Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

Pendley. n.d.. Native American Adolescent Injury Prevention Project: [Final report]. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Health and Environment Department (HED), 12 pp.

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the rate of unintentional injuries and deaths among Native American adolescents in New Mexico and the Southwest. Specific goals were to: (1) Improve existing data bases on deaths and disabilities from unintentional injuries among Native American teens; (2) improve culturally relevant injury prevention materials and methodologies for these teens; (3) improve the knowledge, attitudes, and prevention practices regarding unintentional injuries among this population; (4) increase the availability of injury prevention materials and methodologies in Native American junior and senior high schools; and (5) increase the quality and quantity of injury prevention services provided to these teens by health care and tribal agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199206.

Keywords: Southwestern United States, Adolescents, American Indians, Data Bases, Indian Health Service (IHS), Information Clearinghouses, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Mortality

U.S. Office of Minority Health, Center for Linguistic and Cultural Competence in Health Care. 2014. Cultural competency program for oral health professionals. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Minority Health, Center for Linguistic and Cultural Competence in Health Care, 1 item.

Annotation: This course is designed to provide oral health professionals and other health professionals with the knowledge and skills they need to promote cultural and linguistic competence in oral health care. The program consists of three modules that address the fundamentals of culturally and linguistically appropriate oral health care, providing culturally and linguistically appropriate oral health care, and culturally and linguistically appropriate communication and messaging.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Communication skills, Competency based education, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Culturally competent services, Federal initiatives, Health services, Oral health, Standards, Training

U.S. Office of Minority Health, Center for Linguistic and Cultural Competence in Health Care. 2004–. Think cultural health. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Minority Health, Center for Linguistic and Cultural Competence in Health Care, 3 courses.

Annotation: These resources for health professionals are intended to promote cultural and linguistic competence in health care. Contents include continuing education programs and tools to help health professionals provide respectful, understandable, and effective services. Information on standards in specific areas, such as oral health and state legislative initiatives, is provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Communication skills, Competency based education, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Culturally competent services, Federal initiatives, Health services, Oral health, Standards, Training

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1997, 2000. National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health: A research center of Georgetown's Public Policy Institute—Leadership and resources for the MCH community since 1982. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 6 pp.

National Mental Health Association. 1995. Getting started: The NMHA directory of model programs to prevent mental disorders and promote mental health. Alexandria, VA: National Mental Health Association, 133 pp.

Annotation: This directory describes 39 model programs in mental health care, aimed at prevention of mental or emotional disorders or promotion of mental health. The Directory states that each program listed is based on sound research, has been evaluated, is of sufficient duration and intensity to produce change, is well run, and has a well-defined focus and target population. Each listing gives the program title, person to contact, goal, target population, description of the program, evaluation, and training available for those who would like to use the program in their school or community. Appendices include a table comparing the programs' features and a list of resources.

Contact: Mental Health America, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor , Alexandria, VA 22311, Telephone: (703) 684-7722 Secondary Telephone: (800) 969-6MHA Contact Phone: (800) 969-6977 Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net Document Number: Item no. 307.

Keywords: Advocacy, Clearinghouses, Mental disorders, Mental health programs, Prevention programs, Program planning

Pickett, OK, Clark EM, Kavanagh LD, eds. 1994. Reaching out: A directory of national organizations related to maternal and child health. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 190 pp.

Annotation: This directory provides information on more than 850 organizations concerned with maternal and child health issues. The directory lists national organizations by the following subject areas: public health programs and services, infant health, child health, adolescent health, women's health, school health, nutrition, injury and violence prevention, services for children with special health needs, and chronic illnesses and disabilities. The publication includes both a subject index and an organizational index. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG047; ISBN 1-57285-001-9.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Directories, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Self help clearinghouses

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Federal Interagency Ad Hoc Committee on Health Promotion Through the Schools. 1992-. Healthy schools: A directory of federal programs and activities related to health promotion through the schools. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, annual.

Annotation: This directory lists 112 federal programs and 35 federally supported clearinghouses and information centers whose activities are relevant to school health. Each entry provides information on the area of emphasis, target groups, program profile, materials, and information contact.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Child development, Child nutrition, Children, Clearinghouses, Comprehensive programs, Counseling, Curricula, Driver education, Federal government, Federal programs, Health and safety education, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Nutrition programs, Physical fitness, Resources for professionals, Safety, School based clinics, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, Substance abuse, Training, Workplace health promotion

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, National Health Information Center. 1991-. National health observances. Washington, DC: National Health Information Center, annual.

Annotation: This publication provides an annual listing of special months, weeks, or days that promote particular health concerns. The presentation varies yearly; some use a chronological list for each month; some are displayed as calendars, and some use both formats. The chronological lists include the sponsoring organization's name, address and phone number, contact name, and types of materials that are available to promote the event. The lists are occasionally supplemented by information on federal health information centers and clearinghouses, and toll-free phone numbers providing access to health information. The publication has been issued as part of the Healthfinder series, as a special issue of "Prevention Report, " and as a separate document.

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Available at no charge.

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Federal programs, Health observances, Health promotion, Hotlines., Resource centers

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1985-1989. Reaching out: A directory of national organizations related to maternal and child health. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, irregular.

Annotation: This directory provides information on over 800 organizations that are concerned with maternal and child health issues. The directory lists national organizations by subject area: public health, infant health, child health, adolescent health, women's health, school health, nutrition, injury and violence prevention, special health needs, and chronic illness. A list of professional medical organizations is included along with subject and organization indices. The 1985 directory has a slightly different title: "Reaching Out: A Directory of Voluntary Organizations in Maternal and Child Health" and lists fewer organizations. The 1994 edition is listed under its editors, Pickett, O. K., et al. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Out of print. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC040 (1989), MCHA328 (1985); ERIC ED 308 986.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Directories, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Self help clearinghouses
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.