Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents and family caregivers, contains information to help children cope during a parent's deployment. The fact sheet presents commonly asked questions and their responses. General tips for communicating with children of all ages, as well as advice for communicating with children from age 3 through adolescents according to their ages, are also included.

Contact: Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 4301 Jones Bridge Road, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (800) 515-5257 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usuhs.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Child mental health, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Coping, Families, Military, Parent child relations, Parents

Annotation: This report examines factors that promote or hinder children's healthy development, drawing on recent studies to illustrate the importance of parent resiliency in the development of social-emotional competence among children from families with low incomes. The report concludes with program and policy recommendations that have proven effective in promoting the development of protective factors, reducing vulnerabilities, and cultivating resiliency among parents with low incomes and, consequently, their children.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Competence, Coping, Emotional development, Low income groups, Mental health, Parenting skills, Parents, Policy development, Program development, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Resilience, Vulnerability

Annotation: This chartbook for families, advocates, policymakers, and researchers provides a national portrait of how children in the United States receive their diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), how their daily lives are impacted, and how their families are doing. Topics include the prevalence of ASD, diagnosing ASD, the child's health, health care and related services, school and social wellbeing, and coping with ASD. The appendices contain information on the ASD data presented in the chartbook including a glossary, a crosswalk of the data sources, methodological information, and guidance for accessing the data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Autism, Child health, Child with special health care needs, Coping, Data sources, Diagnosis, Early intervention services, Family health, Prevalence, Relationships, Special health care services, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents insights from a meeting held on November 14, 2013, to explore the implications of stability and instability for children's development and to discuss what is known and what is needed across research, policy, and practice. Topics include the characteristics of instability that seem likely to affect children's well-being, where it occurs in children's lives, pathways by which it affects children's well-being, and contextual factors that seem likely to play a role in affecting its impact. Additional topics include research needs, implications for policy and practice, and immediate next steps such as developing a common framework and language to support shared understanding of the issues and challenges that need to be addressed.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Coping, Life change events, Policy development, Research, Stress management

Annotation: This report presents research findings on characteristics that are associated with adolescent resilience, describes program strategies that promote resilience, and discusses links between resilience and avoidance of risk-taking behaviors. Topics include relationships and social skills, hormonal and physical changes, self confidence, spirituality, emotional self-regulation, and overall well-being. Resources and references for additional information on resilience in adolescence is provided.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website. Document Number: Pub. no. 2013-03.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Coping, Psychological development, Psychosocial development, Resilience, Risk taking, Youth

Annotation: This guide provides information to help pediatricians support adoptive and foster families who are coping with trauma. The guide helps pediatricians identify traumatized children, educate families, and empower families; provides coding tips that pediatricians may use for evaluations involving screening and anticipatory guidance related to trauma and other mental health or developmental concerns; provides a discharge form to give to families; and includes a guide for parents about parenting after trauma.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Child development, Children, Clinical coding, Coping, Families, Family support services, Foster children, Foster parents, Mental health, Parenting skills, Screening, Trauma

Annotation: This resource is designed to help health and child welfare professionals improve comprehensive care for children and their families. Topics include the basics of trauma-informed care, what health professionals need to know and what they can do, cultural considerations, and research summaries. Contents include continuing education, client education materials, assessment tools, information about interventions, and other tools and resources.

Contact: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399, Telephone: (215) 590-1000 Web Site: http://www.chop.edu/consumer/index.jsp Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Coping, Disease, Families, Injuries, Mental health

Annotation: This brief discusses a study of a group of children younger than six who have experienced five or more residential moves to understand some of the particular demographic characteristics of this group, and to see whether they were more likely to have poor physical and/or mental health than similar children who did not experience frequent moves.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child attitudes, Child development, Coping, Parent child relations, Socioeconomic factors, Young children

Annotation: This updated fact sheet describes a continuing school-based program implemented in the Los Angeles Unified School District that was designed to help children cope with violence. Students in the program lived in largely Hispanic neighborhoods. The fact sheet provides background about the problems faced by children exposed to violence, discusses the way the program was developed and the program's results, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures in the fact sheet.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Child mental health, Children, Coping, Families, High risk children, Hispanic Americans, Low income groups, Parents, Programs, Schools, Students, Violence, Witnesses

Annotation: This resource addresses schools facing real-time crises, providing information on ways to deal with loss in a school community and how to promote a coordinated response. The toolkit provides school districts and private school associations with evidence-based programs designed to address serious childhood and adolescent distress and prevent suicide (Objective 4.2 of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention). Content includes consensus recommendations developed in consultation with school-based personnel, clinicians, researchers, and crisis-response professionals. It incorporates relevant existing material and research findings as well as references, templates, and links to additional information and assistance. Specific areas addressed in the toolkit include crisis response, helping students cope, working with the community, memorialization, social media, suicide contagion, bringing in outside help, and going forward.

