Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy statement provides pediatricians with evidence-based information on caring for adolescents who are hospitalized for acute or chronic illnesses. The statement describes the impact that hospitalization may have on the development and emotional progress of teenagers and discusses the importance of confidentiality between patients and medical teams. Topics include adolescent hospital admission demographics, access to staff with adolescent health expertise; the hospital setting and design of services; staff interaction with patients and families; issues related to bias and institutional/systematic racism; and the transition from pediatric to adult care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Policy Statement
• Clinical Report

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: This clinical report provides pediatricians evidence-based information on the developmentally appropriate, comprehensive clinical care for hospitalized adolescents, including those who may have learning, intellectual, or developmental disabilities. Topics addressed include opportunities and challenges when caring for specific hospitalized adolescent populations and the evaluation of patients' ability to participate in their own care and assent to decision-making. The companion policy statement, "The Hospitalized Adolescent, includes descriptions of adolescent hospital admission demographics, personnel recommendations, and hospital setting and design advice, as well as sections on educational services, legal and ethical matters, and the transition to adult facilities.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Clinical Report
• Policy Statement

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of the Kids' Inpatient Database (KIDS), a publicly-available all-payer pediatric inpatient care database containing data from pediatric discharges that can be used to estimate hospitalizations. The database is a federal-state-industry partnership to inform decision-making at the national, state, and community levels. Contents include an overview of the KID and information about KID data elements, areas of research and publications, multi-year or trend analysis, and purchasing and hardware and software requirements.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 07N94A, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (866) 290-HCUP E-mail: hcup@ahrq.gov Web Site: http://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Data analysis, Databases, Hospitalization, Public private partnerships, Trends

Annotation: This study examines and compares payments made to hospitals, clinicians, and other service providers for maternal and newborn care, including the costs associated with specific services according to source of payment. The study analyzes charges and payments made in states across the country and presents average costs for cesarian and vaginal births, neonatal intensive care services, and costs associated with laboratory, pharmacy, radiology, anesthesiology, and other services. Included are detailed comparisons of costs based on the source of payment (whether Medicaid, an employee-sponsored commercial insurer, a second insurer such as a union, or out-of-pocket) and the amounts billed, the amounts approved, and the amounts paid by individuals. Key findings are summarized in tables, which include data from selected states. Also provided are lists of top medical diagnoses of newborns admitted to Neonatal Care Units.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: info@nationalpartnership.org Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Childbirth, Comparative analysis, Costs, Health care costs, Hospitalization, Maternal health services, Neonatal intensive care, Newborn infants, Research, Statistics

Annotation: This report presents recent data on trends in asthma prevalence, health care encounters, and mortality. Topic include differences in prevalence by age, sex, income, race, ethnicity, and demographics; rates of asthma health care encounters in primary settings, emergency departments, and hospitals; death rates; and death rate differences by sex, race, and age.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Asthma, Death, Emergency room data, Ethnic factors, Health care, Hospitalization, Income factors, Mortality, Primary care, Racial factors, Sex factors, Trends

Annotation: This brief presents data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project Nationwide Inpatient Sample on pregnancy and childbirth hospitalizations with complicating conditions in 2008. The brief provides information on hospital and client characteristics for the following types of hospital stays: complicated pregnancy during which no delivery occurred, delivery with complicated pregnancy or delivery, and delivery without any mention of complicated pregnancy or delivery. In addition, the report provides information on specific types of complicating conditions of pregnancy and delivery.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Hospitalization, Pregnancy complications, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This statistical brief presents data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project on hospital stays for children in 2009 with comparative information from earlier years. Topics include distribution by age and by payer, most common specific conditions for children's admissions, and most common hospital procedures received by children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Child health, Hospitalization, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report quantifies the overall costs of health care services for having a baby, including all prenatal care services, delivery-related services, and postpartum services for the mother. To quantify these costs, the authors analyzed health care claims data for a large group of individuals with employer-sponsored health insurance to understand health spending on maternity-related professional service, hospitalization, laboratory, imaging, drugs, and out-of-pocket costs. The report provides an overview of the study methodology, including a description of the data sources, a definition of the study population, the process used to identify maternity-related services, the analyses that were conducted, and results. An abstract is included. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Diagnostic imaging, Hospitalization, Laboratories, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prescription drugs, Research

