Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report uses Youth Risk Behavior Survey data from 2009 to 2019 to focus on four priority areas associated with sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV, and unintended pregnancy: sexual behavior, high-risk substance use, experiencing violence, and mental health and suicide. It updates a previous report covering 2007-2017. The resource also includes trends fact sheets and infographics.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, National surveys, Risk taking, Statistical data, Young adults

Annotation: This online report examines state policies for expanding Medicaid coverage of community health worker (CHW) services, including approaches to authorizing payment and encouraging use of CHWs within Medicaid programs. It presents findings from KFF's 22nd annual Medicaid budget survey conducted in 2022, which found that over half of responding states (29 of 48) allowed Medicaid payment for CHW services as of July 2022. The document details various coverage mechanisms including state plan authority, ACA Health Home options, managed care arrangements, and Section 1115 demonstration waivers. It provides specific examples of recently implemented state plan amendments and discusses state plans to expand CHW programs in fiscal year 2023, including new certification requirements and efforts targeting maternal health. The report includes a U.S. map showing state CHW coverage policies and a detailed table comparing features of state plan amendments in California, Louisiana, and Nevada.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Medicaid, National surveys, Payment, Public policy, State legislation, State surveys

Annotation: Using data from the Health Reform Monitoring Survey (HRMS), this brief examines how food insecurity among households with nonelderly adults changed between March/April 2020 and June 2022. Overall food insecurity trends, food insecurity among families with children, and insecurity rates among communities of color are among the statistics highlighted. The brief also explains how the HRMS data compares with other national survey data on food hardship.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Food, Hunger, National surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: National data sets provide an avenue for students to practice data analytic skills while also answering meaningful research questions. This open education resource was developed to train future public health professionals how to conduct secondary data analysis of national health surveys using SAS statistical software. SAS software was selected because it is one of the most commonly used software programs used among public health departments and academia. The book includes details on how to analyze public-use data from five common national health surveys, including the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS), Behavior Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) and National Health and Nutrition and Examination Survey (NHANES). All datasets and corresponding syntax files are available from the Open ICPSR Data Repository.

• Link

Keywords: Data analysis, National surveys, Health surveys, Behavioral medicine

Annotation: This research brief reports the prevalence of self-reported secondhand smoke (SHS) exposure in homes and vehicles among US middle and high school students in 2019 and changes in SHS over time. The data is from the National Youth Tobacco Survey (2011-2019).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Data, Environmental exposure , High school students, Middle school students, National surveys, Passive smoking, Research, Smoking, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This brief analyzes national and state-level data from the 2016-2017 National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) on children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and their families. Racial and ethnic disparities in access to appropriate, comprehensive, and coordinated health care are highlighted, as well the widely variable outcomes for CYSHCN across states. Challenges associated with family, neighborhood, and school circumstances are among the barriers identified.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: , Access to care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Barriers, Children with special health care needs, National surveys, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This environmental scan report examines the telehealth capacity of maternal and child health public health systems in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The report presents findings from interviews with 57 representatives from 39 programs across 26 states and 2 territories, focusing on Title V and Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs programs, home visiting services, newborn screening functions, and early hearing detection and intervention. Key findings include significant variance in telehealth implementation levels across jurisdictions, widespread connectivity challenges for families and programs, positive perceptions of telehealth as a viable service modality despite current challenges, lack of evidence to inform decision-making about telehealth continuation and expansion, and need for improved mechanisms to connect providers with available training resources. Program-specific sections detail current telehealth usage, capacity challenges, gaps in services, and opportunities catalyzed by the pandemic, highlighting both successes and barriers encountered in rapidly transitioning to remote service delivery models.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Title V programs, Public health services, MCH programs, National surveys

Annotation: This report describes efforts to measure and address Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) "crowd-out," when families who apply for public CHIP benefits have access to private health insurance. For the report, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) asked 42 states that have separate CHIP programs to report on two separate crowd-out indicators: (1) the percent of individuals who are enrolled in CHIP that have access to private health insurance and (2) the percent of CHIP applicants who cannot be enrolled because they have private health insurance. Included is a description of procedures that CMS and states use to address crowd-out, together with statistics on income eligibility, enrollment in public vs. private insurance, and other relevant data extracted from the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Children', Data, Eligibility, Enrollment expansion, Federal programs, National surveys, State Health insurance programs, s Health insurance Program

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: info@ecedata.org Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of school leaders about how service delivery and student health would be impacted by a decline in Medicaid reimbursement. The report outlines the survey questions and findings, highlights how students with disabilities and students with low incomes will be impacted by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant, describes how communities will be economically affected by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant for school districts, details the potential of districts to lose critical mental health supports for students that are reimbursable by Medicaid, and notes how district efforts to expand Medicaid coverage to students and their families will be undermined by a block grant or per-capita cap.

Contact: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 1615 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 578-0700 Fax: (703)-841-1543 E-mail: info@aasa.org Web Site: http://www.aasa.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• 2018 Addemdum

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Block grants, Child health, Children, Financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Policy development, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Service delivery, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

Annotation: This statistical brief provides estimates of trends in the number of children ages 0–17 who lack a usual source of care in the United States for the period from 2004–2014. Based on data from the Household Component of the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS-HC), the estimates are presented according to insurance status, family income, and race/ethnicity.

