Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document outlines 12 evidence-based framing strategies that communicators in the education, justice, and civil rights sectors can use to challenge exclusionary discipline policies, build support for reducing racial disparities in disciplinary outcomes, and cultivate awareness of alternative approaches such as restorative justice and trauma-informed schools.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Communication, Discipline, Juvenile justice, Mental health, Schools, Stress, Students, Trauma

Annotation: This issue of Future of Children examines the state of the science on social and emotional learning (SEL) intervention and assessment, and related policy issues in education. The eight articles describe how to support SEL in schools and explore how SEL in schools might impact policy questions in education. Topics include SEL as a public health approach to education; SEL interventions in early childhood; promoting social and emotional competencies in elementary school; SEL programs for adolescents; SEL-focused after-school programs; SEL and equity in school discipline; SEL and teachers; and social-emotional assessment, performance, and standards.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Full Journal

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, After school programs, Assessment, Child development, Competency based education, Discipline, Elementary schools, Emotional development, Intervention, Learning, Policy analysis, Psychosocial development, Standards, Teaching, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes results from a survey of all public schools and school districts in the United States to measure student access to courses, programs, instructional and other staff, and resources that impact education equity and opportunity for students. Topics include school climate factors such as student discipline and bullying and harassment. Additional topics include restraint and seclusion, early learning, college and career readiness, chronic student absenteeism, education in justice facilities, and teacher staffing and equity.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Building, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-1100, Telephone: (800) 421-3481 Fax: (202) 453-6012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Data analysis, Discipline, Equal opportunities, Learning, Measures, Public education, Public schools, School districts, Students

Annotation: These resources are designed to help parents handle common challenges and build a safe, stable, and nurturing relationship with their child. Topics include communicating, creating structure and rules, giving directions, using discipline and consequences, and using time-out. Videos, activities for practicing positive parenting skills, and other resources are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child rearing, Communication skills, Discipline, Multimedia, Parenting education, Parenting skills, Parents

Annotation: This report presents strategies to support educators and minimize school systems' dependence on suspension, expulsion, and arrest to manage student behaviors while promoting safe and productive learning environments that improve academic outcomes for all students and reduce their involvement in the juvenile justice system. Topics include conditions for learning, targeted behavioral interventions, school-police partnerships, courts and juvenile justice, information sharing, and data collection.

Contact: Council of State Governments, 2760 Research Park Drive, P. O. Box 11910, Lexington, KY 40578-1910, Telephone: (859) 244-8000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 800-1910 Fax: (859) 244-8001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.csg.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior problems, Collaboration, Criminal justice system, Discipline, Juvenile justice, Learning, Policy development, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Risk factors, School age children, School attendance, School failure, School role, School safety, Students, Systems development

Annotation: This policy statement supports families, early childhood programs, and states by providing recommendations from the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services and Education for preventing and severely limiting expulsion and suspension practices in early childhood settings. Contents include an overview, recommendations for early childhood programs and state action. The appendices include information and resources to implement early childhood mental health consultation and positive behavior intervention and support. Resources for parents and families; programs, schools, and staff; and states are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral health, Consultation, Discipline, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Intervention, Mental health, Parent support services, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: This brief discusses the need for safe and secure schools and the role of school discipline policies such as suspension and expulsion. Topics include ways vulnerable youth are disproportionately affected; negative implications for behavioral health, academic achievement, and life success; and how adopting positive approaches to school discipline can promote social-emotional learning.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Behavior problems, Discipline, Policy development, Psychosocial development, School age children, School counseling

Annotation: This report provides information about supportive school discipline—defined as a systemic constellation of programs and practices that promote positive behaviors while preventing negative or risky ones. The report discusses cross-agency partnerships, data-driven decisions, system-wide use of evidence-based programs and practices, and engagement of parents and families as partners. For each topic, examples are provided for specific school districts. A case study of one child who benefited from supportive school discipline is also provided.

