Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (67 total).

Bronheim S, Fiel S, Schidlow D, MagrabP, Boczar K, Dillon C. n.d.. Crossings: A manual for transition of chronically ill youth to adult health care. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 52 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Family Voices; IMPACT. n.d.. Transitions--Growing up and away. Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides tips to help parents of adolescents with special health care needs support their sons' and daughters' transition into adulthood.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents with special health care needs, Parenting, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Helping children in foster care make successful transitions into child care. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics , 2 pp.

McManus M, White P, Schmidt A. 2022. A Guide for Designing a Value-Based Payment Initiative for Pediatric-to-Adult Transitional Care. Washington, DC: The National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 18 pp.

Annotation: This guide contains a step-by-step approach for state Medicaid and managed care organizations (MCOs) as well as commercial payers interested in starting a value-based payment (VBP) initiative around pediatric-to-adult transitional care. The document presents six steps in establishing a VBP initiative, as well as issues and strategies to consider, tips, and examples from managed care organizations.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: info@thenationalalliance.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Medicaid, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Parsons HM, Abdi HI, Nelson VA, Claussen A, Wagner BL, Sadak KT, Scal PB, Wilt TJ, Butler M. 2022. Transitions of care from pediatric to adult services for children with special health care needs. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 323 pp. (Comparative effectiveness review; no. 255)

Annotation: This systematic review provides the results of an analysis of the evidence base for care interventions, implementation strategies, and between-provider communication tools among children with special health care needs who are making the transition from pediatric to adult medical care services. Several databases were searched to identify studies published through September 2021; gray literature searches were also conducted in order to identify additional resources relevant to the topic. The publication is divided into 12 chapters and includes tables, figures, and appendixes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Literature reviews, Research reviews, Special health care needs, Transition planning Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

White PH, Greenberg A. 2021 (ca.). Telehealth toolkit for a joint visit with pediatric and adult health care clinicians and transferring young adults. Washington, DC: Got Transition, 6 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit offers pediatric and adult medical professionals sample content that can be used to facilitate transfer to adult care, as well as a sample resource for the transferring young adult that explains the telehealth visit. The two tip sheets are designed to be used as a general guide for the agenda of the joint telehealth visit, and both can be customized to the practice and young adult and family situation. Additional resources include a practice script example and a link to Got Transition's Six Core Elements of Health Care Transition.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Ilango S, McManus P, Beck D, White P. 2021. Health care transition in state Title V programs: A review of 2021 Block Grant applications/2019 annual reports and recommendations. Washington, DC: Got Transition , 14 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the health care transition (HCT) strategies that Title V agencies documented in their 2021 applications and 2019 annual reports. The document highlights examples of states' HCT innovations and offers recommendations for future health care transition strategies in state Title V action plans.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal agencies, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Got Transition. 2020. Six core elements of health care transition [3.0]. Washington, DC: Got Transition, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource describes the basic components of a structured transition process and includes customizable sample tools for each core element and an implementation package for each type of practice. They are tailored to the type of practice facilitating the health care transition in these areas: (1) transitioning youth to an adult health care clinician, for use by pediatric, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians; (2) transitioning to an adult approach to health care without changing clinicians, for use by family medicine and med-peds clinicians; and (3) integrating young adults into adult health care, for use by internal medicine, family medicine, and med-peds clinicians. A summary chart describes the three sets of tools and six elements. The materials are available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

McManus M, Schmidt A, White P. 2020. Medicaid contract language to expand the availability of pediatric-to-adult transitional care. Washington, DC: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health and Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document describes contract language options states can use to provide for the availability of pediatric-to-adult transitional care, in the areas of definitions, member services and education, provider networks, covered services, care coordination, and quality and evaluation. Appendices list actual 2018/2019 contract language on the same topics from selected states. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: info@thenationalalliance.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

McManus M, White P, Borden C. 2019. Incorporating pedatric-to-adult transition into NCQA patient-centered medical home recognition: 2019 update. Washington, DC: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 13 pp. (Practice resource)

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

White P, Schmidt A, McManus M, Irwin CI Jr. 2018. Incorporating health care transition services into preventive care for adolescents and young adults: A toolkit for clinicians. Washington, DC: Got Transition; San Francisco, CA: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, 18 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for clinicians provides suggested questions and anticipatory guidance specific to adolescents' transition to adult health care, and is meant to be used alongside Bright Futures. It covers early adolescence (11-14 years) through early adulthood (22-25 years), and includes transition and preventive health care guidance. It is aimed at the entire health care team. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Self care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Hergenroeder AC, Wiemann CM, eds. 2018. Health care transition: Building a program for adolescents and young adults with chronic illness and disability. New York, NY: Springer, 394 pp.

Annotation: This book addresses aspects of transitioning from pediatric to adult health care for adolescents and young adults with chronic illness or disability. It includes a framework, tools, and case-based examples to inform developing and evaluating a health-care-transition (HCT)-planning program that can be implemented regardless of an individual’s disease or disability. Selected topics include defining successful transition, financing transition, special issues in transition, and models of HCT programs. One chapter provides an overview of the Dental Education in the Care of Persons with Disabilities Program at the University of Washington School of Dentistry.

