Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2012. Tips for talking with and helping children and youth cope after a disaster or traumatic event: A guide for parents, caregivers, and teachers. [Rockville, MD]: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet provides tips for parents and teachers on how to talk to children and adolescents after traumatic events. Information about how children and adolescents may react and behave is provided for preschool-age children, children ages 5-11, and adolescents ages 12-14. Ideas about how to help, what to say and do, and what to do when talking isn't enough are provided.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SMA12-4732.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Child behavior, Children, Communication, Disasters, Emotional trauma, Emotions

Pickett OK. 2012. Reaching out to children and youth during difficult times: Professional and family resource brief (2nd ed., upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This guide provides resources for helping children and adolescents cope with injury, loss of loved ones, destruction of homes and schools, and other trauma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Children, Disasters, Emotions, Mental health, Resources for professionals, Trauma

Monson N. 2006. Your six-week postpartum check-up: A health care guide for new mothers. Washington, DC: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 2 pp.

Annotation: This handout, which is geared toward new mothers, provides information that can help readers prepare for the 6-week postpartum visit. The handout provides information about diet, nutrition, and exercise and about physical, emotional, and sexual needs. For each category, goals are presented, along with a list of specific topics and space for the reader's notes. The document is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Emotions, Goals, Nutrition, Pamphlets, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Bean S, Rolleri LA. 2005. Parent-child connectedness: Voices of African-American and Latino parents and teens. Scotts Valley, CA: ETR Associates, 114 pp.

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the topic of parent-child connectedness (PCC), reports on a focus group study conducted by ETR Associates in 2004. The report seeks to give voice to the perspectives of African-American and Latino parents and adolescents, and, by doing so, to eliminate a gap in the understanding of PCC. Section 1 describes the study methodology. Section 2 reports on participants' basic view on PCC. Section 3 reports on themes that emerged from participants' responses to questions about what makes them feel closer to their parent or teen and what gets in the way of feeling closer. Section 4 reports on participants' responses to a question about what is most important to creating PCC in families. Section 5 reports on participants' answers to questions about how programs or interventions should be designed to help families who are struggling with PCC. An executive summary, an about the authors section, and a next steps section are included. The report includes seven appendices: a brief description of focus group participants, focus group protocols for adolescents and parents in English and Spanish, and focus group questionnaires for adolescents and parents.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Blacks, Emotional development, Emotions, Ethnic factors, Families, Focus groups, Hispanic Americans, Parent child relations, Parents, Racial factors

Kiefer H, Cohen N, Pape B. 2004. Handle with care: Strategies for promoting the mental health of young children in community-based child care. Toronto, Ontario, Canada: Canadian Mental Health Association and Hinks-Dellcrest Centre, 39 pp.

Annotation: This booklet, which is geared toward child care workers, supervisors, and directors, focuses on how mental health promotion can take place in the child care setting. Topics include developing trust, building positive self-esteem, expressing emotions, challenges and problem solving, relationships, respecting diversity, change and transitions, practitioner well-being, environment, and guiding practices. Examples of effective practices are provided. The booklet is available in English and French.

Contact: Canadian Mental Health Association, 1110-151 Slater Street, Ottowa, Ontario, Canada K1P5H3, Fax: (613) 745-5522 Web Site: http://www.cmha.ca Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-894886-13-5.

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Child care workers, Cultural diversity, Emotions, Health promotion, Mental health, Non English language materials, Relationships, Self esteem, Trust

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development and National Black Child Development Institute. 2003. An activity book for African American families: Helping children cope with crisis. Rockville, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development; Washington, DC: National Black Child Development Institute, 90 pp.

Annotation: The activities in this book are designed to help black parents talk with their children about emotions, thoughts, and feelings that may be difficult to discuss so that families can begin dealing with feelings in positive, constructive ways. The book is divided into the following sections: (1) inspire hope in your child, (2) be still and listen to your child, (3) support, comfort, and love your child, (4) give your child information that is age-appropriate, (5) help your child feel safe, (6) making a plan with your child for emergencies, (7) help your child feel good about himself, (8) pay attention to what your child watches on TV, (9) share your faith with your child, and (10) just for parents. Each section provides an explanation of the goals of the activities within the section, an affirmation drawn from African and African American proverbs, and several activities. The book contains color photographs and illustrations.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 03-5362B.

