs, and STIs; (4) education and discussion of sexual health and responsible sexual behavior for youth by parents or caregivers; (5) sexual abstinence; (6) responsible and irresponsible social behavior; (7) sexual orientation; (8) NCP ground rules and meeting dates and locations.

Contact: Morehouse School of Medicine, Center of Excellence for Sexual Health, National Center for Primary Care , 720 Westview Drive, S.W., Suite 233, Atlanta, GA 30310, Telephone: (404) 756-5044 Secondary Telephone: (404) 756-8800 Fax: (404) 756-5709 E-mail: srachel@msm.edu Web Site: http://www.msm.edu/x769.xml Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Caregivers, HIV, Individual responsibility, Parents, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexuality, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social responsibility

Annotation: This report is based on a review conducted by the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States of nine of the most widely available abstinence-only-until-marriage curricula designed for junior and senior high school students that emphasize the negative consequences of premarital sexual activity, portray sexual behavior as universally dangerous, and deny young people information about pregnancy and disease prevention. The report discusses the educational philosophy of these curricula and their scope and context. Topics covered include sexuality and abstinence, religion and morality, fear and shame, sexual pressure, sexual arousal, sexually transmitted diseases, HIV and AIDS, condoms and contraception, marriage and family structure, gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy options and abortion, teaching methods, curricula strong point, and the future of sexuality education. Brief reviews of the curricula are provided. A list of abstinence-education curricula that do not include messages of fear or shame is included. The report includes references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: siecus@siecus.org Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraception, Curricula, Families, HIV, Marriage, Moral values, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Sexual identity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This teaching guide provides a national framework for comprehensive kindergarten-12th grade sexuality education. Guideline contents include six key concepts recommended by the National Guidelines Task Force for inclusion in education programs—human development, relationships, personal skills, sexual behavior, sexual health, and society and culture. Each key concept is further divided into components and accompanied by developmentally appropriate information. Addition contents include the history and structure of the guidelines; goals, values, and fundamental principles; advice on using the guidelines, prioritizing topics, filling the gaps, evaluating and and existing curricula and lessons, and creating new ones. A section of additional resources includes relevant organizations and references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: siecus@siecus.org Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child development, Child health, Developmental stages, Educational programs, HIV, Health education, School age children, Sexual development, Sexual identity, Sexuality, Sexuality education

Annotation: This paper discusses harassment and bullying based on sexual orientation in California schools and documents that schools can take concrete steps to reduce harassment and improve student health and safety. The paper analyzes data from the California Healthy Kids Survey (a broad-based state survey) and an independent companion survey conducted by the California Safe Schools Coalition measuring the effectiveness of school anti-harassment practices. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses the major findings from the surveys and offers conclusions and recommendations. Four appendices include the methodology and questions for future research, information about related research, text of the 2003 Preventing School Harassment Survey with frequencies, and text of the question on bias-related harassment from the 2001-2002 California Healthy Kids Survey. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the paper. The paper also includes a copy of the Safe Place to Learn fact sheet.

Contact: California Safe Schools Coalition, Hamm's Building, 1550 Bryant Street, Suite 800, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 626-1680 Fax: (415) 626-1683 E-mail: info@casafeschools.org Web Site: http://www.casafeschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, California, Child health, Children, Data, Safety, Schools, Sexual harassment, Sexual identity, Students, Surveys

Annotation: This book provides guidance to help parents' navigate their child's or adolescent's sexual development. The book presents an overview of the natural history of sexual development; tracks development from early childhood through high school, including child sexual behavior, sexual orientation, puberty, dating, abstinence, safer sex, and sexually active adolescents; and addresses two major risks of engaging in sexual intercourse during adolescence: sexually transmitted disease and unintended pregnancy.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Children, Communication, Contraception, Infants, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Prevention, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexual identity, Sexual intercourse, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Unwanted pregnancy