Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This brief outlines approaches for Medicaid policymakers to implement or evolve nutrition benefit strategies for Medicaid members. It focuses on three key approaches: refining CMS-defined interventions to better meet member needs, ensuring interventions are culturally appropriate and member-centered, and defining standardized eligibility criteria to maximize impact and decrease administrative burden. The document provides examples from various states' Medicaid programs, including approved and proposed 1115 waivers and In Lieu of Services (ILOS) policies. It highlights the importance of addressing the full range of food needs, from food security to instrumental food, and discusses strategies for ensuring food quality, choice, and cultural appropriateness. The brief also includes a table comparing eligibility criteria across different states and population groups.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• PDF

Keywords: Medicaid, Nutrition and food, Policy development

Annotation: This 4-part resource provides background information and definitions of rapidly-changing food and nutrition security terms, offering insights into the origins of terms and underscoring the power and importance of terminology. Included is a table with terms and definitions used by national food, nutrition, and health programs and organizations.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Language, Nonprejudicial language, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

Annotation: This website provides an overview of food security issues and resources related to maternal and child health (MCH) programs. It defines food security and highlights racial disparities in food access, noting that Black children are almost three times more likely to live in food-insecure households compared to white children. The site emphasizes the role of Title V MCH programs in addressing social determinants of health and creating partnerships to improve food access. It includes sections on the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's (AMCHP) projects and partnerships related to food security, such as podcast episodes, conference presentations, and learning modules. It also features a searchable database of food security practices and programs, allowing users to filter by criteria like community engagement, equity focus, location, and ethnicity/race. Brief descriptions of 19 food security initiatives from various locations are provided, covering topics like indigenous food systems, nutrition interventions, and community gardening programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Food consumption, Food insecurity, Food supply, Initiatives, Title V programs

Annotation: This data brief presents key findings from the 2019-2020 National Health Interview Survey on the number of children ages 0-17, with and without special needs, in households experiencing food insecurity. The brief defines the term "food insecurity," summarizes survey results, and compares data according to age and gender, urbanicity, ethnic origin, and family characteristics.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs

• Link

Keywords: Children, Food Insecurity, Hunger, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: osaspeinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

Annotation: Using data from the Health Reform Monitoring Survey (HRMS), this brief examines how food insecurity among households with nonelderly adults changed between March/April 2020 and June 2022. Overall food insecurity trends, food insecurity among families with children, and insecurity rates among communities of color are among the statistics highlighted. The brief also explains how the HRMS data compares with other national survey data on food hardship.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Food, Hunger, National surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report offers recommendations for policy makers to integrate individuals with lived expertise as partners in program and policy design, implementation, and evaluation to more effectively address food insecurity. Access to affordable, nutritious food is a significant challenge for many individuals enrolled in Medicaid. Experts with lived experience joined state policy makers and representatives from national health care and social services organizations to address hunger by increasing cross-agency partnerships and identifying solutions.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Evaluation, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Hunger, Medicaid, Policy development, Poverty, Social factors

Annotation: This brief highlights two promising examples of partnerships between child care providers and food access initiatives. Both partnerships received grant funding form Walmart Foundation's Healthier Food Access program, which provides support to innovative programs addressing food access. The brief focuses on three strategies: One that supports children and families directly; one that fosters the capacity of child care providers and their ability to support child nutrition in their own care settings; and one that organizes at a systems level to better coordinate efforts that target families with young children. Included are recommendations for building similar partnerships in local communities.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care services, Child nutrition, Community participation, Food, Model programs, Partnerships, Program development, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This brief presents key findings from an evaluation of the Healthy Food Alliance for Early Education (HFAEE), a program designed to improve nutrition and health practices in early childhood education centers and the homes of children facing food insecurity in St. Louis, MO. The brief provides a description of the program components and summarizes the evaluation findings.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Early Childhood Education, Evaluation, Food insecurity, Nutrition programs, Young children

Annotation: This publication examines the history of dietary guidelines for Americans and the cultural biases that may have influenced their development. It explores the evolution of the dietary guidelines; addresses claims of racism within the guidelines; and examines whether the current guidelines are culturally appropriate and free of racial bias.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Dietary guidelines, Health equity, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This tool incorporates the President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition's Presidential Champions program and uses gamification, the application of points and achievements to non-game context, to inspire youth and adults to engage in physical activity and to monitor progress toward their own health goals. Users can determine what and how much to eat; track their food intake, physical activity, and weight; and personalize their experience by setting individual goals, journaling, and receiving virtual coaching.

Contact: U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 E-mail: infocnpp@cnpp.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietary guidelines, Electronic journals, Food consumption, Food habits, Food preferences, Games, Goals, Health promotion, Life course, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight

Annotation: This report explores the nutritional quality and other characteristics of food and drink products marketed to parents for their infants and toddlers (up to age 3). It also examines the messages used to promote these products, and evaluates how well they correspond to expert advice about feeding young children.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: rudd.center@uconn.edu Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Evaluation, Feeding, Feeding, Food, Infants, Marketing, Toddlers

Annotation: These resources are designed to help pediatricians and their practice teams screen for food insecurity, connect families with food and nutrition resources in the community, and support national and local policies that increase access to adequate healthy food for all children and their families. Contents include an infographic, information on food insecurity and federal nutrition programs, tips on preparing for and using the Hunger Vital Sign (a validated screening tool), interventions to address food insecurity, and resources to support advocacy and educational efforts.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This report presents results of a survey of parents with children and adolescents ages 2 to 17 to measure parents' attitudes about food marketing and other influences on children's eating habits and their support for policies to promote healthy eating for their children. Topics include parents' opinions about food industry self-regulation, including the ages of children who should be protected from unhealthy food marketing and whether they believe that individual food companies have delivered on their pledges to limit food advertising to children. The report also examines parents' willingness to participate in a variety of actions to encourage companies to reduce unhealthy food marketing to their children. A series of infographics is also available.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: rudd.center@uconn.edu Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Infographics

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Beliefs, Children, Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Food consumption, Marketing, Nutrition, Parent participation, Parenting attitudes, Policy development

Annotation: This brief summarizes evidence for promoting healthy nutrition in the early care and education setting. Topics include breastfeeding, shaping food preferences among infants and toddlers, the role of the feeding environment and responsive feeding, introducing infants to complementary foods, and recognizing infants’ and toddlers’ hunger and fullness cues. Feeding strategies to reduce the likelihood that children will develop tooth decay are provided. Policy and practice implications are included.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: globalhealth@duke.edu Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Complementary feeding, Early childhood education, Feeding, Food allergies, Food preferences, Food safety, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Physical activity, Policy development, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This report describes public health priorities with large-scale impact on health, known effective strategies to address them, and progress towards meeting targeted goals. Contents include visual representations of progress and data trends, as well as summaries of federal contributions associated with each of the following topic areas: tobacco; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; food safety; health care-associated infections; motor vehicle injuries; adolescent pregnancy; and HIV.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Final Report
• Progress Reports

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Food safety, Goals, HIV, Health, Infections, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Tobacco use, Treatments, Trends

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management