Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (84 total).

University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine. n.d.. Project Smile. San Antonio, TX: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine, 4 modules.

Annotation: This training course for physicians comprises course instruction that includes a brief self-assessment and four modules on early childhood oral health. Module 1 defines early childhood caries (ECC) and discusses ECC prevalence, risk factors, and causes. Module 2 discusses the tooth-eruption sequence, the first oral examination, the benefits of early examinations, and the knee-to-knee oral examination. Module 3 describes the dental caries sequence, white spots, caries severity, and unusual problems. Module 4 addresses culturally sensitive care, ways to prevent ECC, anticipatory guidance, and toothbrushing technique.

Contact: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine, 7703 Floyd Curl Drive, Mail Code 7794, San Antonio, TX 78229-3900, Telephone: (210) 567-4550 Contact Phone: (210) 567-0815 Fax: (210) 567-4579 Contact E-mail: presleyt@uthscsa.edu Web Site: http://familymed.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Early childhood caries, Family physicians, Oral health, Professional development, Training materials, Young children

Surdu S, Langelier M, Fosse C, Li Q. 2020. Contributions of general and specialty dentists to provision of oral health services for people with special needs. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, 50 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to evaluate the attitudes and willingness of general and specialty dentists to treat people with special health care needs and to identify barriers that dentists face in caring for them. The report presents findings from a literature review and results and conclusions from the study.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special heath care needs, Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Dentists, Oral health, Statistical data, Studies, Training

Amah G, Jura M, Mertz E. 2019. Practice patterns of postgraduate dental residency completers from select long-term HRSA-funded primary dental care training programs. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Resource Center, 54 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to examine practice patterns of graduates of primary care dental postgraduate training programs with a history of Health Resources and Services Administration funding. The study aims were to assess the impact of graduates’ training experience on current practice patterns and subsequent patient access to care and to measure the long-term impact of these programs on improving dentists’ capacity to meet the needs of those who are underserved. The report provides background and discusses study methods, findings, and limitations. A discussion of the findings, including information about policy implications, is included.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental schools, Dentists, Graduate education, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Research

Dolce MC, Parker JL, Da Silva JD. 2018. Nurse practitioner & dentist model for primary care: A guide for implementing collaborative care in U. S. dental schools. Boston, MA: Harvard School of Dental Medicine and Northeastern University School of Nursing, 61 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides a framework for implementing the Nurse Practitioner & Dentist Model for Primary Care to integrate primary care services provided by a nurse practitioner into an academic dental practice environment. It discusses steps to take and elements to consider in the planning, implementation, and evaluation phases of initiating a collaborative-care program involving nurse practitioners and dentists. Topics include an overview of the model, getting started, program fundamentals, sustainability, and next steps.

Contact: Harvard School of Dental Medicine, 188 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Web Site: https://hsdm.harvard.edu

Keywords: Program development, Dentists, Nurse practitioners, Oral health, Primary care, Program evaluation, Service integration

Gupta N, Yarbrough C, Vujicic M, Blatz A, Harrison B. 2017. Medicaid fee-for-service reimbursement rates for child and adult dental care services for all states, 2016. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents findings from an analysis of Medicaid reimbursement rates for oral health care in all states and the District of Columbia. The brief discusses Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) reimbursement for child and adult services relative to dentists’ fees and private dental insurance reimbursement, as well as other aspects of Medic- aid FFS reimbursement, including reimbursement for adult services in states with extensive adult benefits within their Medicaid programs.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Health care costs, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Physicians, Provider participation, Reimbursement, State programs

Meeske JA, Brickhouse TH, Casamassimo P, Wright R, Litch CS, Essling M. 2017. Pediatric dentist toolkit for seeing patients with Medicaid: Changing children's lives one smile at a time. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 19 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for pediatric dentists offers guidance on providing care to children enrolled in Medicaid within a practice setting. Topics include understanding Medicaid, Medicaid coverage for dental services, why dentists should consider participating in Medicaid, and how to become a Medicaid provider. Additional topics include how to prepare a pediatric dental team to work with the Medicaid system, how to schedule clients, how to find training opportunities for team members, how to administer Medicaid, and how to locate resources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric dentists, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Screening

Illinois Department of Public Health. 2017. Antiobiotic stewardship toolkit for dental providers. Sringfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 33 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit provides dentists with resources to support judicious use of antibiotics in outpatient settings as part of the Illinois Precious Drugs & Scary Bugs Campaign. The toolkit is organized around four core elements set forth by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: commitment, action for policy and practice, tracking and reporting, and education and expertise.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: http://www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health

Keywords: Antibiotics, Illinois, Oral health, Prescription drugs, Public awareness campaigns, Dentists, State programs

Commission on Dental Education. 2016. Accreditation standards for dental education programs [rev.]. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 38 pp.