Contact: Springer, 233 Spring Street, New York, NY 10013, Telephone: (212) 460-1572 Fax: (212) 620-8442 E-mail: victoria.enever@springer.com Web Site: http://www.springer.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Oral health, Transition planning, Transitions

Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service. 2018. Vulnerable youth: Background and policies. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 60 pp.

Annotation: This document discusses federal efforts to help vulnerable youth make successful transitions to adulthood in six areas: workforce development, education, juvenile justice and delinquency prevention, social services, public health, and national and community service. It describes risk factors, positive youth development, the evolution of the federal role in assisting vulnerable youth from 1912 through the present, and federal efforts to improve coordination among programs for vulnerable youth.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo Available from the website. Document Number: RL33975 · Version 28 · Updated.

Keywords: Federal programs, High risk adolescents, History, Transitions, Youth development

Mann R, Mays A. 2017. State ESSA plans to support student health and wellness: A framework for action (3rd ed.). Chicago, IL: Healthy Schools Campaign, 29 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on developing state plans for implementing the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) in ways that support student health and wellness. Topics include engaging stakeholders in a way that ensures an effective ESSA state plan is developed and implemented; implementing a state accountability system and creating a school report card that supports the health and learning connection; integrating health and wellness into standards, assessments, and a well-rounded education; integrating student learning through staff wellness and professional development; supporting the transition from early childhood programs to elementary school; transferring funding to strengthen ESSA health and wellness programming; the Student Support and Academic Enrichment grant; and looking ahead. For each topic, the document outlines why it's important, what the law says, action steps, and resources. An overview of ESSA is included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Accountability, Adolescent health, Case studies, Child health, Federal initiatives, Financing, Grants, Learning, Needs Assessment, Organizational change, Policy development, School age children, School health programs, Schools, Service integration, Standards, Statewide planning, Students, Transitions

McManus M, Beck D. 2017. Transition to adult health care and state Title V program directions: A review of 2017 block grant applications. Washington, DC: Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 11 pp. (Report; no. 3)

Annotation: This report presents information about state Title V transition strategies and evidence-informed measures. Contents include an executive summary and recommendations, examples of innovative transition strategies, and information about a new transition measure from the National Survey of Children's Health that will be used to report state and national transition performance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Measures, Program development, Program planning, State programs, Transition planning, Transitions

Health Services for Children with Special Needs, The National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, and District of Columbia Department of Health. 2016. Health care transition for adolescents and young adults: An online video CME series. Washington, DC: Health Services for Children with Special Needs, 1 v.

Annotation: This online course offers a brief review of clinical recommendations on transition and a tested quality improvement model. It also features physicians in pediatric, family medicine, and internal medicine practices in the District of Columbia who successfully implemented core elements of health care transition using quality improvement methodologies.

Contact: Health Services for Children with Special Needs, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-2737 Secondary Telephone: (866) 937-4549 Fax: (202) 466-8514 Web Site: http://www.hscsn-net.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Continuing education, Distance education, Multimedia, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transitions, Youth in transition programs

Jim Casey Youth Opportunities Initiative. 2016. Preparing for the road ahead: Helping young people transition from foster care to adulthood. Baltimore, MD: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes and vision of a national initiative to help young people transition from foster care and thrive. Contents include information about the initiative's impact, timeline, core strategies, outcome areas, and next steps. The report describes how the initiative is helping young people in foster care achieve critical milestones in permanence, education, employment, financial capability, housing, physical and mental health, and social capital; how the initiative integrates young people's voices into its work; and how it collaborates with national and local partners, policymakers, and young people to create conditions that improve outcomes for youth transitioning to adulthood.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: webmail@aecf.org Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Collaboration, Foster care, National initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults, Youth development, Youth in transition programs

U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy. 2015. Healthy transitions: A pathway to employment for youth with chronic health conditions and other disabilities. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief presents research findings about the relationship between disability (including chronic conditions), health and wellness, and transition and employment outcomes for youth with disabilities. The brief also examines the role health care professionals play in establishing employment expectations. Contents include information about the study methods, transition planning, and recommendations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Disability Employment Policy, Frances Perkins Building, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (202) 693-7880 Secondary Telephone: (866) 633-7365 Fax: (202) 693-7888 E-mail: infoDEP@dol.gov Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/odep Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Employment, Outcome and process assessment, Role, School to work transitions, Transition planning, Young adults

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, de Beaumont Foundation. 2015. PH WINS: Public Health Workforce Interests and Needs Survey . Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2015. Medical home modules for pediatric residency education. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 51 pp.

Annotation: This series of five case-based, educational modules on key medical home principles is designed to be incorporated into existing curriculum by residency program directors and faculty. Collectively, the modules educate residents about characteristics and benefits of the patient‐ and family‐centered medical home, care coordination, care planning, transition to adult care and team-based care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Coordination, Family centered care, Medical home, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Planning, Professional education, Transitions

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.