Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The objective of this study was to determine whether parents who participated in and completed the parent education program exhibited a decrease in stress, an increase in problem solving and had a stronger parent-child relationship. The project was aimed at parents or caregivers of children under 3 years of age who are of low-income and of varying cultural backgrounds. Three primary methods were used to meet the outcome objectives: group sessions (Approaches to Parenting), newsletter (approaches Bulletin) and seminars. Three measures given at pre-test, short-term post-test, and long-term post-test were used for evaluation. In summary, mothers who participated in the intervention were significantly less stressful, had higher self-esteem, and were less overprotective and rejecting of their children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196855.

Keywords: Caregivers, Health Promotion, Low income groups, Minorities, Parent Education, Parent-Child Interaction, Parents, Stress

Annotation: This project addressed the issue of transitioning of late adolescents and young adults with cystic fibrosis from pediatric care to the adult health care system. The project was developed in order to study the issue of transitioning in terms of the health care delivery system. The goal of the project was to develop an appropriate adult health care delivery model and to study this process and the process of transitioning patients from a pediatric hospital to an adult hospital in separate locations. The objectives of the project were to examine four issues: (1) The effect of the transition on patients and families; (2) determining what services are needed in the adult care setting to provide appropriate care; (3) determining whether interinstitutional issues can be overcome to successfully develop such a program; and (4) studying the financial impact on patients and institutions of this transition. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198372.

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronically Ill, Cystic Fibrosis, Data Collection, Stress, Youth in Transition

Annotation: This policy brief uses data from the 2016-2018 National Survey of Children's Health to assess the differences in adverse and positive childhood experiences among rural and urban children. The study provides the questions from the NSCH that deal with adverse experiences, which include: divorce or separation of parents/guardians; death of parent/guardian; incarceration of parent/guardian; violence among parents/guardians; violence aimed at child; witnessing violence in the neighborhood; mental illness among family/household members; substance abuse among family/household members; discrimination based on ethnicity; low income, resulting in food and/or housing insecurity. The NSCH also provides positive experiences that can help balance the adverse events. Study results show that rural and minority children and adolescents have higher rates of exposure to adverse experiences than their peers, but that rural children were also more likely to have multiple different positive experiences, such as community service or volunteer work, school, church, and having a mentor for guidance.

Contact: Rural and Minority Health Research Center, Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: 803-251-6317 E-mail: jmeberth@mailbox.sc.edu Web Site: https://sc.edu/study/colleges_schools/public_health/research/research_centers/sc_rural_health_research_center/

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Family health, Maltreated children, Rural health, Rural populations, Stress, Trauma, Urban health, Urban populations

Annotation: This paper describes a multi-state technical assistance project on statewide approaches to address adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) across the lifespan, starting in June 2020. It addresses the goals, policy, and programs developed and launched by five states (Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wyoming) that were selected to participate in the project by the National Governors Association and its partner organizations. A summary of the states’ work focuses on the following: (1) Establishing trauma-informed states by creating a holistic, cross-agency vision for cultural change; (2) Developing a common, statewide language and lens around trauma and ACEs and implementing universal trauma awareness communications and/or training; (3) Improving the quality of ACEs surveillance data; and (4) Increasing access to ACEs screening and developing a comprehensive, trauma-informed system of care. Highlighted are lessons learned from states that served as models for statewide approaches that prevent and address ACEs (e.g., disruption in family life, loss of income, food insecurity, and social isolation) and the development of trauma-informed policies (Alaska, California, New Jersey, and Tennessee).

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@nga.org Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Family health, High risk children, High risk families: Trauma, Model programs, Policy development, Prevention, Risk factors, State initiatives, Stress

Annotation: This report from the Injury Center of the CDC provides an in-depth look at ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences). It enumerates some of the occurances that can be considered ACEs (such as abuse and neglect), the possible long-term effects (including mental health challenges, chronic diseases, and the loss of opportunities), and six strategies that can prevent ACEs (strengthening economic supports for families, interventions, etc.). The report also enumerates the Injury Center's four strategic goals and the objectives that will help them attain those goals. References point the reader to futher reading.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse prevention, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress, Violence prevention

Annotation: This document, which is based on the Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study, provides background on childhood adversity and trauma; outlines the connection between ACE and oral health outcomes; and describes methods that dentists and other oral health professionals can embed in their practice, teaching, and research to promote health in all domains: physical, mental, and social-emotional. Trauma, toxic stress, and resilience are discussed, and a list of oral health conditions associated with a history of trauma and adversity is included.

Contact: Health & Medicine Policy Research Group, 29 E. Madison Suite 602, Chicago, IL 60602-4404, Web Site: http://www.hmprg.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health promotion, Oral health, Research, Resilience, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This fact sheet from the CDC defines ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences) and explains the negative impact over the life span that can occur when children are exposed to them. It presents many ways in which everyone (including healthcare providers, employers, and states and communities) can recognize the difficulties that families face and support programs that will promote healthy conditions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress

