Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Project Model Health (PMH) was an innovative adolescent health promotion project targeting students in grades 7-9. PMH had behavioral objectives in the areas of nutrition, marijuana use, drinking and driving, tobacco use, and sexuality. The strategies used during 32-37 hours of classroom instruction were taken from recent research on effective adolescent health promotion and substance abuse prevention programming. The strategies included: use of college-age role models as instructors; focus on analyzing media messages; practice of peer refusal skills; feedback of peer norm information; emphasis on short-term effects of behavior; use of public commitments; and health advocacy behavior. The evaluation of PMH included extensive, qualitative process evaluation examining the actual implementation of the program as well as a quasi-experimental outcome evaluation. Assuming future follow-up fails to show significant outcome differences between instructor-led and teacher-led PMH, it was recommended to use carefully selected teachers rather than college-age instructors. Based on these promising results, further implementation and evaluation of the PMH approach and curriculum was recommended. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103316.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Health promotion, Impaired driving, Marijuana, Nutrition, Sexuality, Tobacco use

Annotation: This fact sheet gives recommendations for supporting children and families about sexuality, discusses sexual abuse and assault and reproductive health, and gives resources in the District of Columbia.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Sexuality education

Annotation: This fact sheet lists resources on sexuality education, education curricula, health conditions and disabilities, online learning, educators and counselors, and national resources related to sexuality and children and adults with disabilities. Resources also cover parenting with a disability, reproductive health, sexual violence, and screening for abuse or violence.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Sexuality education

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on barriers that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, intersex, asexual, and more (LGBTQ+) people face in accessing oral health care. Topics include discrimination and mistreatment, prevalence of this population who have chronic health conditions and other risk factors, and lack of coverage of LGBTQ+-specific topics in oral health professional training programs. The fact sheet also discusses what oral health advocates can do to improve access to oral health care for the population and lists talking points and sample tweets.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Discrimination, Homosexuality, Oral health, Sexuality

Annotation: This report provides a foundational understanding of the relationship between trauma and gender -- with a focus on system-involved girls -- and provides an analysis of somatic interventions. In particular, the report maps the ways in which trauma-informed, gender-responsive, and culturally competent yoga and mindfulness programs can address the short- and long-term impact of trauma on girls in the juvenile justice system. Topics include the core components of somatic interventions for traumatized girls, data documenting positive effects, and specific policy and practice recommendations to increase access for system-involved girls.

Contact: Georgetown Law, Center on Poverty and Inequality, 600 New Jersey Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 661-6692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.law.georgetown.edu/academics/centers-institutes/poverty-inequality/index.cfm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent females, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Intervention, Juvenile justice, Policy development, Sexuality, Therapeutics, Trauma care

Annotation: This report summarizes results for 118 health-related behaviors plus obesity, overweight, and asthma by sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts from the 2015 national Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 25 state surveys, and 19 large urban school district surveys conducted among students in grades 9–12. Contents include a description of the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, survey methodology, and survey results for the prevalence of health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students compared with nonsexual minority students. Recommendations for reducing disparities in health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students are also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Comparative analysis, Health behavior, Health surveys, Individual characteristics, Minority groups, National surveys, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Risk factors, Risk taking, School districts, School surveys, Sex factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexual partners, State surveys, Statistical data, Urban population

Annotation: This kit of 10 manuals provides lesson plans on sexuality topics for students in grades 3–12. Contents include the following titles: Changes, Changes, Changes: Great Methods for Puberty Education; Game On! The Ultimate Sexuality Education Gaming Guide; Great Mentoring: Positive Conversations with Young People about Sexual Decisions; Let's Erase Bullying; Making Sense of Abstinence; Positive Images: Teaching About Contraception and Sexual Health; Sex Ed 101; Sex Ed in the Digital Age; Teaching Safer Sex; and Unequal Partners: Teaching about Power, Consent, and Healthy Relationships.