Annotation: This document delineates the standards that dental education programs leading to the D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree must meet to achieve and maintain accreditation. Contents include minimum acceptable requirements for programs and guidance on alternative and preferred methods of meeting standards. The document also provides program-development guidance for institutions that wish to establish new programs or improve existing ones.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accreditation, Dental education, Dental schools, Dentists, Oral health, Program development, Standards

American Dental Association. 2016. Supply of dentists in the U.S.: 2001–2015. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 1 v.

Annotation: This report contains data on dentists in the United States. Contents include the number of dentists by state; the number of dentists per 100,000 population; and the supply of dentists by practice, research, or administration area, as well as by age and gender.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Dentists, Oral health, Work force

University of Iowa, Public Policy Center. 2016. Dental Wellness Plan evaluation. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa, Public Policy Center, multiple items.

Annotation: These reports analyze administrative, health professional, and member survey data from a dental insurance plan for adults ages 19–64 with low incomes in Iowa. Contents include information about the plan's benefit structure and member and health professional incentives, the study populations and methodology, and interim outcomes. Topics include access to care, quality of care, cost, earned benefits, health-professional-network adequacy, health professional attitudes, and member outreach.

Contact: University of Iowa, Public Policy Center, 310 South Grand Avenue, 209 South Quadrangle, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: http://ppc.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Client satisfaction, Dental insurance, Dentists, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Model programs, Oral health, Program evaluation, Provider networks, Provider participation, State programs

Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program. 2016. 2013–2014 workforce survey of dentists report. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Department of Health, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a statewide survey of dentists in Florida. It identifies the supply of dentists practicing in Florida and examines factors related to dental practice location and career plans. The appendix provides findings on the characteristics of licensed dentists not practicing in the state, information about the survey methodology, and data figures and tables.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dentists, Florida, Oral health, State surveys, Statistical data, Work force

National Center for Health Workforce Analysis. 2015. National and state-level projections of dentists and dental hygienists in the U.S., 2012-2025. Rockville, MD: National Center for Health Workforce Analysis, 16 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents national- and state-level estimates of supply and demand for dentists and dental hygienists at baseline in 2012 and for 2025 using the Health Resources and Services Administration's Health Work Force Simulation Model. Both supply and demand projections are reported as full time equivalents. Contents include background, results, limitations, and conclusions. Topics include changes in oral health care delivery and in health systems, dentist shortages, the evolving role of the dental hygienist, and the productivity of the existing oral health work force.

Contact: National Center for Health Workforce Analysis, Health Resource and Services Administration, Bureau of Health Workforce, Rockvillle, MD Telephone: (301) 443-9256 Web Site: http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/healthworkforce Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Oral health, Productivity, Service delivery systems, Statistical data, Trends, Work force

Doescher M, Keppel G. 2015. Dentist supply, dental care utilization, and oral health among rural and urban U.S. residents. Seattle, WA: WWAMI Rural Health Research Center, 13 pp. (Report #135)

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national study to examine whether adults in rural locations compared to those in urban locations reported lower oral health care use, higher prevalence of oral disease, or both after accounting for socioeconomic and other factors. The report also provides findings on the impact of dentist supply in rural and urban areas in the United States on adult oral health care use and prevalence of oral disease.

Contact: WWAMI Rural Health Research Center, University of Washington School of Medicine, Department of Family Medicine, Box 354982, Seattle, WA 98195-4982, Telephone: (206) 685-0402 Fax: (206) 616-4768 E-mail: rhrc@fammed.washington.edu Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/uwrhrc Available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Oral health, Rural population, Socioeconomic factors, Urban population, Work force

