Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This family planning guide for new mothers describes and illustrates the various forms of contraception available after giving birth, including IUDs (intrauterine devices), hormonal implants, hormonal injections, hormonal patches, the ring, the pill, condoms, tubal ligation, and vasectomy. It compares the various options according to their effectiveness, protection against STD's, discreteness, and cost. It also addresses the importance of timing, birth spacing, breastfeeding as birth control, and resuming sexual relations after birth.

Contact: UNC Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health, , UNC School of Medicine , Room 216 MacNider , Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Condoms, Contraception, Contraceptive agents, Contraceptive devices, Family planning, Intrauterine devices, Oral contraceptives, Postpartum care

Annotation: This consumer brochure for consumers provides information about choosing an appropriate birth control method. It describes various methods and tells how each method works, where to find it, when to use it, and its advantages and disadvantages. Information on taking charge of one's health in general is also included. It is also available in Spanish.

Contact: Health Education Resource Exchange, Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47833, Olympia, WA 98504-7833, Telephone: (360) 236-3736 Fax: (360) 664-4500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://doh.wa.gov/about-us/topics-a-z/Health%20Education%20Resource%20Exchange Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Abstinence, Condoms, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Contraceptive implants, Emergency contraception, Fertility, Intrauterine devices, Spanish language materials, Sterilization

Annotation: This reference guide provides information about all the contraceptive methods available in the United States. The guide is intended to help health professionals quickly counsel women about choosing the most appropriate and effective contraception for them. The guide discusses combined hormonal contraception, progestin-only contraception, intrauterine contraception, barrier methods, spermicides, coitus interruptus, fertility awareness, male sterilization, female sterilzation, and emergency contraception,

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Condoms, Contraception, Counseling, Emergency contraception, Prevention, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy

Annotation: This report on the oversight of federally funded abstinence-until-marriage education programs discusses efforts by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), states, and researchers (1) to assess the scientific accuracy of materials used in abstinence-until marriage education programs and (2) to assess the effectiveness of abstinence-until-marriage education programs. The report also provides background and discusses factors limiting the conclusions that can be drawn about the effectiveness of matierals, as well as the applicability to abstinence-until-marriage education programs of a federal statutory provision requiring that educational materials prepared by DHHS's grantees, among others, that are specifically designed to address sexually transmitted diseases, contain medically accurate information on the effectiveness or lack of effectiveness of condoms in preventing the diseases the materials are designed to address.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-08-664T.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Condoms, Contraception, Educational materials, Federal programs, Legislation, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report is based on a review conducted by the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States of nine of the most widely available abstinence-only-until-marriage curricula designed for junior and senior high school students that emphasize the negative consequences of premarital sexual activity, portray sexual behavior as universally dangerous, and deny young people information about pregnancy and disease prevention. The report discusses the educational philosophy of these curricula and their scope and context. Topics covered include sexuality and abstinence, religion and morality, fear and shame, sexual pressure, sexual arousal, sexually transmitted diseases, HIV and AIDS, condoms and contraception, marriage and family structure, gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy options and abortion, teaching methods, curricula strong point, and the future of sexuality education. Brief reviews of the curricula are provided. A list of abstinence-education curricula that do not include messages of fear or shame is included. The report includes references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraception, Curricula, Families, HIV, Marriage, Moral values, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Sexual identity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet contains information about adolescent abstinence and contraceptive use. The fact sheet includes information in four categories: abstinence rates in 2003 vs. in 1991, typical age of sexual initiation in the United States and elsewhere, adolescent use of condoms, and adolescents' use of other contraceptive methods.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraceptive use

Annotation: This report presents the results of an independent analysis of trends in four adolescent sexual behaviors measured by the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System: (1) ever had sexual intercourse, (2) had four or more sexual partners during lifetime, (3) currently sexually active, and (4) condom use during last sexual intercourse. The results are presented in tabular forms, with brief textual summaries. A conclusion and references are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Sexual intercourse, Sexual partners, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This brief provide information on adolescent boys' sexual activity and contraceptive use, their attitudes toward both, and advice for parents and program leaders. Topics include sexual experience, frequency of sexual activity, number of partners, attitudes toward abstinence and sexual activity, condom use, contraception, pregnancy, and fatherhood. Implications for parents and professionals are also covered. Statistics are presented in figures throughout the brief. Endnotes are provided.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent fatherhood, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Condoms, Contraception, Males, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides an overview of some fundamental patterns in men's sexual and reproductive lives, from ages 15 to 49, and their implications for policy and programs. It is divided into topics by age groups, 15-19, 20-29, 30-49, and includes topics likely to be associated with these age groups such as initiating sexual relationships, settling down, and forming families. Additional chapter topics include sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and condom use; sexual reproductive health information and services for men; and a summary chapter. Statistics are provided in each chapter through the use of charts, tables, and graphs. The report includes extensive references and notes; an appendix listing socioeconomic and demographic characteristics of U.S. men and rates of STDs by various years and by state; and additional tables of statistics.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-939253-57-7.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age groups, Condoms, Family characteristics, Males, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This book is a collection of papers delivered at a forum sponsored by the Kaiser Family Foundation on condom distribution in the schools. Chapters focus on a Harris survey of school-based distribution programs, and on reports of National School Boards Association focus groups on condom availability. Discussions on program funding, policy decisions, program assessment and legal issues are included along with such appendices as a list of school-based condom distribution programs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Contact Phone: (415) 854-9400 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available at no charge.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Condoms, Financing, Focus groups, Legal issues, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, School based programs, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This document provides a brief overview of recent literature on adolescents and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Material includes information on the prevalence and nature of sexual activity among adolescents; risk factors associated with STDs, including race, gender, age, psychological and cognitive factors, and socioeconomic level; prevalence, diagnosis, and treatment of six sexually transmitted diseases and/or syndromes; and various approaches to their prevention.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF026.

• Link

Keywords: Adnexitis, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Chlamydia infections, Condoms, Costs, Gonorrhea, Herpes simplex, High risk populations, Prevention programs, Racial factors, School based clinics, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Syphilis