Contact: Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education, 196 Speedwell Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960, Telephone: (973) 387-5161 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sexedcenter.org $499 (full set); manuals also available individually.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Curricula, Elementary education, Elementary schools, High schools, Middle schools, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Teaching

Annotation: This brief presents resources about health care for teens and websites for parents, caregivers, and teens about teen pregnancy prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Bibliographies, Contraception, Electronic publications, Families, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS Pub. no. PEP14-LGBTKIDS .

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Child health, Family support services, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Training materials, Youth

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Birth rates, Curricula, Mississippi, Sexuality education, State initiatives, Statistics

Annotation: This resource provides general information for service providers, educators, allies, and community members who seek to support the health and well-being of children and youth who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex, and/or two-spirit (LGBTQI2-S) and their families.

Contact: Technical Assistance Partnership for Child and Family Mental Health, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-6827 Fax: (202) 403-5007 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tapartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Children, Cultural competence, Educational materials, Families, Homosexuality, Sexuality, Social support, Systems of care, Youth

Annotation: These standards provide guidance to programs within institutions of higher education in order to better prepare undergraduate pre-service students to deliver sexuality education to children and adolescents in middle and high schools, focusing on programs that train health and physical education teachers. Contents include seven standards, along with a rationale, set of indicators, and examples. Topics include professional disposition, diversity and equity, content knowledge, legal and professional ethics, planning, implementation, and assessment.

Contact: Future of Sex Education, Web Site: http://www.futureofsexed.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Preservice training, Professional education, Sexuality education, Standards, Teachers

Annotation: This brief describes websites about sexuality education for health professionals and families. The brief also provides links to bibliographies, knowledge paths, organizations lists, and other resource briefs on topics such as abstinence education; adolescent pregnancy and parents; adolescent pregnant prevention; adolescent prenatal care; and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Resources for professionals, Sexuality education

Contact: National Child Traumatic Stress Network, National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress, , 905 West Main Street, Suite 25B , Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 682-1552 Secondary Telephone: (310) 235-2633 Fax: (919) 667-9578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nctsnet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Counseling, Homosexuality, Sexual abuse, Youth development

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research on effective sex education, laws and policies that shape it, and how it can impact young people's lives.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Community participation, Health promotion, Research, School age children, School health education, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Youth

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on opportunities for children and adolescents enrolled in Medicaid and some Children's Health Insurance Programs to receive periodic comprehensive screenings that include sexual health education. Contents include information about the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit for individuals under age 21, key components of the required medical screen including health education and anticipatory guidance, the need for sexual health education, and the challenges to ensuring its provision. Descriptions of key resources are included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Children, Children', EPSDT, Federal programs, Health education, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Prevention services, Screening, Sexual health, Sexuality education, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief summarizes state-level sex and HIV education policies, as well as specific content requirements, based on a review of state laws, regulations, and other legally binding policies. Topics include whether such education is mandated, parental involvement, contraception, marriage, negative outcomes, skills for healthy sexuality, and abstinence. Charts list requirements in each state.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence education, Contraception, Schools, Sexuality education, State legislation

Annotation: This paper addresses the question of whether laws requiring that physicians notify or obtain consent from a parent of a minor seeking an abortion before performing the procedure deter risky adolescent sexual behavior. Drawing on multiple data sources, the paper seeks to reconcile the disparate findings in the existing literature and to provide new and comprehensive evidence on the association between parental involvement (PI) laws and rates of sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in adolescents. Topics include abortion access and risky sexual activity among adolescents, data and samples, methods, and estimated impacts of PI laws on STIs.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Consent, Health services, Parents, Legislation, Prevention, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data

Annotation: This guide aims to help health professionals, advocates, and educators in the field of sexual and reproductive health and rights better understand and use evidence on adolescents' knowledge and behaviors. The guide provides demographic and socioeconomic information about adolescents as well as measures of their access to, need for, and use of sexual and reproductive health information and services. Presenting data for 30 countries, the guide explains the meaning of the data and how to use it to help those working with young people bring about change. The guide is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Health services, International health, Non English language materials, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Statistical data