Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about the number of children in Iowa who received a required oral health screening at school during the 2022–2023 school year. The report presents information, by county, on the following categories: number of children enrolled, with valid screening certificates, with treatment needs, provider types, and with valid exemption certificates (religious or financial hardship). A key with more information about each category is included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Iowa, Oral health, School age children, Screening tests, State information

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This guide provides information about adjusting fluoride in drinking water across the state to optimal levels to improve oral health outcomes for all Idahoans. The guide introduces the issue and covers the following topics: an overview of Healthy People 2030, including its recognition that community-level interventions like community water fluoridation can help improve oral health by emphasizing healthy equity; an overview of community water fluoridation in Iowa; goals, objectives, and an action plan; and program management. Promotional resources are provided.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health services, Fluoride, Health equity, Iowa, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Crescent Community Health Center (CHC) in Iowa has implemented a care-coordination effort using community health workers as a part of the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, which supports the efforts of community health centers in Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Ohio to increase access to oral health care among children. The brief describes the CHC’s goals, activities, and accomplishments; offers background about the CHC; and discusses its plans for expansion. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Iowa, Oral health, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report presents results from a 2020 survey of senior state and territory health officials on maternal and child health (MCH) policy topics, including oral health. Selected topics include policy initiatives to address socioeconomic disparities among mothers and children, birth outcomes and early childhood, and strategies states are pursuing to advance early childhood health, including oral health, and development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Iowa, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, State initiatives

Annotation: This report provides information about I-Smile, a preventive school-based dental program that focuses on improving the oral health of Iowa’s students. The report describes the program; the services it offers, which include oral health screenings, risk assessments, dental sealant and fluoride varnish application, and classroom and individual oral health education; student and school participation in the program; and program impact.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: , Dental sealants, Fluoride, Iowa, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey of children who were enrolled and participating in Iowa’s Head Start program from February 1, 2021, through May 31, 2021. The survey was coordinated by the Iowa Department of Public Health. This report discusses the importance of oral health, presents survey methods and results, and discusses the impact of the I-Smile Dental Home Initiative on children’s oral health in Iowa.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Summary Report

Keywords: Head Start, Iowa, Low income groups, Oral health, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the I-Smile Dental Home Initiative, the goal of which is to help children in Iowa have good oral health beginning at an early age. It describes what I-Smile coordinators do and discusses the availability of preventive oral health services for children enrolled in Medicaid in Iowa and the increase in the percentage of this population that has received preventive services since the establishment of I-Smile. The state of children’s oral health in Iowa is also discussed.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about Iowa’s I-Smile Program. Topics include background, oral health in Iowa, I-Smile in practice, I-Smile @ School, a division of I-Smile that helps children access oral health care by providing oral health screenings, dental sealants, fluoride varnish, and education in elementary and middle schools during the school day. It also describes I-Smile Silver, a pilot program implemented across 10 counties in Iowa to help adults access oral health care. The report also discusses key takeaways, challenges, and next steps.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Iowa, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a toolkit developed by the Iowa WIC program to increase WIC staff knowledge of the cultural traditions of WIC clientele. The toolkit includes information to help WIC counselors recognize the food-related practices and beliefs of different cultures. It also provides suggestions for adapting counseling methods based on traditional communication styles and interpersonal behaviors, such as body language, vocal volume, distance, and touch. It provides contact information for obtaining a copy of the toolkit.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, Iowa WIC Program, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov/WIC Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Iowa, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition services, State programs, WIC program

Annotation: This report describes the process of screening children participating in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) for oral health problems, as well as the results. The report describes screening objectives, the targeted population of children, and the state I-Smile program. It also provides conclusions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health status, Iowa, Oral health, Screening, State surveys, WIC program, Young children

Annotation: This strategic plan outlines focus areas for the period 2010–2018 that are intended to increase the number of Iowans who have access to optimally fluoridated community water. The focus areas include partnerships, data collection and reporting, communication and policy, and infrastructure and system development. For each focus area, strategies and activities are presented. Outcome measures are also included.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Fluoride, Iowa, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides information about I-Smile, Iowa’s oral health program initiative for children. The report offers background information and includes information on I-Smile results; the number of children from birth through age 12 who are Medicaid recipients and who received oral health services in 2005, 2011, and 2016; and additional statistical information related to Medicaid and children’s receipt of oral health services in Iowa.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Past Editions

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health services, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This document provides information about silver diamine fluoride (SDF) and how to use it. The document presents background and discusses the efficacy and safety of SDF, requirements for applying it in Iowa, indications and contraindications for application in children and adults, how to apply SDF, and frequency of application for best results.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Fluoride, Guidelines, Iowa, Oral health, Prevention, Safety

Annotation: This brief explores how six states (Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina) have responded to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Oral Health Strategic Framework. For each state, a summary of how the state is improving access to oral health care and advancing oral health interprofessional practice is provided.

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Service Integration, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This resource shows how states that participate in the Adolescent and Young Adult Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (AYA CoIIN) are identifying and implementing evidence-based strategies to improve the quality and increase access to preventive health care visits for adolescents and young adults. Included are illustrated diagrams of strategies used by Iowa, Texas, Vermont, Mississippi, and New Mexico.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, State initiatives, Texas, Vermont, Young adults, prevention

Annotation: These reports analyze administrative, health professional, and member survey data from a dental insurance plan for adults ages 19–64 with low incomes in Iowa. Contents include information about the plan's benefit structure and member and health professional incentives, the study populations and methodology, and interim outcomes. Topics include access to care, quality of care, cost, earned benefits, health-professional-network adequacy, health professional attitudes, and member outreach.

Contact: University of Iowa, Center for Social Science Innovation, 605 E. Jefferson Street, Social Sciences Research Building, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: https://cssi.research.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Client satisfaction, Dental insurance, Dentists, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Model programs, Oral health, Program evaluation, Provider networks, Provider participation, State programs

Annotation: This report describes the services and impact of a school-based dental sealant program to pre- vent oral disease and improve the oral health of children in Iowa. The program provides students with onsite screening, sealants, fluoride varnish, education, and care-coordination services. Topics include trends in the number of children who were screened, the number of children who received sealants, the number of sealants placed, and the number of counties served. The report also documents the number of cavities averted due to program services and gives an example of a success story.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Financing, Fluorides, Health status, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, School age children, School health services, Screening, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report discusses the oral health status of Iowa's children. Statistical data are included from Medicaid, oral health surveys, school-based dental sealant programs, public health dental hygienist services, oral health program summaries, needs assessments, and input from forums held around the state. Topics include children enrolled in Medicaid, dental services being utilized, the Iowa Access to Baby and Child Dentistry (ABCD) program, access to services through Title V, and summaries of topics from regional oral health forums. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Environmental Scan Reports

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental sealants, Families, Iowa, Oral health, Population surveillance, School based clinics, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends