Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster shows two Star Wars characters in a futuristic setting. The legend reads: "Parents of earth, are your children fully immunized? Make sure - Call your doctor or health department today. And may the force be with you."

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Immunization, Posters

Annotation: This poster of a baby lists nine diseases that are prevented by childhood immunizations, and advises the viewer to have babies fully immunized by age two.

Keywords: Immunization, Posters

Annotation: The goal of this demonstration project was to develop and implement a comprehensive health and safety curriculum in child day care settings to improve the health status of children. A comprehensive educational program was developed and presented in the day care setting with a positive parenting component, a children's component, and a day care worker component. This educational curriculum demonstrated positive changes in child health indicators, day care environment, and safety, and increased knowledge of child development, health, and safety issues on the part of parents and day care workers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-182811.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Child safety, Health Education, Immunization, Parents, Preschoolers, Rural Populations, Urban Populations

Annotation: This report describes a project to address the health needs of children in child care centers in the New Mexico counties of Rio Arriba and McKinley. Topics include parent and child care provider training in the areas of nutrition, oral health, physical fitness, mental health, and communicable disease prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198919.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Dental Caries, Early childhood caries, Health Promotion, Immunization, Oral Health, Preschoolers, Rural Populations

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help health professionals address the unique health care needs of adolescents and young adult males (AYAs) ages 10 to 26. Contents include a checklist covering nine health domains; client interview questions and supporting materials for each domain including background information, practice tools, and references; and a video library containing presentations for continuing medical education and client education. Topics include healthy eating and physical activity, sexual and reproductive health, trauma, mental health, developmental disorders, sexual biologic basics, normal pubertal concerns and genital abnormalities, and labs and immunizations. A tutorial is also available.

Contact: Partnership for Male Youth, 900 Second Street, N.E., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20002, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.partnershipformaleyouth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Adolescent males, Comprehensive health care, Continuing medical education, Evidence based health care, Health examinations, Immunizations, Interviews, Medical history taking, Men', Screening, Young adults, s health

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This web page describes the Vaccines for Children Program (VFC )-- a federally funded program offered through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that provides vaccines free of charge to children who otherwise may not have been able to afford the vaccines. Eligibility, the types of vaccines covers, and vaccination locations are among the topics covers.

Contact: National Center for Health Research , 1001 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 1100 , Washington, DC 20036,

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Immunization program

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: The schedules posted on this web page indicate the recommended ages for routine administration of currently licensed vaccines, as of February 1, 2012, for children. Any dose not administered at the recommended age should be administered at a subsequent visit, when indicated and feasible. Schedules for appropriate vaccination administration include: hepatitis; influenza; measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR); pneumococcal, as well as by age: persons aged 0-6 years, persons aged 7-18 years, and ages 4 months-18 years who start late or who are more than 1 month behind.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Birth-6

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Immunizations

Annotation: This report describes various factors that have contributed to a decline in childhood vaccination rates and examines actions that policymakers can take to reverse declining routine childhood vaccination rates and strengthen health equity. The ecommendations include boosting resources for immunization programs through the federal Vaccines for Children and Section 317 programs; increasing vaccine reimbursement to cover costs associated with vaccination; countering vaccine disinformation through effective messaging; and tightening and reinforcing school vaccine requirements.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Childhood health, Disease prevention, Immunization, Policy development, Trends, Vaccinations

Annotation: This resource provides links to information sources describing the need for increasing childhood immunization levels, together with strategies and reminder systems that providers can adopt to increase coverage in their own practice.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Immunization, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Vaccines

Annotation: This policy brief evaluates the receipt of vaccines routinely recommended during pregnancy in rural and urban areas of the United States. Specifically, it analyzes the receipt of influenza and pertussis vaccines among pregnant women over a seven-year period from 2012-2018. Findings show that pregnant women in rural areas were significantly less likely than pregnant women in urban areas to receive a recommendation for influenza vaccination from their health care provider and were less likely to receive an influenza vaccine during pregnancy. Overall, the percentage of women who received a pertussis vaccine in rural areas during pregnancy was similar to the percentage of pregnant women who received one in urban areas. The policy brief also presents the implications for these findings.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Immunization programs, Immunizations, Influenza, Pregnant women, Rural health, Rural populations, Urban health, Urban populations, Vaccines

Annotation: The issue brief highlights strategies that have proven to be effective in immunizing children against diseases such as measles and resulted in significant reductions in certain vaccination rate disparities. It explains how evidence-based strategies from this pre-existing vaccination playbook can be implemented to vaccinate children widely and equitably during the COVID 19 pandemic and beyond.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Immunization, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This report offers recommendations to address challenges to achieving equity in immunization and other system, policy and environmental barriers that result in differential receipt of vaccinations and refers specifically to vaccines recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) for use in the United States for routine preventive care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Health equity, Immunization, Prevention

Annotation: This visual aid guides clinicians in discussions with patients and parents about the importance of vaccines, the diseases they help prevent, and the various vaccines recommended. The chart includes infographics and clinical images to help illustrate why vaccines remain important in preventing diseases. Vaccines covered include influenza, varicella (chickenpox), human papillomavirus infection, polio, meningitis, and much more. The chart also includes information for health care professionals about the origin and nature of the diseases and current recommendations for vaccine schedules.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Communicable diseases, Guidelines, Immunization, Infant health

Annotation: This resource provides messages and graphics to help spread awareness about catching up on childhood immunizations during the novel coronavirus, or COVID-19, pandemic during National Immunization Awareness Month in August. These materials are for the general public.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Immunization, Media campaigns

Annotation: This guide to the first five years of life gives parents and caregivers comprehensive guidance on essential baby and childcare topics including breastfeeding, immunizations, sleep, and much more. All of the advice, including the complete health encyclopedia, has been fully revised and updated to reflect current AAP policy

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Child care, Child development, Child health, Childbirth, Children, Developmental stages, Emergencies, First aid, Immunization, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Parenting

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Prevention, Screening, Trends, Vaccines, Virus diseases, Women', Young adults, s health

Annotation: This web page outlines the effectiveness of home visiting programs to increase vaccination rates. Included is a summary of findings from a systematic review conducted by the Community Preventive Services Task Force. Supporting materials and a list of considerations for implementation are also provided.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Home Visiting, Immunization, Vaccinations

Annotation: This book contains guidelines developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics for the management and prevention of infectious diseases in children. The book focuses on active and passive immunization; guidelines for care of children in special circumstances including breastfeeding, out-of-home child care, hospitalized children, and internationally adopted children; over 100 infectious diseases; and antimicrobial therapies. These recommendations were derived from consensus among representatives from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Food and Drug Administration, the National Institutes of Health, the National Vaccine Programs, and the Canadian Paediatric Society. Updated editions are available online for a subscription fee.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Contact for cost information.

• Online Version Requires Subscription

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Child health, Communicable diseases, Guidelines, Immunization, Infant health