Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: The goal of the project was to improve the functioning of special needs children and their families by providing locally based clinic and care coordination services in a rural area in Utah. The program objectives were to: (1) Involve parents of special needs children in developing a service plan for their child, (2) improve the implementation of service plans for rural special needs children, (3) improve coordination of services to rural special needs children, and (4) improve adequacy of services to these children. While maintaining current multidisciplinary clinic services, Children's Special Health Services worked through the local health department to place a nurse coordinator, secretary, social worker, and trained parent advocates in the local community. This team built upon existing local systems to improve the functional outcomes of the children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121834.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Advocacy, Children with Special Health care Needs, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Community Based Health Services, Parents, Rural Population, Service Coordination

Annotation: This report provides information on White House conferences on children and youth, beginning in 1909 and extending through 1970. A description of each conference is included.The report is primarily composed of multiple appendices that include supplementary documents pertaining to the conferences.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child advocacy, Children, Conferences, Federal initiatives, Government, History, Youth

Annotation: This document provides tips on ways to include fitness breaks in school and resources available to help schools get started. Contents include ideas for classroom activity breaks, using music, suggestions for middle and high school students, tips on involving physical education teachers, and asking students to share their physical activity break ideas.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: info@actionforhealthykids.org Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This resource for professionals provides actionable guidance that encourages collaboration across diverse sectors to address and improve inequities and maternal health outcomes. It provides examples of partnerships that leverage new ideas and resources, including innovative approaches to gathering and using data; highlights policies and practices that are improving the health and well-being of birthing people and children across the United States; and includes stories from birthing people and women about their pregnancy and childbirth experiences. Graphics and sample text for social media posts are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Prenatal care, Advocacy, Childbirth, Colllaboration, Community action, Data, Health equity, Maternal health, Models, Policy, Pregnancy, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources to help advocates to improve the quality of school meals. It discusses the history of school meals; school meals today; the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010, and lawsuits over a 2018 U.S. Department of Agriculture rule that weakened sodium, whole grain, and flavored milk standards for school meals. Also discussed are the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on the importance of school meals, the Center for Science in the Public Interest's vision for school meals, and what advocates can do to help realize this vision. Fact sheets on key priorities are included, along with information on state and local model legislation and policy, messaging guidance, and sample communication materials.

Contact: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 E-mail: cspi@cspinet.org Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Legislation, Nutrition, Public policy, School age children, School health

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to improve the capacity of health care, public health, and social services professionals to address maternal and child health in emergency preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities. The toolkit outlines basic planning steps, highlights key resources and promising practices, and explains critical data and information to be integrated into emergency planning for maternal and child health populations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Federal agencies, Infants, Women

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information and tips on providing and advocating for recess to improve learning and school health. Topics include advocating for more, better, and active recess; recess before lunch; making recess inclusive; playground design; and recess for secondary students. Resources are included.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: info@actionforhealthykids.org Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Equal opportunities, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This document provides tips on helping children get 60 minutes of moderate-to-vigorous physical activity every day by engaging them in before- and after-school activities. Contents include information and resources on out-of-school time programs and walk and bike to school initiatives, tips on starting a walking or running club, and encouraging student involvement in intramural programs.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: info@actionforhealthykids.org Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, After school programs, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This report is intended to help advocates capitalize on information presented in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report discusses why the bulletin is important and presents opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children', State agencies, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This toolkit is a resource for advocates who are concerned about the health and well-being of black women and girls. It takes a human rights based approach to maternal health, identifying the rights of pregnant and birthing parents and the corresponding role of government to ensure safe and respectful maternal health care for all.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: info@reprorights.org Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org

Keywords: Advocacy , Blacks, Female children, Human rights, Maternal health, Racial factors, Reproductive rights, Women

Annotation: This brief defines toxic stress from a community perspective and presents a framework for a community approach to addressing toxic stress, nested within the broader context of working toward healthy development and well-being. The brief also provides examples of how communities are taking action and recommendations for next steps to promote and further develop comprehensive approaches to toxic stress in communities across the country. Strategies for parents and caregivers; service providers; and multisystem, community partners and policymakers are included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: info@cssp.org Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Communication, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Community role, Coordination, Early childhood, Families, Health education, Leadership, Models, Organizational change, Parents, Policy development, Protective factors, Social change, Stress, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help pediatricians and their practice teams screen for food insecurity, connect families with food and nutrition resources in the community, and support national and local policies that increase access to adequate healthy food for all children and their families. Contents include an infographic, information on food insecurity and federal nutrition programs, tips on preparing for and using the Hunger Vital Sign (a validated screening tool), interventions to address food insecurity, and resources to support advocacy and educational efforts.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This report presents results of a survey of parents with children and adolescents ages 2 to 17 to measure parents' attitudes about food marketing and other influences on children's eating habits and their support for policies to promote healthy eating for their children. Topics include parents' opinions about food industry self-regulation, including the ages of children who should be protected from unhealthy food marketing and whether they believe that individual food companies have delivered on their pledges to limit food advertising to children. The report also examines parents' willingness to participate in a variety of actions to encourage companies to reduce unhealthy food marketing to their children. A series of infographics is also available.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: rudd.center@uconn.edu Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Infographics

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Beliefs, Children, Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Food consumption, Marketing, Nutrition, Parent participation, Parenting attitudes, Policy development

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This document provides talking points on ways to eliminate dental caries in children. Topics include the consequences of poor oral health on children and their families; costs for families and states; the role of primary care health professionals and other health professionals in providing oral health care; and the need for affordable, comprehensive dental coverage.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Oral health

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for policymakers and advocates describes how to use state plumbing codes to modernize school drinking water infrastructure and improve overall child health. Topics include moving beyond the traditional drinking fountain, drinking water infrastructure policies, water fountain requirements, bottle fillers and bottle-filler policies including special considerations for elementary schools, using facilities data to drive policy change, and water filtration considerations. Survey questions that school facilities can use to collect drinking water infrastructure information and sample policy language are provided.

Contact: ChangeLab Solutions, 2201 Broadway, Suite 502, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 302-3380 Web Site: http://changelabsolutions.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Data collection, Facilities, Models, Plumbing codes, Policy development, School districts, Schools, Standards, Water

Annotation: These resources for the public and policymakers provide evidence-based information and tools to promote and protect access to community water fluoridation and other preventive strategies. Contents include a primer on the fluoride debate, answers to fluoridation questions, tools for sustaining or initiating fluoridation in a community, materials to give decision-makers, public education materials, and presentations. Topics include children's oral health and fluoride, communities supporting fluoride, facts about fluoride, fluoride and public health, fluoride in the news, fluoride and access to care, partners, and what the experts say about fluoride. Infographics, posters, and videos are included. Many resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: fluoride@aap.org Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Community health services, Fluorides, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public awareness campaign materials, Public health infrastructure, Spanish language materials, Water