Keywords: Blacks, Child safety, Children, Communication, Coping, Cultural sensitivity, Emergencies, Emotional development, Emotions, Family life education, Materials for children, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting, Religion, Self esteem, Television

National Cancer Institute. 2001. Young people with cancer: A handbook for parents. Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute, 109 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward parents with a child who has cancer, provides information on all stages of a child's illness. It tells parents what to expect and suggests ways to prepare for different situations. Information about the following topics is included: (1) what cancer is and what the different kinds of cancers are, (2) how to find the best treatment, (3) cancer treatment and side effects, (4) common medical procedures, (5) how to talk to your child about cancer, (6) how to handle your own feelings, your child's feelings, and the feelings of others, (7) common health issues, (8) what the future holds, and (9) where to get more information. The book also includes a list of resources, a dictionary, and one appendix -- common childhood cancers.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH pub. no. 04-2378.

Keywords: Cancer, Child health, Children, Communication, Drug effects, Emotions, Families, Parent child relations, Parents, Treatment

Pawl JH, St. John M. 1999. How you are is as important as what you do...in making a positive difference for infants, toddlers and their families. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, 44 pp.

Annotation: This training material focuses on the importance of human relationships and on how the professional or paraprofessional approaches and acts in his or her interactions with infants, toddlers, and families. The authors offer suggestions for using the material and identify and explain the six principles for "being" and "doing." The approach the authors use to help participants change thinking involves presentation of story vignettes with contrasting approaches, scenarios, and "stumpers" or challenging situations. Following each story, they provide questions for discussion. The examples focus on home visits.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (800) 899-4301 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $10.00 plus $4.50 shipping. Document Number: 175.

Keywords: Affection, Emotions, Families, Home visiting, Infants, Problem solving, Professional training, Psychological needs, Toddlers, Training materials

Aiello B. 1993, c1992. The Kids on the Block program on pediatric hospice. Columbia, MD: Kids on the Block, 48 pp.

Annotation: This work is a series of scripts for a puppet shows that tell the story of a terminally ill child. It illustrates the role of the child's home hospice program and shows how a child, his family, and his friends can learn to deal positively with terminal illness. References are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Kids on the Block, 9385-C Gerwig Lane, Columbia, MD 21046-583, Telephone: (410) 290-9095 Secondary Telephone: (800) 368-5437 Fax: (410) 290-9358 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kotb.com Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Children, Emotions, Family support, Grief, Hospice care, Patient education materials, Pediatric nursing, Terminal care, Terminal illness

Furlong MJ, Smith DC, eds. 1993. Anger, hostility, and aggression: Assessment, prevention and intervention strategies for youth. Brandon, VT: Clinical Psychology Publishing Company, 516 pp.

Annotation: This book provides an overview of recent research on the management of aggression in children and adolescents. Chapters focus on prevention programs and intervention strategies designed to help young people cope with the anger they experience without resorting to violence.

Keywords: Adolescents, Assessment, Case studies, Children, Cognitive disorders, Developmental disabilities, Emotions, Intervention, Mental health, Prevention programs, Research, School based programs, Socioeconomic factors, Treatment, Violence

Middleton K. 1989. Into adolescence: Communicating emotions. Santa Cruz, CA: ETR Associates/Network Publications, 46 pp. (Contemporary health series)

Annotation: This seven-lesson curriculum focuses on providing fifth through eighth grade students with an understanding of the role of communication and to develop positive ways of expressing a range of emotions. Techniques are provided to safely express strong feelings, such as anger, fear, or frustration. The workbook is designed for classroom use, and includes worksheets, role plays, and quizzes.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Contact Phone: (408) 438-4080 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org $19.95, curriculum; $2.95 each, student workbook, 1-9 copies; $2.80 each, 10-99 copies; $2.65 each, 100+ copies; add 15 percent for shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Anger, Communication, Conflict resolution, Curricula, Emotions, Injury prevention

Genevie L, Margolies E. 1987. The motherhood report: How women feel about being mothers. New York, NY: Macmillan , 482 pp.

Annotation: This book reports on a study of 1,100 mothers between the ages of eighteen and eighty to learn how women really feel about their children and about being mothers. Sections discuss the myth and reality of motherhood, the stages of motherhood from pregnancy through children's adulthood, the mother-child connection, and work and family.

Contact: Macmillan Publishing Company, 175 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (646) 307-5151 Web Site: http://us.macmillan.com/ Document Number: ISBN 0-02-542970-1.

Keywords: Mother child relations, Emotions, Mothers, National surveys, Parenting attitudes