Annotation: This brief defines toxic stress from a community perspective and presents a framework for a community approach to addressing toxic stress, nested within the broader context of working toward healthy development and well-being. The brief also provides examples of how communities are taking action and recommendations for next steps to promote and further develop comprehensive approaches to toxic stress in communities across the country. Strategies for parents and caregivers; service providers; and multisystem, community partners and policymakers are included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: info@cssp.org Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Communication, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Community role, Coordination, Early childhood, Families, Health education, Leadership, Models, Organizational change, Parents, Policy development, Protective factors, Social change, Stress, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This document outlines 12 evidence-based framing strategies that communicators in the education, justice, and civil rights sectors can use to challenge exclusionary discipline policies, build support for reducing racial disparities in disciplinary outcomes, and cultivate awareness of alternative approaches such as restorative justice and trauma-informed schools.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: info@FrameWorksInstitute.org Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Communication, Discipline, Juvenile justice, Mental health, Schools, Stress, Students, Trauma

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews of measures that can be used to screen children enrolled in Medicaid for adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), defined as stressful or traumatic events including abuse, neglect, and household dysfunction. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; a table of selected measures including the measure name, type, ACEs, strengths, limitations, and other considerations; and systematic reviews included in the evidence review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: info@academyhealth.org Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Low income groups, Measures, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Screening, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on the effectiveness of interventions that help to mitigate parental and familial factors that may contribute to adverse childhood experiences among children. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Topics include parent education programs (conducted outside the home), home visit programs, dual treatment programs for substance abuse, and trauma-informed care. The appendices contain definitions of terms; search terms and databases used in the review; and a table that describes the systematic reviews included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: info@academyhealth.org Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Evaluation methods, Evidence based medicine, Home visiting, Intervention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Parent education, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Substance abuse treatment, Trauma, Trauma care

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) associated with higher health care costs among adults. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Collectively, the studies included in the review report costs for three of 10 major ACEs: physical abuse, sexual abuse, and physical neglect. The appendices contain definitions of terms, search terms and databases used in the review, and a description of systematic reviews and relevant primary research studies included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: info@academyhealth.org Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Costs, Evaluation methods, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Trauma, Women

Annotation: These five modules and accompanying guides for primary care health professionals provide information and resources on early brain development, toxic stress, adverse childhood experiences, supporting parents and cultivating community relationships, and advocacy. Each module includes a PowerPoint presentation with presenter notes and a guide with tips for presenting the content. Each module also contains activities, video clips, prompting questions, and case studies to encourage active participation.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Emotional development, Mental health, Parent support services, Primary care, Psychological development, Relationships, Stress, Training, Vulnerability

Annotation: This brief provides information to help families find care, services, and support and websites about stress and how to manage it during and after pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Families, Pregnant women, Stress, Women', s health

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: foc@princeton.edu Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Anxiety, Child mental health, High risk children, Initiatives, Intervention, Risk factors, Stress

Annotation: This report presents insights from a meeting held on November 14, 2013, to explore the implications of stability and instability for children's development and to discuss what is known and what is needed across research, policy, and practice. Topics include the characteristics of instability that seem likely to affect children's well-being, where it occurs in children's lives, pathways by which it affects children's well-being, and contextual factors that seem likely to play a role in affecting its impact. Additional topics include research needs, implications for policy and practice, and immediate next steps such as developing a common framework and language to support shared understanding of the issues and challenges that need to be addressed.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Coping, Life change events, Policy development, Research, Stress management

Annotation: This webcast, held on June 17, 2014, convened federal policymakers, national thought leaders, and partner organizations to discuss the emerging science demonstrating the impact of toxic stress on a child's lifelong health. Topics included an overview of toxic stress and impact on practice; creating system transformation by forging connections between health, poverty, education, and violence programs; key federal agency activities to prevent toxic stress and promote resilience; a call to action; and congressional leadership and networking. Additional resources are also available including the symposium agenda, supplemental resources and materials, a fact sheet, speaker biographies, a press release, a policy statement, and a technical report.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Children, Community action, Lifecourse, Policy development, Poverty, Stress, Stress management, Violence prevention

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about sources of stress that pregnant women and new mothers experience and the impact of maternal distress on the developing fetus and young child. Topics include policies, programs, and practices that enhance a woman's ability to cope with stress, provide social and emotional support for pregnant women and new mothers, and build protective factors in new families. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. A separate brief lists resources for families. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the O'Neill Foundation]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Electronic publications, Families, Knowledge paths, Mental health, Parenting, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Social support, Stress, Stress management: Infant health, Young children

Annotation: This brief describes what is understood about the effects of multiple or prolonged combat deployments on military families, particularly the experiences and outcomes of school-aged children's health and well-being. Contents include sections on the exceptional nature of the very young child, understanding potential risks for child maltreatment, a review of the Research and Resilience Initiative, and recommendations for conducting future research on young children in military families.

Contact: University of Southern California School of Social Work, Center for Innovation and Research on Veterans and Military Families, 1149 South Hill Street, Suite H-1114, Los Angeles, CA 90015, Telephone: (213) 821-3600 Fax: (213) 821-3601 E-mail: cir@usc.edu Web Site: http://cir.usc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Families, Maltreated children, Military, Research, School age children, Stress, Young children

Annotation: This brief outlines the core principles of trauma-informed care and outlines steps that organizations can take to adopt a trauma-informed approach to improve services to families that are experiencing homelessness. The brief discusses the core principles of trauma-informed care and provides five detailed steps to becoming trauma informed.

Contact: National Center on Family Homelessness, American Institutes for Research, 201 Jones Road, Suite 1, Waltham, MA 02451, Telephone: (781) 373-7073 E-mail: info@familyhomelessness.org Web Site: http://www.familyhomelessness.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Emotional trauma, Families, High risk groups, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Low income groups, Mothers, Parents, Programs, Single parents, Social services, Stress, Trauma, Young children, Young children