Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a project to address the health needs of children in child care centers in the New Mexico counties of Rio Arriba and McKinley. Topics include parent and child care provider training in the areas of nutrition, oral health, physical fitness, mental health, and communicable disease prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198919.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Dental Caries, Early childhood caries, Health Promotion, Immunization, Oral Health, Preschoolers, Rural Populations

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: info@knowyourteeth.com Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: These videos provide information about oral health for children and adolescents in pre-kindergarten to grade 2, grades 3–5, grades 6–8, and grades 9–12. The videos discuss the importance of oral health, how to keep the teeth and mouth healthy, the importance of toothbrushing and flossing, and the importance of eating healthy foods and drinking water and avoiding foods and drinks high in sugar. They also explain what tooth decay and gum disease are and discuss the importance of visiting the dentist and what happens during dental visits.

Contact: San Juan Basin Public Health, 281 Sawyer Drive, Durango, CO 81303, Telephone: (970) 247-5702 Web Site: https://sjbpublichealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents, Dental care, Gingivitis, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This action plan focuses on the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition’s goals related to improving the oral health of all Louisianans. It provides direction for achieving priorities set forth by stakeholders representing individual oral health champions and multiple organizations across the state. The plan describes three oral-health-promotion interventions across the state: Well Ahead Louisiana (a chronic-disease-prevention and health-care-access initiative of the Louisiana Department of Health), school dental sealant programs, and community water fluoridation. Information about the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition is provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health promotion, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State planning

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the roles and functions of oral health professionals and other providers that make up oral health teams. Information on dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental assistants, community care connectors, and non-oral-health professionals is included. Others that may be part of an oral health team are also mentioned, including denturists, dental aides, mental and behavioral health professionals, and home health aides.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health aides, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health professionals, Home health aides, Mental health professionals, Oral health, Patient care teams

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: tn.health@tn.us Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This training provides information to help kindergarten through grade 2 teachers incorporate oral health education into their curricula, with the goal of empowering students to maintain good oral hygiene, educating them on the importance of oral hygiene and preventive oral health care, and helping build healthy habits and understand the link between oral health and overall well-being. The training comprises three sections (tabs): teacher materials, lessons, and videos. Teacher materials include handouts and a 30-minute training video. The lessons and videos sections include materials to use with students.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Videos, Curricula, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health education, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School age children, School health, Training

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information on expanding the role of dental hygienists in New York to improve access to oral health care in the state. Topics include the role of dental hygienists in providing oral health care, expanding the types of care that dental hygienists can provide, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental hygienists, New York, Oral health, Policy development, State information

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the importance of dental hygiene scope of practice (SOP). It explains what professional and legal dental hygiene SOP are and describes the benefits of a broad state dental hygiene SOP, including (1) dental hygienists being able to practice to the full extent of their training and (2) the enhancement of oral health care, especially in underserved areas.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, College of Integrated Health Sciences, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Dental hygienists, Low income groups, Oral health, State legislation, Underserved communities

Annotation: This guidance brief provides American Academy of Pediatrics members and other primary care health professionals with steps to determine a child's eligibility for tooth decay management with silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in the medical setting. Topic include why children need treatment in the pediatric medical home, advantages and disadvantages of SDF, contraindications to SDF, shared decision-making, referral, and follow up. An SDF-options diagram is included, along with steps for applying SDF.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Primary care, Referrals, Silver diamine fluoride, Treatment

Annotation: This report builds on state and national efforts to promote information, share best practices, and educate health professionals, including prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals for the benefit of patients, including pregnant women, children, and families receiving oral health care. The report introduces the issues, discusses trends, discusses national efforts and Massachusetts' efforts to address oral health among pregnant women and children, and provides information about the role of health professionals in improving oral health among pregnant women and children. Guidelines for prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Dental care, Health education, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Role, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) for managing carious lesions. Topics include what SDF is, what it does, and indications for its use; strength of evidence for the use of SDF; whether SDF is approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and contraindications for SDF use. Also discussed are other consideration for the use of SDF, recommended protocols, whether SDF can be used with fluoride varnish, other professionally applied fluorides, and dental sealants; the number of states in which Medicaid reimburses for SDF use, and who can apply SDF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease management, Older adults, Oral health, Protocols, Regulations, Special health care needs, Therapeutics

Annotation: This data report provides information about Michigan's dental sealant program, SEAL! Michigan, during the grant period October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023. Data was obtained from child-level forms submitted by grantees to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include number of students screened by gender, grade, race, and insurance status; untreated tooth decay; tooth decay experience; presence of sealants, urgency of needed treatment; referral for treatment; number of decayed or filled molars, other teeth, and primary teeth; and types of fluoride treatment provided. Also included is information about special health care needs among students screened.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screenings, Michigan, Oral health, Referrals, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing