Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop a regionalized system of care for chronically ill children and their families. To achieve this goal, the project identified the needs of children with chronic illnesses and their families, developed a network of existing resources for this population, and established new resources. Activities included developing a network of parents, community providers, and health professionals; conducting education/training sessions for school and Title V personnel, parents, and health professionals; producing educational packets and training materials; and developing a computerized information and referral system for state MCH and school system staff. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147080.

Keywords: Chronically Ill, Coordination of Health Care, Families, Networking, Play Therapy, Referrals

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop an optimum habilitation and/or rehabilitation process for children (ages birth to 21 years) with special health needs, within Puerto Rico's Caguas Health Region. The principal outcomes of this project were the development of an electronic central register for patients with special health needs in the Caguas Health Region, and the interagency work agreement and interagency referral form, which have enabled project staff and Pediatric Center personnel to share information and coordinate services with other government service providers from central and local levels. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198901.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronically Ill, Collaboration of Care, Community-Based Health Care, Confidentiality, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Habilitation, Home Visiting, Referrals, Rehabilitation

Annotation: This project sought to reduce infant morbidity and mortality due to low birthweight, and to demonstrate a cost-effective prenatal care program which was integrated into the existing system and can be duplicated in other states. Project objectives included: reducing the incidence of low birthweight newborns in the project; reducing the incidence of women who engage in high-risk behaviors during their pregnancy; instituting a model prenatal education, counseling, referral, and followup program in physicians' offices and other sites; and enhancing the education and counseling skills of prenatal care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103258.

Keywords: Counseling, Education of Health Professionals, Education of Patients, High risk pregnancy, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Referrals

Annotation: This guide describes how Head Start and Early Head start programs can facilitate mental health screening and referrals for children and families. It explains how Head Start staff can prepare for the referrral and engage families in the process and facilitate the process once the referral has been made. A referral checklist and a guide to help facilitators locate mental health providers are included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Early Head Start, Families, Head Start Centers, Mental health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This guidance brief provides American Academy of Pediatrics members and other primary care health professionals with steps to determine a child's eligibility for tooth decay management with silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in the medical setting. Topic include why children need treatment in the pediatric medical home, advantages and disadvantages of SDF, contraindications to SDF, shared decision-making, referral, and follow up. An SDF-options diagram is included, along with steps for applying SDF.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Primary care, Referrals, Silver diamine fluoride, Treatment

Annotation: This report builds on state and national efforts to promote information, share best practices, and educate health professionals, including prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals for the benefit of patients, including pregnant women, children, and families receiving oral health care. The report introduces the issues, discusses trends, discusses national efforts and Massachusetts' efforts to address oral health among pregnant women and children, and provides information about the role of health professionals in improving oral health among pregnant women and children. Guidelines for prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Dental care, Health education, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Role, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This data report provides information about Michigan's dental sealant program, SEAL! Michigan, during the grant period October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023. Data was obtained from child-level forms submitted by grantees to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include number of students screened by gender, grade, race, and insurance status; untreated tooth decay; tooth decay experience; presence of sealants, urgency of needed treatment; referral for treatment; number of decayed or filled molars, other teeth, and primary teeth; and types of fluoride treatment provided. Also included is information about special health care needs among students screened.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screenings, Michigan, Oral health, Referrals, State information, State programs

Annotation: This survey for health professionals and staff within the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health presents questions about opinions and experiences with providing oral health care to children ages 3 and under. Selected question topics includes age of first dental visit, fluoride varnish application during dental visits, making referrals, fluoride counseling, and anticipatory guidance and education.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Counseling, Fluoride, Health care providers, Health education, Oral health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Pediatric Oral Health Interprofessional Clerkship. For this program, NYU dental students and pediatric nurse practitioner or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of children in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information on interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and discussion topics.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Infant health, Nursing, Oral health, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Prenatal Oral Health Interprofessional Experience. For this program, NYU dental students and nurse midwifery or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of pregnant women in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information about interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and suggestions to facilitate student discussion.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Nursing, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This flyer provides information on a training intended to help dental office staff understand the connection between behavioral health and oral health and their role in referring patients. The flyer presents percentages of those who completed the training who reported that it increased their confidence in having conversations with their patients and who recommended it to others. Also included is logistical information on the training, its cost, and requirements for participation.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Oral health, Referrals, Training

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This brief provides guidance on physicians' use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) to help reduce tooth decay. The brief explains what SDF is and offers reminders for physicians about SDF application. Also discussed is preparing a dental referral network and obtaining training on the appropriate use of SDF, case selection, application techniques, and risks of SDF. Link to resources on the following topics are included: becoming familiar with SDF, solidifying foundational oral health knowledge, and SDF application hands-on training.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Prevention, Referrals, Silver diamine fluoride, Training, Treatment

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the reach, patients served, and outcomes of a medical-dental integration model employed in the University of North Dakota’s Center for Family Medicine in Bismarck. The model includes offering oral health screenings, fluoride varnish application, dental referrals, and care coordination for patients in the primary care setting while also educating medical residents and direct care staff quarterly on the association between oral health and overall health.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health screening, North Dakota, Oral health, Program coordination, Referrals, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This practice referral process assessment is one of a set of seven assessments gauging aspects of the operations and services of community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The process assessment presents questions about how CHCs handle referrals. The assessments are intended to inform efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care in the CHCs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Needs assessment, Oral health, Questionnaires, Referrals, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This brief reports on the functions of a central referral system, the Help Me Grow model, as a resource for families, community-based organizations, and health care providers to connect families to a variety of services and local resources that benefit young children. Based on interviews and focus groups with parents, pediatric primary care providers, community providers, and Help Me grow local staff, the brief offers perspectives on first steps in the referral process, identifying needs, and asking for help. It is one in a series of briefs evaluating community approaches to preventing or mitigating toxic stress.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Families, Models, Referrals, Service delivery systems, Social support, Young children

Annotation: This document presents survey findings for the 50 states and the District of Columbia on reimbursement for risk assessment, oral examination, fluoride varnish, anticipatory guidance, and family oral health education. It presents information on the following topics: type of health professional, services, fees, procedure codes, delegation, age limit for services, number of varnish applications reimbursed annually, training requirement, payor, payment by Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program, and legislative approval to reimburse health professionals. Information about commercial payment and procedure codes is also included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• Excel Document

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Children, Dental care, Families, Fluorides, Health education, Infants, Oral health, Preventive health services, Referrals, Reimbursement, Risk assessment

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children