Contact: National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453, Telephone: (877) 217-3595 Fax: (617) 969-5951 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.promoteprevent.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child behavior, Discipline, Families, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Parents, Prevention, Programs, Schools

Annotation: This report provides a review of the empirical research to date on the effects physical punishment has on children. The report synthesizes 100 years of social science research and hundreds of published studies on physical punishment. The report defines physical punishment and discusses its prevalence in the United States and the status of Americans' approval for it, when it is likely to be used, research, effects on child behavior, risks, cultural perspectives, the legal status of physical punishment in the United States, human rights, and countries that have banned physical punishment.

Contact: Center for Effective Discipline, 327 Groveport Pike, Canal Winchester, OH 43110, Telephone: (614) 834-7946 Fax: (614) 321-6308 Web Site: http://www.stophitting.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Children', Corporal punishment, Cultural factors, Discipline, Families, Human rights, Legal issues, Mental health, Research, s rights

Annotation: This book provides information parents need to take care of children between the ages of 5 and 12. It designed to help the parents prepare their children for the world outside of the home. The book includes 60 chapters organized in these parts: promoting health and normal development, nutrition and physical fitness, personal and social development, behavior and discipline, emotional problems and behavior disorder, family matters, children in school, chronic health problems, and common medical problems. The book treats topics into two ways: it includes chapters which provide background information to help the parents develop a context for the problems their children face, and it contains chapters targeted to particular problems which provide specific suggestions for dealing with them. This book is the second of a three-volume series developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics and Feeling Fine Programs.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $29.95 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Behavior, Behavior disorders, Child development, Child health, Child nutrition, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental stages, Discipline, Emotional development, Family relations, First aid, Parenting, Parenting skills, Physical fitness, Psychosocial development, School adjustment, School age children

Annotation: The purpose of this research update is to provide guidance for state child care agencies as they think about revising their state child care regulations. The document provides information on 13 indicators of quality child care: (1) child abuse, (2) immunization, (3) staff child ratio and group size, (4) staff qualifications (2 indicators), (5) staff training, (6) supervision and discipline, (7) fire drills, (8) medication, (9) emergency plan and contact, (10) outdoor playground, (11) toxic substances, and (12) handwashing and diapering. The document also offers a conclusion and contains a list of references. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Contact Fax: xxx Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child care centers, Diapering, Discipline, Emergencies, Fire prevention, Handwashing, Immunization, Medicine, Playgrounds, Regulations, State agencies, Supervision, Training

Annotation: This book for expecting and new parents gives tips on pregnancy and early childhood development. It is divided into seven chapters entitled becoming a parent; nine months long; at home with your newborn; feeding baby (6 months to 2 years); keeping baby well; keeping baby safe; and your growing child. Included are various checklists for planning and discussions, keeping track of baby's health, questions for doctor visits, and supplies to have on hand. Information is designed in narrative and chart formats with extensive illustrations.

Contact: MELD, Parents as Teachers National Center, 2228 Ball Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146, Telephone: 314-432-4330 Secondary Telephone: (314) 432-4330 ext. 208 Fax: 314-432-8963 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.parentsasteachers.org $12.50, plus $5.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-9676470-0-2.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child nutrition, Child rearing, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Discipline, Infant care, Parenting, Parenting education, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Well child care

Annotation: This book, written for parents, teachers, and other caregivers of young children, is designed to show why discipline is important and how to use discipline to teach children responsibility. Emphasis is placed on negotiation and problem-solving skills. Issues covered in the book include: how good discipline enhances self-esteem; how to teach discipline with dignity and respect; how to set effective limits; and how parents and teachers can solve problems together with children.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org $14.95 plus 15 percent shipping and handling.

Keywords: Communication, Discipline, Preschool children, Psychosocial development, Self esteem, Social behavior, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses the 23 million American families with children under 13 years of age and how parents are coping with the problems of raising their children in a period of rapid social change. The focus of the study is the family unit: the parents and children. The study is designed to provide understanding, insight and statistically reliable information on aspects of parent-child relationships including discipline, health, money, nutrition, the roles of television and advertising, schools and education, the impact of working mothers, and the transmission of values from parent to child.

Keywords: Advertising, Child rearing, Children, Discipline, Education, Families, Health, Moral values, Nutrition, Parent child relations, Schools, Social values, Television, United States, Working mothers