Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide describes, step-by-step, how to make funeral arrangements for an infant who has died. It explains where to begin; describes the choices of cremation or burial, and discusses the various ways that grieving parents can make arrangements that will have special meaning to the family while also allowing others the opportunity to say goodbye. The guide includes lined pages where families are invited to write down their plans for the funeral.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support services, Funerals, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Annotation: This document describes the value of interviewing childbearing parents/families after the death of an infant, challenges, and steps in the process, including the parental interviewer; locating and contacting families; confidentiality, consent, and ethical considerations; conducting the interview; alternative methods; bereavement support and resources, and self-care. Appendices include sample position descriptions for interviewers, protocols, handouts and forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death review, Infant death review committees, Interviews, Manuals

Annotation: This book is to help those who have lost a loved one through a devastating tragedy, such as homicides or motor vehicle crashes. The book gives hope and useful suggestions to survivors grieving for a loved one killed. It discusses grief, the death of children, siblings, mates and parents, holidays, spirituality, professional counseling, suicide, coping with the criminal justice system, and finance issues. A list of resource organizations and readings is included.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Survivors, Victims, Violence

Annotation: This resource brief helps families find links to care, services, and support and websites for expectant and new parents about ways to help babies survive and thrive, pregnancy loss, losing a baby, and grief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Families, Family support services, Grief, Infant death, Infant mortality, Infants, Pregnancy loss, Prevention programs

Annotation: This bibliography lists books intended to help parents or caregivers navigate children's questions that are likely to come up after the death of a younger sibling from sudden infant death. The list includes picture books, books for older children, and activity books that help children express emotions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Bibliographies, Children', Funerals, Grief, Infant death, Materials for children, SIDS, s literature

Annotation: This booklet for parents offers a helpline number for residents in the United Kingdom and describes what happens after a baby has died, the post-mortem exam, registering the baby's death, funeral arrangements, memorials, inquests, child death review, financial assistance, grieving, mothers who are on their own, if a twin dies, returning to work, life after the baby's death, helping siblings, grandparents and other family members, if someone else's baby dies in your care, finding and giving support, and having another baby.

Contact: Lullaby Trust, 11 Belgrade Road, London, England SW1V 1RB, Telephone: (020) 7802-3200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lullabytrust.org.uk Available from the website; contact for muiltple copy cost information.

• Word Document

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Child death review, Families, Infant death, Public awareness materials, SIDS

Annotation: This document summarizes a series of panel discussions conducted by the Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs at four National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program annual conferences in 1998, 2001, 2004, and 2007. The content is drawn from the panelists' personal experiences with and professional expertise in the cultural traditions that may affect a family's expression of grief and loss. Topics include history and culture, general bereavement customs, service delivery issues, recommendations for practice, and implications for providers. Cultures and religions described include African American, specific tribes of American Indians, Hispanic/Latino, Chinese, Hmong, Iranian, Jewish, Muslim, and deaf and hard-of-hearing, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Grief, Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Religion, Service delivery

Annotation: This guide provides resources for helping children and adolescents cope with injury, loss of loved ones, destruction of homes and schools, and other trauma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Children, Disasters, Emotions, Mental health, Resources for professionals, Trauma

Annotation: This pamphlet discusses parent and family grief when a child dies. It discusses common and individual characteristics of parental grief, parental grief and a SIDS death, fathers' grief, the impact of grief in special parenting situations, thoughts from grieving parents, and coping with the loss and moving on. The pamphlet ends with a list of references cited and recommended resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Child mortality, Grief, Parent child relations, SIDS

Annotation: This book provides information for parents and other caregivers who have lost a child to sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Topics include a definition of SIDS, perspectives from experts, a brief review of research into a diagnostic test, a history of SIDS, and accounts by parents of their experiences. Additional topics include dealing with guilt and anger; grieving and bereavement; the grief of fathers, other siblings, and grandparents; the loss of an infant at the childcare provider's; advice for friends of parents who have lost an infant; planning a funeral and the role of the clergy; advice on grieving and moving forward; dealing with anniversaries and holidays; advice on peer contact and professional help; emergency medical responders and the authorities; and a subsequent baby and the question of home monitoring. Additional information is provided on guilt and risk reduction; dreams and premonitions; and more stories and poems from the experience of losing an infant. The appendices include national and international organizations that provide information, counseling, research data, and grants on SIDS and related topics as well as a bibliography and a suggested reading list. The 3rd edition is available in Spanish.

Contact: SIDS Educational Services, P.O. Box 2426, Hyattsville, MD 20784-0426, Telephone: (301) 322-2620 Fax: (301) 322-9822 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidssurvivalguide.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-9641218-0-5.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child care, Clergy, Consumer education materials, Family support, Grandparents, Grief, Home monitoring, Infant death, Parent support services, Parents, Risk assessment, SIDS, Siblings, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource addresses schools facing real-time crises, providing information on ways to deal with loss in a school community and how to promote a coordinated response. The toolkit provides school districts and private school associations with evidence-based programs designed to address serious childhood and adolescent distress and prevent suicide (Objective 4.2 of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention). Content includes consensus recommendations developed in consultation with school-based personnel, clinicians, researchers, and crisis-response professionals. It incorporates relevant existing material and research findings as well as references, templates, and links to additional information and assistance. Specific areas addressed in the toolkit include crisis response, helping students cope, working with the community, memorialization, social media, suicide contagion, bringing in outside help, and going forward.

Contact: American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, 120 Wall Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 363-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 333-AFSP Fax: (212) 363-6237 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.afsp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Coping, Crisis intervention, Grief, Prevention, Resources for professionals, School age children, School counseling, Schools, Students, Suicide

Annotation: This pamphlet provides guidance on how to help children cope after the unexpected loss of an infant brother, sister, or other loved one. It provides information about how children of different ages react to death and how parents and other caregivers can help them. Information about family rituals, suggestions on seeking support services, and a list of select resources are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Children, Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS

Annotation: This training manual provides materials to increase the capacity of faith based communities to provide bereavement support impacted by pregnancy or infant losses, to reduce depression and anxiety among families by promoting the use of mental health services, and to promote inter-conceptual care for families experiencing infant or fetal loss. The manual contains a tool kit of materials to conduct an in-person workshop including PowerPoint slides with notes on how to present the materials, handouts, audio-visual presentations, resource lists, and group exercises; as well as materials to provide evaluation feedback. The included trainer's guide provides tips and resources on effective training with adult learners, dealing with strong emotions of participants, a guide to structuring the training, a guide to using the electronic resources provided, and a module by module guide to presenting the training. The volume included a DVD of the curriculum and two other DVDs: Black and Blue: Depression in the African-American Community and Crisis in the Crib: Saving our Nation's Babies. A different version of this information is posted online.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Clergy, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Manuals, Pregnancy loss, Religious organizations, Resources for professionals, Training materials

Annotation: This website presents a toolkit comprising eight modules designed to help the African-American Christian faith community improve supports for families who have experienced the loss of an infant during pregnancy or after birth. The toolkit is geared toward clergy in churches, chaplains in health care settings, pastoral counselors, and lay leaders. The toolkit can also be used in seminary courses and seminars to ensure that clergy in training are prepared to support bereaved families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: SUID/SIDS Project at the National Center for Cultural Competence, 3300 Whitehaven Street, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20057, Telephone: (202) 687-8914 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu/projects/sids/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Family support, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Religious organizations, Training materials

Annotation: This report, which covers calendar years 2009 and 2010, describes the work of the New Hampshire Child Fatality Review Committee, which reviews fatalities of New Hampshire children. The report includes a statement of accountability and discusses activities related to the child fatality review committee, a review and analysis of data, and responses to recommendations from child fatality committee case reviews conducted in 2009 and 2010.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Justice, Child Fatality Review Committee, 33 Capitol Street, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 271-3658 Web Site: http://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/child-fatality-review-committee.htm Available from the website.

• 2011 Report
• Archive From 1998

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Child death review, New Hampshire, Public policy, SIDS, Statistical data, Training

Annotation: This resource offers support to bereaved parents who have recently lost a child at any age for any reason. It describes thoughts and feelings that are common during the grieving process and suggests simple steps that grieving parents can take to help cope with their loss. Although the brochure acknowledges that parents who have lost a child will never be the same, it suggests ways of finding support that can contribute to the healing process. Information on how to locate and participate in a Compassionate Friends support group is included.

Contact: Compassionate Friends, 48660 Pontiac Trail, #930808, Wixom, MI 48393, Secondary Telephone: (877) 969-0010 Fax: (630) 990-0246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.compassionatefriends.org Single print copies available from the website; Packets of 100 brochures are available for $15.00.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Grief, Mental health, Parent support services, Support groups

Annotation: This website presents materials from the International Conference on Perinatal and Infant Death: Partners in Prevention, Research, Advocacy, and Support, held on November 4-7, 2010, in Washington, DC. The site includes links to the conference agenda, to pages with information and handouts from each conference session, and to poster presentations. Information about conference sponsors is also presented.

Contact: Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, c/o The KIDS Network, , 1148 Hillside, Suite 10, Wichita, KS 67211, Telephone: (800) 930-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asip1.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Conference proceedings, Family support, Infant death, Parent support services, Perinatal bereavement, Prevention, Research, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This bulletin explores the cultural traditions of African Americans, Iranians, Somalis, and hard of hearing families grieving the loss of an infant. It summarizes a panel presentation from the National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program’s Fifth National Conference, held in August 2007 in Alexandria, VA. It includes a brief summary of studies on grief along with insights on the grief responses and customs of families from a variety of cultures. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Blacks, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Grief, Muslims