Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These protocols for emergency medical technicians and hospital personnel in North Carolina provide guidelines for triage, transport, and treatment of children who have suffered traumatic injuries or have life threatening conditions. The protocols are grouped in two sections; the first contains prehospital paramedic protocols; and the second contains hospital treatment protocols. The first section also includes guidelines for transport. The individual protocols are presented as flow-charts with the critical procedures indicated for each step in caring for the child. Conditions include: multiple trauma, head trauma, newborn resuscitation, poisoning, and seizures, among others. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine, 1000 Blythe Boulevard , Charlotte, NC 28203, Telephone: (704) 355-3658 Fax: (704) 355-7047 E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Hospital emergency services, Hospital personnel, Injuries, North Carolina, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) for managing carious lesions. Topics include what SDF is, what it does, and indications for its use; strength of evidence for the use of SDF; whether SDF is approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and contraindications for SDF use. Also discussed are other consideration for the use of SDF, recommended protocols, whether SDF can be used with fluoride varnish, other professionally applied fluorides, and dental sealants; the number of states in which Medicaid reimburses for SDF use, and who can apply SDF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease management, Older adults, Oral health, Protocols, Regulations, Special health care needs, Therapeutics

Annotation: These guidelines for dental hygienists provide information on returning to work during the COVI -19 pandemic. Topics include COVID-19 testing before opening a dental office, work environment, patient preparation, special considerations for providing dental hygiene care, personal protective equipment (PPE), donning and doffing PPE, and disinfection. For each section, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance is included. A COVID-19 patient screening questionnaire and a dental hygienist readiness to return to work questionnaire are also included.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: This framework provides health care systems with information about delivering health care during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides key considerations for health care delivery, including care for dental emergencies, with links to additional information. A table that lays out a system for delivering health care by potential for patient harm and degree of community transmission, including examples, is provided.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: This guidance discusses infection prevention and control for oral health settings during the COVID19 pandemic. Topics include patient management, facility considerations, equipment considerations, administrative control and work practices, and engineering controls. Additional topics include hygiene, universal source controls, using personal protective equipment, sterilizing and disinfection, considerations for additional precautions or strategies for treating patients with confirmed or suspected COVID-19, considerations for use of test-based strategies to inform patient care, monitoring and managing staff, and education and training.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: These recommendations discuss health services that can be deferred, such as non-emergent, elective, and preventive health services for patients, during the COVID-19 pandemic. The following considerations for providing care are offered: ability to implement telehealth, virtual check-ins, and/or remote monitoring; personal protective equipment availability; staffing availability; medical office/ambulatory service location capacity; community testing capability; health and age of each individual and their risk for severe disease resulting from COVID-19 infection; and urgency of treatment or service.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases, telehealth

Annotation: This guidance for dental office staff is intended to help prevent COVID-19 transmission. It addresses the following topics: elimination, engineering controls, administrative controls, safe work practices, and personal protective equipment (PPE). Flexibility related to Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) PPE requirements and prioritization of PPE during the COVID-19 pandemic are discussed, along with differences between OSHA prevention guidance and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommendations.

Contact: U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Office of Information and Consumer Affairs, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room N-3647, Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (202) 523-1452 Fax: Web Site: http://www.osha.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Protocols, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: This reference manual provides information about operating a dental public health program in Virginia. Topics include patient care, community program operations, dental sealant program operations, professional development, and resources. Contents include agreements, guidelines, plans, procedures, protocols, standards, surveys, trainings, and videos. Some resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Program descriptions, Protocols, Public health dentistry, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Virginia

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist school officials in understanding how human trafficking impacts schools; recognizing the indicators of possible child trafficking; and developing policies, protocols, and partnerships to address and prevent the exploitation of children. Topics include child sex trafficking, child labor trafficking, deconstructing perceptions and a victim-centered approach, risk factors and predictors, what to do about suspected trafficking, recruitment, impact on learning environment, and community involvement. The guide contains a sample protocol for school districts and describes U.S. government entities combating human trafficking, publications and resources, training, services, and terms and definitions.

Contact: National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-5000 Fax: (202) 403-5001 Web Site: http://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child labor, Child sexual abuse, Community action, Learning, Policy development, Protective factors, Protocols, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, School age children, Schools, Training

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist school administrators and others in protecting and improving indoor air quality (IAQ) in schools during building upgrades, particularly energy efficiency upgrades and building renovation activities. Contents include fundamental principles of IAQ, the business case for integrating energy efficiency and IAQ, and assessment protocols and recommended actions. Topics include project planning and integrated design; moisture and mold; hazardous materials; indoor and outdoor contaminants and sources; heating, ventilation, and air conditioning; and safety. The appendices contain information about project planning and developing a project team, communication and education, and worker protection. A master verification checklist is also included.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20460, Telephone: (202) 272-0167 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Assessment, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Planning, Protocols, Safety, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This screening protocol for primary care providers discusses mental health screening options and available tools, administration of the screening tool and how it is presented, evaluated, and addressed with the patient; how to respond to a positive screen; and where to refer patients who need additional treatment, support, or services.

Contact: Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies , The Montana Coalition, 318-320 N Last Chance Gulch #2C, Helena, MT 59601, Telephone: (406) 449-8611 E-mail: [email protected]

• PDF

Keywords: Mental health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Primary care, Protocols, Referrals, Screening

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This tool kit is designed to help hospitals adhere to the Advanced Trauma Life Support protocol by creating a checklist that can be used during pediatric trauma resuscitation. Contents include information on the benefits of checklists and guidance on how to modify, use, and implement the checklist. Additional content includes information on barriers to using the checklist, a flowchart, answers to frequently asked questions, a list of resources and references, a glossary, and acronyms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Advanced pediatric life support, Guidelines, Hospitals, Protocols, Trauma care

Annotation: This resource provides information and tools related to Head Start monitoring, including the onsite review protocol (in English and Spanish), video and slides from a grantee webcast, and monitoring guides. The guides are organized by reviewer roles and evidence-collection methods. In each guide, the evidence collected is linked to compliance indicators and frameworks within the protocol. Topics include management systems and program governance, fiscal integrity, staff and child file, family and community engagement, child health and safety, and child development and education.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Guideline adherence, Head Start, Manuals, Multimedia, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This manual provides data use collection instruments used in a national cross-site evaluation of home visiting programs. It includes protocols from site visits; a protocol for interviews on system change activities, along with a sample logic model; a survey of partners; an instrument for collecting data on program fidelity; and an instrument for a web-based time use survey.

Contact: FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention, Chapel Hill Training Outreach Project, 800 Eastowne Drive, Suite 105, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Web Site: http://www.friendsnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Home visiting, Maltreated children, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Protocols, Surveys

Annotation: These protocols on conducting an autopsy for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) from the Arizona Department of Health Services consist of a list of physical factors to observe when conducting an external examination of a deceased infant. It lists specific parts of the anatomy to examine, as well as general appearances and development of the infant, and whether or not there is evidence of any therapeutic intervention or external injury. Observations checklists are provided under each of fifteen broad areas to be examined during the SIDS autopsy.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Autopsy, Protocols, SIDS

Annotation: This manual describes the strategic framework developed by the U.S. Office of Minority Health (OMH) to guide and organize the systematic planning, implementation, and evaluation of efforts to improve racial and ethnic health disparities and effect systems approaches to such problems. Guided by this framework, the manual provides evaluation planning steps to be addressed by OMH grant applicants/awardees and others engaged in minority health or minority health disparities-related programmic efforts. It discusses the importance of identifying and defining the problem; specifying any best or evidence-based practices proposed in project interventions; identifying outcomes, impacts and performance measures; tying outcomes and measures to long-term goals and objectives; developing a logic model for the proposed project and activities; obtaining appropriate evaluation expertise and determining evaluation types and methods; and developing a data collection plan. Appendices include a glossary of terms; examples of types and sources of data to guide planning; Healthy People 2010 racial- and ethnic-specific objectives that have not been met; OMH performance measures for grantees; a logic model template, worksheet, and completed logic model; types of evaluations; a data collection plan template; sample data collection forms; and answers to frequently asked questions.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center, P.O. Box 37337, Washington, DC 20013-7337, Telephone: (800) 444-6472 Secondary Telephone: (301) 251-1432 Fax: (301) 251-2160 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/omh/browse.aspx?lvl=1&lvlid=3 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Ethnic groups, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Federal agencies, Federal grants, Guidelines, Minority groups, Planning, Protocols

Annotation: This report form serves as a master checklist for those performing an infant death investigation in the state of Arizona. Included are detailed questions and check box responses related to the infant, parents or other primary caregiver(s), and the caregiver at the time of death (including their relationship to the infant, history of substance use, and childcare background). The form includes questions about the caregiver's first response to the death; the appearance of the infant when found; the physical surroundings at the time of death; and other circumstances surrounding the incident. Included are numerous check boxes related to the infant's sleep environment. The form also includes questions and checklists related to the child's birth and recent medical history. The additional document is an introduction to the checklist and a set of recommendations regarding death scene investigations and officer demeanor.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website.

• Form
• Introduction

Keywords: Arizona, Cause of death, Death, Death scene investigation, Forms, Infant death, Protocols, State initiatives

Annotation: This compendium summarizes state laws, regulations, and other activities relevant to addressing domestic violence (DV) in health care settings. Topics include DV fatality review, mandatory reporting of DV to law enforcement by health professionals, insurance discrimination against victims of DV, health care protocols addressing DV, screening for DV by health professionals, and training on DV for health professionals. Information on state public health programs and funding opportunities is also provided.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Domestic violence, Fatality review, Health care, Legal responsibility, Legislation, Medical condition reporting, Protocols, Public policy, Regulations, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This paper contributes to the evaluation of a new protocol for the multi-agency investigation of sudden unexpected death in infancy (SUDI) that was introduced by the United Kingdom government in April 2006. The paper discusses the concept of the police investigation of infant deaths and the main differences between the investigations of adult vs. child deaths. The paper introduces the issue, discusses a literature review that was conducted, and covers the following topics: (1) history of SUDI investigation until 1999, (2) the emergence of police guidance, (3) the effect of public and judicial concern, 1999-2004, (4) the impact of the Victoria Climbie inquiry, (5) the Kennedy Report and the new protocol, (6) anatomy of a police sudden death investigation, (7) evaluation and analysis of chapter 7 of Working Together (child-protection guidance document used by police, health professionals, and social services professionals in England and Wales), and (8) conclusions and the future. A biography of the author and references are included. The paper includes four appendices: (1) respondent sample, (2) example interview schedule, (3) working group members, and (4) methodology.

Contact: British Association for the Study and Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect, 17 Priory Street, York, England Y01 6ET, Telephone: 44(0) 1904 613605 Fax: 44(0) 1904 642239 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.baspcan.org.uk Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child death, Evaluation, Infant death, Investigation, Literature reviews, Protocols, Research, SIDS