Contact: American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, 120 Wall Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 363-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 333-AFSP Fax: (212) 363-6237 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.afsp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Coping, Crisis intervention, Grief, Prevention, Resources for professionals, School age children, School counseling, Schools, Students, Suicide

Annotation: This pamphlet provides guidance on how to help children cope after the unexpected loss of an infant brother, sister, or other loved one. It provides information about how children of different ages react to death and how parents and other caregivers can help them. Information about family rituals, suggestions on seeking support services, and a list of select resources are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Children, Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources to help prevent injury and death among infants in West Virginia. Topics include ways to keep infants safe while sleeping, and how to cope with frustrations resulting from frequent, constant, or inconsolable infant crying. Contents include public service announcements, videos, a one-hour training webinar, a community partners resource guide, a slide presentation, posters and brochures, a pledge form, and an information form for barbershops and laundromats. Print brochures and posters, DVDs, and erasable white boards may also be ordered from the website for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

Contact: TEAM for West Virginia Children, P.O. Box 1653, 625 Fourth Avenue, Huntington, WV 25717, Telephone: (304) 523-9587 Fax: (304) 523-9595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teamwv.org Available at no charge from the website; print materials are also available at no charge for distribution to families and caregivers in West Virginia.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Continuing education, Coping, Crying, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Public service announcements, Sleep position, State initiatives, Training materials, Unintentional injuries, West Virginia

Annotation: This brochure provides advice to grieving mothers and fathers who have lost an unborn or stillborn child. Topics include grief and bereavement, reserving the right to observe cultural beliefs in saying goodbye, considering an autopsy, funerals and memorials, and tips for coping after arriving home. The brochure is written with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Fathers, Fetal death, Grief, Mothers, Spanish language materials, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This brochure focuses on the grief of fathers who have lost a child to stillbirth. Topics include tips for addressing personal grief as well as the grief in the relationship, in the workplace, and in the future. The brochure is written with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Fathers, Fetal death, Grief, Spanish language materials, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This guide is designed to help survivors cope with the experience of losing a loved one to suicide. The guide includes practical information about coping with the loss, personal survivor stories, articles on bereavement, resource listings, and a bibliography.

Contact: American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, 120 Wall Street, 22nd Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 363-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 333-AFSP Fax: (212) 363-6237 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.afsp.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Suicide

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Together Learning to Cope (TLC) program, which provides support services to children and adolescents ages 3-18 in the mid-Michigan area in families faces with the life-threatening illness of a family member. Contents include a description of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Catastrophic illness, Children, Community programs, Coping, Families, Final reports, Mental health, Michigan, Terminal illness

Annotation: This book provides activities such as coloring, reading, and writing as a friendly butterfly gently discusses loss and grief in ways children can understand. Ages 3–8.

Keywords: Bereavement, Children', Coloring books, Coping, Death, Grief, Materials for children, Young children, s literature

Annotation: This brief review gives sources of information useful to professionals and parents who are seeking ways to help children cope with disasters and terrorism, including injury; loss of loved ones' destruction of homes, schools, and workplaces; and other trauma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Coping

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward parents who have lost a child as a result of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), focuses on how to cope with anniversaries, holidays, and other speical events after the child's dealth. The booklet provides an overview of SIDS, offers information about the types of emotions parents may face on special occasions, and offers suggestions on how to cope with these emotions. A list of resources for more information is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward families, provides guidance on how to help children deal with their feelings after an infant's death. The pamphlet provides specific, concrete information about how children of different ages react to death and how to help them. Information about seeking support services and family rituals is included. Lists of references, selected organizations that provide support and services to bereaved children, and resources to help children cope with loss are included as well. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Children, Consumer education materials, Coping, Grief, Infant mortality, SIDS