Annotation: This statistical brief presents data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project on childbirths occuring in U.S. community hospitals in 2003. All data are reported from the maternal perspective (i.e., reflecting the experience of the mother, not the newborn). Variations in the utilization and costs associated with childbirth-related hospitalizations are illustrated with a focused look at differences across mode of delivery and payer type. The brief presents findings and provides definitions. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables at the end of the brief. The brief also includes a highlights section.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Communities, Costs, Health care utilization, Hospitalization, Statistical data

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to help readers better understand the impact of gaps in the health care safety net by presenting the views of those who have experienced the gaps firsthand. The report, which focuses on seeking medical care, discusses what happens when a chronic problem needs urgent attention, filling prescriptions, and searching for affordable hospital care. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes a conclusion, a discussion of the methodology, and endnotes.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Hospitalization, Low income groups, Prescription drugs

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the impact of multiple chronic conditions on people with asthma. The fact sheet (1) provides information about the incidence of multiple chronic conditions among people with asthma, (2) discusses the impact of multiple chronic conditions on health care spending, hospitalization rates, and health care utilization, and (3) discusses the concept of the medical home. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet.

Contact: Partnership for Solutions, Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health, Hampton House, 624 North Broadway Room 301, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 614-6059 Fax: (410) 955-2301 E-mail: info@partnershipforsolutions.org Web Site: http://www.partnershipforsolutions.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Asthma, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health care costs, Health care utilization, Hospitalization, Medical home

Annotation: This fact book presents an overview of children and adolescents in U.S. hospitals, providing insight into the types of conditions for which they are hospitalized, the types of procedures they receive, who is billed for the stays, the resources associated with their hospital stays, and where they are discharged to when they leave the hospital. The fact book begins with an overview of hospital care for children and adolescents overall and compares information about children and adolescents to information about adults. It then provides more detailed information about three major subgroups of pediatric hospital stays: (1) neonatal stays, (2) stays for other pediatric illness, and (3) stays for adolescent pregnancy and delivery. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the fact book.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58763-137-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Child health: Adolescent health, Children, Costs, Hospitalization, Hospitals, Infant health, Infants, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal morbidity

Annotation: This report answers questions about hospital care for women such as (1) In what ways do hospitalized women differ from hospitalized men? (2) What are the most common reasons for hospitalizations? (3) For what preventable conditions are women hospitalized? (4) Who is billed for various types of hospital stays? And (5) What are the patterns of hospital care for pregnancy and delivery? Topics include age, charges, length of stay, in-hospital deaths, insurance coverage, and obstetric care. Statistical data are provided throughout the report in chart and table formats. The sources of data and report methods are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care utilization, Hospital services, Hospitalization, Pregnant women, Statistics, Surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This report focuses on maternal and child health statistics for the Russian Federation and the United States. The report covers a broad range of health measures including the following: prenatal care, pregnancy complications, abortion, method of delivery, birth order, births to unmarried women, births by age of mother, infant mortality, maternal mortality, child mortality by age group, immunizations, morbidity in the Russian Federation, hospitalization in the United States, and communicable diseases. The report also includes a discussion of data quality issues to assist in understanding limitations in the accuracy, coverage, or comparability of the information presented. A background section provides a brief description of the organization of each country's health care system, as well as an outline of national guidelines for the provision of maternal and child health care. The report also contains 24 tables covering population size, prenatal and obstetrical care, abortions, natality data, breastfeeding practices, mortality data including causes of death, immunization rates, communicable diseases, and other morbidity measures. The report provides additional detail, when available, for key subgroups of each population: In the Russian Federation, data are presented for urban and rural regions; in the United States, for black and white racial groups. In the final section of the report, a glossary of terms provides additional detail on differences in definitions between the two countries.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: PHS 99-1486.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Child health, Child health services, Child mortality, Childbirth, Communicable diseases, Health statistics, Hospitalization, Immunization programs, Infant health services, Infant mortality, Maternal age, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Maternal mortality, Morbidity, Pregnancy complications, Premarital pregnancy, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Rural population, Russia, United States, Urban population, Vital statistics

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to present a descriptive analysis of hospital discharges for Virginia children and adolescents aged 0 to 19 years, using 1995 hospitalization discharge data. This report presents the causes of hospitalization for the children and youth of Virginia and the geographic patterns of those hospitalizations. The hospital discharges included in this study were selected because they are among the most frequent and expensive non-newborn discharges. The objectives of the study are to describe the most frequent and expensive conditions for which children and adolescents (excluding newborns) are hospitalized in Virginia; to examine and describe the distributions of discharge conditions according to the characteristics of locality, age, gender, race, and insurance status; and to examine and describe charges associated with child and adolescent discharges in Virginia. The report does not include those hospitalizations of Virginia young people that occurred outside Virginia. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Division of Child and Adolescent Health, James Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, Eighth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7685 Fax: (804) 864-7722 Web Site: http://www.vahealth.org/childadolescenthealth/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Hospitalization, Virginia

Annotation: This report explores the effect of health insurance coverage on children's access to health care. Prepared in response to a Congressional request, this report also discusses whether expanding publicly funded insurance improves children's access to health care and what barriers, in addition to lack of insurance, may deter children from obtaining health care. The findings of the report are the result of a literature review covering the past ten years, generally based on analyses of large national surveys. The report includes references.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-98-14.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child morbidity, Children, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health insurance, Health promotion, High risk children, Hospitalization, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Preventive health services, Primary care, Primary care, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This loose-leaf notebook contains articles, pamphlets, and reports that discuss the corporate world's attitudes, perceptions, and policies on maternal and child health. Topics include the length of stay in hospitals for mothers and infants following birth, breastfeeding in the workplace, women as mothers and parents within the workplace, and school health and school issues. Other topics include health promotion in the workplace, worksite wellness, assuring the quality of health plans, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), and other business issues such as managed care, medical savings accounts, and health purchasing cooperatives. The materials were prepared for the January 1996 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication Interorganizational Work Group. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Child health, Employee benefits, Health policy, Hospitalization, Insurance, Length of stay, Managed care, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy development, Prenatal care, Quality assurance, Retirement, School health, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This book provides a historical background and analyzes current trends in the hospitalization of children and adolescents; it provides caregivers and families information and advice on the topic. It includes statistics on the incidence of hospitalized children and adolescents and the personnel who care for them. The following topics are addressed, among others: communication between staff and parents, play, preparing for hospitalization, emotional factors, pain, life-threatening conditions, cooperation with prescribed treatments, surgery, and stress among caregivers.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: custserv@oup.com Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-19-262357-7.

Keywords: Adolescents, Caregivers, Children, Coping, Families, History, Hospitalization, Parent professional relations, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This study reports on site visits made in order to evaluate the delivery of private sector managed care and private sector service provision for children with mental and emotional problems. The sites included for-profit and non-profit service providers. The report discusses the delivery of mental health care under the medical model, paid for by private health insurance, with a focus on acute episodes, contrasted to the public sector's development of a care delivery system. Appendices include site visit reports, values and principles for the system of care, a list of advisors and reviewers, qualified nominated organizations, and the private system of care questionnaire.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: childrensmh@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html $10.00 includes shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Health insurance, Managed care, Mental disorders, Mental health services, Psychiatric hospitalization

Annotation: This report presents the results of a study on the numbers and characteristics of boarder babies and abandoned infants in the U.S. Many of the infants are born either infected with the HIV virus, or have been prenatally exposed to illegal substances. Boarder babies are likely to be discharged into the care of their biological parents or other alternative care setting. Abandoned infants are not likely to be discharged from the hospital into the care of their parents. The costs associated with the care of these infants are also investigated.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abandoned children, Boarder babies, Drug affected infants, HIV, Hospitalization, Infants, Infants, Institutionalization