Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These toolkits for consumers and employers provide information to address the challenges of low income wage earners returning to work while continuing to breastfeed. Contents include five individual toolkits. A toolkit for mothers provides information on how to talk with supervisors, coworkers, and child care providers and how to store and handle breast milk, as well as checklists, tips, sample schedules, and food ideas. A toolkit for family members explains the role grandparents and partners play while dispelling myths that can be held by others, and how to give support and care for a breastfed infant. Additional toolkits are designed to help employers comply with state and federal laws; offer guidance for mothers and employers on interpreting the laws and resources; and provide sample letters and policies.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (866) 881-2809 E-mail: dohweb@health.state.ny.us Web Site: http://www.health.ny.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employer initiatives, Legislation, Low income groups, New York, State programs, Supported employment, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This report presents findings on the state of women's and family health benefits in the workplace based on two surveys conducted in October-November 2024. It addresses challenges facing employees and employers, including rising healthcare costs, burnout among working parents, and increased anxiety around reproductive health. The report highlights how companies are responding through expanded benefits, with 69% planning to increase family health benefits vendors in the coming years. It discusses the benefits of offering comprehensive women's and family health support, including improved employee retention and reduced healthcare costs. The report includes specific statistics on employer and employee priorities, testimonials from benefits leaders, and guidance for designing effective family benefits programs. Sections cover topics such as fertility support, parenting challenges, men's reproductive health, and the role of digital health solutions in improving outcomes.

Contact: Maven Clinic , , New York, NY 10013, E-mail: https://www.mavenclinic.com/contact Web Site: https://www.mavenclinic.com/

• Link

Keywords: Employer health costs, Family support services, Health Benefits Plans, Employee, Insurance benefits, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Reproductive health services, Statistics, Surveys, Trends, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: This issue brief outlines Action 5.3 from Goal 5 of the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focusing on increasing awareness of workplace benefits and protections for pregnant and postpartum women, particularly around breastfeeding support. It discusses the importance of workplace accommodations like private lactation spaces and break times, examines disparities in breastfeeding rates across demographic groups, and presents evidence-based strategies for improving workplace support through legislation, employer policies, and educational initiatives. The document includes data on breastfeeding rates, state policies, and successful intervention programs, while highlighting persistent challenges in workplace support for lactating employees.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This document describes complementary approaches to helping schools build healthier environments. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment, health education, physical education and other physical activity programs, nutrition services, health promotion staff, and family and community involvement. Through an assessment tool and a customized action plan, the framework is designed to help schools work toward the Alliance for Healthier Generation's National Healthy Schools Award.

Contact: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, c/o The Clinton Foundation, 1271 Avenue of the Americas, 42nd Floor, New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (888) KID-HLTH E-mail: info@HealthierGeneration.org Web Site: https://www.healthiergeneration.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Community participation, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health education, Health promotion, Model programs, Nutrition services, Parent participation, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Safety, School age children, School health, School health programs, Schools, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This report provides state- and district-level data on each of the following eight components of the Coordinated School Health (CSH) model: health education, physical education, health services, mental health and social services, nutrition services, healthy and safe school environment, faculty and staff health promotion, and family and community involvement. Screenings, notifications, and referrals for oral health problems are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Community participation, Data sources, Family school relations, Health education, Health services, Mental health, Nutrition services, Physical education, Policy analysis, Prevalence, Prevention programs, Safety, School age children, School health, School health programs, Schools, Social services, Trends, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This report presents findings on catalysts that could speed progress in obesity prevention. The report identifies five critical areas for change, including (1) environments for physical activity, (2) food and beverage environments, (3) message environments, (4) health care and work environments, and (5) school environments. Recommendations and strategies for their implementation are offered in each of these five areas.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-22154-2.

• Link
• Report Brief

Keywords: Health care, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, School health, Trends, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines breastfeeding provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and discusses how maternal and child health programs can use the ACA to strengthen breastfeeding efforts for women. Topics include breastfeeding support, counseling, and equipment, as well as reasonable break time and appropriate space in the workplace. Sources and selected resources for further information are provided.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health care reform, Legislation, State MCH programs, Women, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This toolkit outlines opportunities that employers have to improve the health of children and adolescents (from birth to age 21) and women (preconception, pregnant, and postpartum periods). Topics include health benefit design, beneficiary education and engagement, and health promotion programs. Recommendations related to minimum dental benefits, cost-sharing arrangements; and other information pertinent to plan design and administration are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children, Cost effectiveness, Employee benefits, Infant, Multimedia, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: This report provides the Surgeon General's recommendations for preventing obesity. The report provides background on obesity and discusses opportunities for prevention for individuals and families, in child care, at schools, in the workplace, and in communities.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: surgeongeneral@hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Communities, Families, Health, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Schools, Workplace, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the break time requirement in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act for working women who are breastfeeding. Topics include general requirements, time and location of breaks, coverage and compensation, and where to obtain additional information.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (866) 4-USWAGE Secondary Telephone: (866) 487-9243 Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/whd/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Federal legislation, Regulations, Work family issues, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This monograph examines the impact of child and adolescent behavioral health disorders on the workplace by direct and indirect costs, its epidemiology in the U.S., and treatment and cost trends. It also describes the state of child and adolescent behavioral health treatment and makes recommendations to employers on how to better address this challenge with adjustments to their health plan and to their workplace culture.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior disorders, Children, Employee benefits, Health insurance, Mental health, Workplace health promotion, Youth

Annotation: This 5-piece resource kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging businesses and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation support programs for their employees. The five components include 1) a business case for breastfeeding; 2) easy steps to supporting breastfeeding employees; 3) a toolkit with resources for building a lactation support program; 4) an employees guide to breastfeeding and working; and 5) an outreach marketing guide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Costs, Economics, Family support programs, Infant health, Policy development, Women', Working mothers, Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: This report presents a review of policy, strategy, and program recommendations to create healthy eating and active living environments. Topics include (1) how safe neighborhoods, communities, and buildings support physical activity; (2) making fresh, local, and healthy food available; (3) promoting healthy foods and beverages; (4) offering only healthy foods and beverages at school; (5) promoting physical activity at school and before and after school; (6) promoting healthy foods and beverages and physical activity at work, (7) promotion of healthy eating and active living by health professionals and health care organizations; (8) promotion of healthy eating and active living by the government and the private sector; (9) promotion of healthy eating and active living by those who influence the entertainment and information environments; and (10) offering only healthy foods and beverages and promoting physical activity at child care institutions.

Contact: Convergence Partnership, PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: http://www.kintera.org/site/lookup.asp?c=fhLOK6PELmF&b=3930101 Web Site: http://www.convergencepartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Communities, Food consumption, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Programs, Public policy, Schools, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This guide is for employers interested in health improvement, regardless of whether the company is looking to design a new program altogether or thinking about options to improve or expand existing programs. It provides the following: (1) information on the structure of health improvement programs, (2) the business case for health improvement, (3) examples of best practices, and (4) the means for evaluation. A summary is provided as well as tips and resources for employers. References are also included.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Fiscal management, Models, Program development, Program evaluation, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This document is the proceedings of the maternal and child health forum held by the Washington Business Group on Health in 2000. It includes background material, summaries from regional discussion groups on maternal and child health care delivery, and general discussion outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Employer initiatives, Federal MCH programs, Health care delivery, Local MCH programs, Public health, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This issue brief addresses the importance of family planning in women's health care, reasons employers should cover family planning services in their employee health insurance plans, and employer concerns.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Contraception, Corporate programs, Cost effectiveness, Counseling, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Family planning, Health insurance, Infant health promotion, Pregnancy counseling, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health promotion

Annotation: This report describes efforts large corporations in the United States have made to improve the health of the mothers who work for them and that of their children. It profiles innovative practices and analyzes the bottom line results of some corporate programs, and it spotlights the major features of other programs. The report also includes a tips for successfully initiating maternal and child health programs in other corporations. It also lists of the corporations profiled and cites useful resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Contact Phone: (202) 408-9320 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: info@businessgrouphealth.org Contact E-mail: jacobson@wbgh.com, or kolarek@wbgh.com Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Corporate programs, Cost effectiveness, Infant health, Prenatal care, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This loose-leaf notebook contains articles, pamphlets, and reports that discuss the corporate world's attitudes, perceptions, and policies on maternal and child health. Topics include the length of stay in hospitals for mothers and infants following birth, breastfeeding in the workplace, women as mothers and parents within the workplace, and school health and school issues. Other topics include health promotion in the workplace, worksite wellness, assuring the quality of health plans, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), and other business issues such as managed care, medical savings accounts, and health purchasing cooperatives. The materials were prepared for the January 1996 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication Interorganizational Work Group. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Child health, Employee benefits, Health policy, Hospitalization, Insurance, Length of stay, Managed care, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy development, Prenatal care, Quality assurance, Retirement, School health, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This guidebook is designed to help employers understand the business rationale behind preventing unhealthy births, and to design and implement a maternal and infant health strategy that works for companies of varying sizes. The guidebook explains how to assess maternity and infant care costs, and it describes health care and other benefits that support maternal and infant health. It includes worksheets and sample programs from several companies.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Contact Phone: (914) 997-4515 Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $95.00 plus $4.00 shipping and handling or $110.00 plus $4.00 if order includes companion Infant Health Strategy Worksheets on computer disk.

Keywords: Employee benefits, Infant health, Maternal health, Prenatal care, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This directory lists 112 federal programs and 35 federally supported clearinghouses and information centers whose activities are relevant to school health. Each entry provides information on the area of emphasis, target groups, program profile, materials, and information contact.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Child development, Child nutrition, Children, Clearinghouses, Comprehensive programs, Counseling, Curricula, Driver education, Federal government, Federal programs, Health and safety education, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Nutrition programs, Physical fitness, Resources for professionals, Safety, School based clinics, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, Substance abuse, Training, Workplace health promotion