Continelli T, Bruce C, Roberts E, Martiniano R. 2015. A profile of oral health providers in New York State. Rensselaer, NY: Center for Health Workforce Studies, 4 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This research brief provides information about the dentist and dental hygienist work force in New York state, including the concentration of dentists vs. dental hygienists, the concentration of dentists in urban vs. rural areas, the diversity of the oral health work force compared with the diversity of the state’s population, the ages of dentists and dental hygienists, and the educational attainment of dental hygienists. Sources and limitations of the data are described.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: chws@health.ny.gov Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Age factors, Cultural diversity, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Educational attainment, Health disparities, New York, Oral health, Rural environment, Urban environment, Work force

American Association of Public Health Dentistry and American Board of Dental Public Health. 2014. Competency statements for dental public health: Preamble (rev.). Portland, OR: American Association of Public Health Dentistry; Gainesville, FL: American Board of Dental Public Health, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document describes competencies for dental public health and the performance indicators by which they can be measured. Contents include background on the development of the competencies, definitions,and what a specialist in dental public health will do. Topics include planning oral health programs for populations; selecting interventions and strategies for the prevention and control of oral diseases and promotion of oral health; developing resources and implementing and managing oral health programs for populations; incorporating ethical standards in oral health programs and activities; evaluating and monitoring dental care delivery systems; designing and understanding the use of surveillance systems to monitor oral health; communicating and collaborating with groups and individuals on oral health issues; advocating for, implementing, and evaluating public health policy, legislation, and regulations to protect and promote the public's oral health; critiquing and synthesizing scientific literature; and designing and conducting population-based studies to answer oral and public health questions.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, P.O. Box 7317, Springfield, IL 62791-7317, Telephone: (217) 529-6941 Fax: (217) 529-9120 E-mail: info@aaphd.org Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Administration, Advocacy, Collaboration, Communication skills, Competence, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Dental education, Dentistry, Ethics, Health promotion, Oral health, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health dentists, Research, Work force

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health. 2014. Public health program guidance: DHEC school-based dental prevention program (upd. ed.). Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 38 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides expectations and standards for programs that enter into a memorandum of agreement with the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, School-Based Dental Prevention Program. Topics include regulatory compliance, program operation, data management and monitoring, and reporting requirements. Supporting documents and educational resources are included.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dentists, Manuals, Oral health, Regulations, School age children, School based clinics, South Carolina, State programs, Training materials

Pourat N, Choi MK. 2014. Trends in the supply of dentists in California. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 4 pp. (Health policy brief)

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of changes in demographic and practice characteristics of dentists from 2008 to 2012, as well as in the distribution of dentists in California regions. Topics include migration of dentists from California, an aging work force, and low dentist-to-population ratios in some regions of California.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: chpr@ucla.edu Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Dentists, Oral health, Policy development, State surveys, Trends, Work force

Munson B, Vujicic M. 2014. Supply of dentists in the United States is likely to grow. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 19 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief projects the number of dentists in the United States through 2033. The projections are based on a number of modeling scenarios and data. Contents include historical outflow and inflow rates, dentists' average age at retirement, number of dental school graduates per year, and various work force model projections and assumptions.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Models, Oral health, Statistical data, Trends, Work force

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2014. An analysis of 2013 health center oral health provider recruitment, retention, and job satisfaction survey results. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 45 pp. (Published September 2014. (JMB))

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of executive directors, dentists, and dental hygienists working in health centers throughout the United States to assess salaries, job satisfaction, and recruitment and retention strategies. Contents include information about survey distribution and survey response, an analysis, and survey results. The narrative also provides selected tables and figures; additional analyses and the survey instruments are included in the appendices.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 501, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (866) 316-4995 Fax: (866) 316-4995 E-mail: info@nnoha.org Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health centers, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Employment, Job satisfaction, National surveys, Oral health, Recruitment, Retention, Salaries

Al-Dajani M, Limeback H. 2014. Nutritional strategies for caries reduction. Dimensions of Dental Hygiene 12(8):30–33,

Annotation: This course for oral health professionals focuses on the role of food-consumption choices in preventing tooth decay and promoting oral health. Topics include how the consumption of fermentable carbohydrates affects dental biofilm, how changes in eating habits affect risk of dental caries, and food choices that can inhibit caries incidence.

Contact: Belmont Publications, CE Department, 3621 Harbor Boulevard, Suite 265, Santa Ana, CA 92704, Telephone: (714) 825-0988 Web Site: https://belmontpublications.com/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Continuing education, Dental caries, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Disease management, Disease prevention, Distance education, Food consumption, Health services, Nutrition, Oral health, Risk factors, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.