Contact: AHRQ Publications Clearinghouse, U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, P.O. Box 8547, Silver Spring, MD 20907-8547, Telephone: (800) 358-9295 Secondary Telephone: (888) 586-6340 E-mail: ahrqpubs@ahrq.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov/news/pubcat/pubcat.htm

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Child health, Data, Medical home, National surveys, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report summarizes results for 118 health-related behaviors plus obesity, overweight, and asthma by sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts from the 2015 national Youth Risk Behavior Survey, 25 state surveys, and 19 large urban school district surveys conducted among students in grades 9–12. Contents include a description of the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System, survey methodology, and survey results for the prevalence of health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students compared with nonsexual minority students. Recommendations for reducing disparities in health-risk behaviors among sexual minority students are also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Comparative analysis, Health behavior, Health surveys, Individual characteristics, Minority groups, National surveys, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Risk factors, Risk taking, School districts, School surveys, Sex factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexual partners, State surveys, Statistical data, Urban population

Annotation: This document summarizes findings from a nationwide survey of maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) directors about family engagement policies and practices in Title V-funded programs. The findings provide a snapshot of strategies to support meaningful family engagement, effective and innovative practices, and areas of need for improvement and technical assistance. Topics include creating a culture of family engagement, levels of family engagement, roles of family staff or consultants, family members employed as staff, sustaining and diversifying family engagement, and evaluating family engagement. An overview of the survey development and response, programmatic definitions of family, and a discussion of the results is included. A series of briefs that detail the results in specific areas are also available. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Executive Summary
• Program Website

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Evaluation, Families, Leadership, National surveys, Participation, Public private partnerships, Role, State programs, Sustainability, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief describes findings from a survey of federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) asking questions about the FQHC's participation in dental student externship or dental residency programs and the impact of that participation on recruitment and retention of dentists in the FQHC. Contents include an executive summary and a technical report with the study background, objectives, methods, findings, discussion, limitations, and conclusions. Topics include prevalence and differences in prevalence of oral health services provided to children and/or adults by FQHCs participating in dental residency or student externship programs.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, College of Integrated Health Sciences, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Children, Community health centers, Internship and residency, National surveys, Oral health, Personnel recruitment, Prevalence, Retention, Service learning, Statistical data, Work force

Annotation: This report provides an ongoing assessment of the exposure of the U.S. population to environmental chemicals using biomonitoring for the civilian, non-institutionalized population. Data is provided for 148 chemicals, grouped into the following categories: metals, cotinine, several pesticides subcategories, phthalates, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), phytoestrogens, and herbicides. Additional topics include public health uses of the report and interpreting data. A separate executive summary is also available. Updated tables were published in 2015, and the fourth report in 2009. Previous editions are also available.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website. Document Number: NCEH Pub. No. 05-0570, NCEH Pub. No. 02-0716 .

• Link

Keywords: Chemicals, Data, Environmental exposure, National surveys, Research

Annotation: This chartbook presents data from the National Survey of Children's Health. Contents include indicators of the health and well-being of children, including oral health status; a discussion of supportive and risk factors in the family environment; and a discussion of aspects of neighborhoods that may support or threaten families and children on the national level within high-risk subpopulations for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Supplemental data tables on child health status, health care, school and activities, a child's family, and a child's and family's neighborhood are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children, Families, Family characteristics, Family economics, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, National surveys, Neighborhoods, Protective factors, Risk factors, Rural population, Schools, Socioeconomic status, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of centers and programs connected with schools to document the role of school-based health centers (SBHCs) in meeting the health care needs of children and adolescents. The report describes the funding sources that support the SBHCs, policies, and characteristics of schools where SBHCs are located. The analysis and data presented in the report include SBHCs that pro- vide primary care. Topics include growth; access; comprehensive care, including behavioral health and oral health care; adolescent care; health system partnerships; sustainability; and accountability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: info@nasbhc.org Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Data, Early intervention, Mental health services, National surveys, Oral health, Participation, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reproductive health, School based clinics

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a national survey to assess the oral health status of American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) children ages 1–5. Contents include information on the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of AI/AN children ages 1–5 in 2014 at both the national and Indian Health Service Area level, as well as trends in the oral health of this population since 2010. The brief also describes the prevalence of dental sealants on a primary molar tooth among this population.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 08N34 A, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 447-3368 E-mail: dentaljobs@ihs.gov Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/dentistry Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Comparative analysis, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, National surveys, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Statistical data, Trends, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of local health departments (LHDs) to assess the impact of forces that are affecting change in LHDs including health reform and billing for services. Topics include background and survey methods, budget cuts and job losses, changes in services, billing for clinical services, collaboration with non-profit hospitals, collaboration with primary care providers, and workforce skills.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: City health agencies, Collaboration, County health agencies, Educational change, Health care reform, National surveys, Organizational change, Primary care, Reimbursement, Work force

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Survey Findings

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace