Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (1,329 total).

MetroHealth Medical Center, Pediatric Service Coordination Program. n.d.. Working with your health insurance. Cleveland, OH: MetroHealth Medical Center, Pediatric Service Coordination Program, 16 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides information and forms to help families work with their health insurance companies. It includes questions to ask the insurance company and billing office, tips for keeping records of bills and claims, and who to talk with for assistance. A glossary of terms and list of publications on health insurance are included. Resource organizations in Cuyahoga County and the state of Ohio are also listed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Health care financing, Insurance, Medical records

McManus M, Kelly R, Newacheck P, Gephart J. n.d.. The role of Title V maternal and child health programs in assuring access to health services for adolescents. Washington, DC: McManus Health Policy, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the results of a 1989 survey of state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs and children with special health needs (CSHN) programs with respect to their roles in serving adolescents. The publication brings together the results of adolescent health initiatives from both MCH and CSHN perspectives in order to examine how these programs might be better coordinated and strengthened. The survey revealed that most Title V-supported programs routinely bill Medicaid (and, to a lesser extent, private insurance) for some services. Limited revenues are received from insurance due to inadequate billing capacity, the type of services offered by Title V programs, and low reimbursement from Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Child health, Insurance, Maternal health, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Special health care needs, Title V

Western Pennsylvania Caring Foundation. n.d.. Public/private partnerships: A working model for children's health care. Pittsburgh, PA: Western Pennsylvania Caring Foundation, 1 videotape (VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape describes the Caring Program for Children and the Children's Health Insurance Program (Blue Cross/Blue Shield's BlueCHIP program) in Pennsylvania. It depicts the health care needs of children living in poverty and children of the uninsured working poor who do not qualify for Medicaid assistance, and explains the unique funding of this collaborative program. Appearances by Fred Rogers of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood" and by local medical and government officials underscore the need for this type of program, the reasons for its success, and the ways that public and private resources can join together to help ensure access to primary health care for children. The videotape concludes with a television clip describing the program on NBC's "America Close Up." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Pennsylvania, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Videotapes

Newacheck P. n.d.. Improving Health Insurance Coverage for Adolescents: Analysis, Dissemination, and Technical Assistance [Final report]. San Francisco, CA: Institute for Health Policy Studies, 12 pp.

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Heighten awareness of adolescent health insurance problems and potential solutions among policymakers, health care professionals, educators, business groups, and parents; (2) strengthen State-level capacity to plan and implement strategies for improving financing of health services for adolescents; and (3) update and expand our knowledge base concerning the financing of health services for adolescents. Activities included conducting workshops, providing technical assistance, and publishing reports and educational materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161536.

Keywords: Adolescents, Data Collection, Education of Health Professionals, Financing Health Care for Adolescents, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Minorities

Camic N. n.d.. Families in the Changing Health Care Marketplace [Final report]. Madison, WI: Center for Public Representation, 21 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to assist in the formation of a collaborative effort involving the government, providers, private payers, and families in order to reconcile the operational difficulties of achieving health care cost containment while retaining quality, access, and family-centeredness. The project sought to: develop approaches to health care financing that are sensitive to the needs of families with children who have special health care needs; assist families with special health care needs in dealing with financial problems which pose barriers to obtaining appropriate health services; and disseminate information regarding financing of care for children with special health care needs. Family health benefits counselors assisted approximately 1600 over the course of the project by conducting intake interviews, informing families about health care financing options, assisting in completing applications and/or filing appeals or denials of public or private benefits and facilitating negotiations with medical creditors. Consultation with legal backup and referral for legal intervention were distinguishing aspects of the project. Benefits counselors and project attorney worked with state and county administrative and regulatory agencies, private insurers and health care providers and associations to resolve systemic problems. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199156.

Keywords: Advocacy, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Family health, Financial Counseling, Financing Health Care, Health Insurance, Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs), Medicaid, Reimbursement

Ruderman M. 2020. Children's vision and eye health: A snapshot of current national issues (2nd ed.). Chicago, IL: National Center for Children's Vision & Eye Health at Prevent Blindness, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: info@preventblindness.org Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2020. Children's health insurance program overview. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 1 v.

Annotation: This website provides information about the history and current status of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), including information about coverage for pregnant women. State examples and additional resources about federal and state CHIP policy are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal initiatives, Legislation, Policy development, Pregnant women, State programs

Le C, Burroughs M. 2020. Improving pregnancy-related oral health coverage would bolster maternal health, reduce health care costs. Washington, DC: Families USA, 3 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health to women’s and children’s overall health and discusses the benefits of making comprehensive oral health coverage a guaranteed part of pregnancy-related Medicaid coverage. Other topics include the importance of oral health coverage to mothers’ and children’s well-being, the contribution of oral health disparities to disparities in maternal health outcomes, and variations in pregnancy-related oral health coverage by state.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Women's health

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2020. State Medicaid & CHIP telehealth tooklit: Policy considerations for states expanding use of telehealth (COVID-19 version). Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 2 items.

Annotation: This toolkit provides states with statutory and regulatory infrastructure issues to consider as they evaluate the need to expand their telehealth capabilities and coverage policies. It covers (1) patient populations eligible for telehealth, (2) coverage and reimbursement policies, (3) providers and practitioners eligible to provider telehealth, (4) technology requirements, and (5) pediatric considerations. This toolkit also includes a compilation of frequently asked questions (FAQs) and other resources available to states. An accompanying checklist of policy questions serves as a tool for states to assess telehealth in their state.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Medicaid, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Children's Dental Health Project. 2019. Medicaid dental guidance to states: An opportunity to aim for equity. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to assist advocates in capitalizing on information in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report explains why the bulletin is important and discusses opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Access to health care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State agencies

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2019. Dear medical director [Contest non-payment for fluoride varnish application]. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 2 pp.

Annotation: This template letter is designed for pediatricians or pediatric practices to place on their own letterhead for use in appealing denials for coverage of and payment for fluoride varnish application by pediatricians. The letter provides an explanation for why such denials are inappropriate, including that they violate the intent of current procedure terminology (CPT) guidelines and Affordable Care Act requirements.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Fluoride, Health Insurance, Oral health, Oral health care, Prevention, Primary care

Eke C, Mask A, Reusch C, Vishnevsky D, Quinonez RB. 2019. Coverage brief: Improving access to oral health care in pregnancy. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 4 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the status of dental coverage during pregnancy, using data related to Medicaid dental coverage available to pregnant women in each state as of September 2019. Topics include the impact of a woman’s oral health during pregnancy and after birth, barriers to accessing oral health care during pregnancy, oral health coverage for pregnant women through state Medicaid programs, and available data about oral health coverage for pregnant women through Medicaid.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Statistical data

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2018. Medicaid adult dental benefits: An overview [upd.]. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet identifies key challenges related to oral health care access and utilization for adults with low incomes, including pregnant women, and outlines states’ coverage of dental benefits for adults who participate in Medicaid. It also suggests opportunities for states to increase oral health care coverage and access for this population. The fact sheet includes an overview of Medicaid adult dental benefits.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health insurance, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2018. About the Technical Assistance and Analytic Support Program. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 1 p. (Medicaid/CHIP health care quality measures)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a program to support states in collecting, reporting, and using datafrom three core sets of quality measures in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Topics include technical assistance and analytic support vehicles such as issue briefs, fact sheets, analytic reports, and toolkits; one-on-one support; virtual learning opportunities; and hands-on information and networking opportunities.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Data analysis, Measures, Medicaid, Medical home, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Technical assistance

U.S. Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services. 2018. Aligning dental payment policies and periodicity schedules in the Medicaid and CHIP programs. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicare Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This bulletin discusses the importance of state Medicaid programs and Children’s Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) properly implementing dental periodicity schedules to ensure children’s access to dental coverage. Topics include background on tooth decay in children, dental coverage for children enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, proper implementation of dental periodicity schedules, and state action to ensure dental periodicity and fee schedule alignment and flexibility.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State programs

Fish-Parcham C. 2018. Treating pain is not enough: Why states' emergency dental benefits fall short. Washington, DC: Families USA, 12 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This document presents information from a survey conducted by Families USA of 14 states that cover emergency-only oral health services. Selected topics include what can be learned from states that offer emergency-only coverage, how responding states’ dental benefits differ, states in which managed-care plans provide adults with extra offerings, costs to states of paying for emergency department visits when appropriate oral health services are not available, the limited availability of alternative oral health care resources for adults, and the inadequacy of emergency-only dental care for individuals with serious medical conditions.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency medical services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, State programs, Surveys

Phipps K. 2018. MI Head Start Smiles 2017-2018: The oral health of Michigan's Head Start children. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, 25 pp.

Annotation: This document discusses the oral health status of a representative sample of children enrolled in Head Start throughout Michigan. The document provides an overview of the importance of oral health for children and dental benefits available to children in the state who are Medicaid recipients. Key findings about children enrolled in Head Start in Michigan are presented in five topic areas: decay experience, untreated decay, need for urgent oral health care, dental sealants, and prevalence of tooth decay and of dental sealants among children ages 3–5 enrolled in Head Start in Michigan compared to all U.S. children in this age range.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental insurance, Head Start, Low income groups, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, State programs, Young children

Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2018. Oral health screening survey of third grade schoolchildren in Ohio, 2017-18. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 11 pp.

Annotation: This data brief reports results of an oral health screening survey of children in third grade conducted by the Ohio Department of Health during school year 2017–2018. The brief presents overall findings and discusses disparities in oral health; access to oral health care; impact on access to oral health care and insurance status on oral health status; percentage of children with a history of tooth decay, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in Ohio vs. in the nation as a whole; and survey results compared with Healthy People 2020 objectives. The significance of the findings is also discussed. Statistical data is provided, and a description of study methods is included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-4180 Fax: (614) 564-2421 E-mail: BCHS@odh.ohio.gov Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health insurance, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance

MaineHealth. [2017]. Perinatal oral health assessment. Portland, ME: Before the First Tooth, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information for health professionals about how to administer a perinatal oral health assessment for pregnant women during the initial appointment. Topics include advising pregnant women about oral health care, oral health questions to ask pregnant women, and insurance status. The document also defines “dental caries” and “dental abscess” and provides signs to look for to determine whether pregnant women may have either or both. Photographs illustrating how to conduct a visual examination are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: info@fromthefirsttooth.org Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Health insurance, Health screening, Maine, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Radley DC, McCarthy D, Hayes SL. 2017. Aiming higher: Results from the Commonwealth Fund scorecard on state health system performance–2017 edition. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, annual.

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.