Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief analyzes health care coverage and eligibility of noncitizens (lawfully present and undocumented immigrants, including pregnant women and children) compared with the entire population of the United States. It compares uninsurance rates based on demographics such as age, race and ethnicity, gender, education, and employment status and also looks at the eligibility of uninsured noncitizens ffor Marketplace premium tax credits, Medicaid, and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) in both Medicaid expansion and nonexpansion states.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care , Barriers, Health insurance, Immigrants, Migrants, Undocumented immigrants, uninsured persons

Annotation: This report is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. The report provides information about MSHS programs, oral health in the programs, and the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Health Center Program. Topics include Head Start, oral health, oral health care, financing oral health care, and planning.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include screenings, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations and mental health interventions, racial/ethnic and linguistic diversity, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Families, Farm workers, Federal programs, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Migrants, Pregnant women, Statistics, Young children

Annotation: This report examines demographic data and other research findings to focus on common challenges among immigrant children. Contents key findings and background; definitions; information about refugees and those seeking asylum, undocumented children apprehended by Border Control, and children of unauthorized immigrants; threats to migrant children's well-being, including family instability, health, education, and economic security; public assistance available to international child migrants; and recommendations and resources.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Immigration, Migrants, Public assistance, Refugees, Risk factors, Trauma

Annotation: This tip sheet for Head Start and child care staff provides tips on how to communicate with parents from various cultural backgrounds, especially parents who are refugees, about improving their child’s oral health. The tip sheet discusses cultural considerations to keep in mind when talking to families and lists important points about oral health to mention. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child care, Consumer education materials, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Families, Head Start, Migrants, Oral health, Refugees, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report examines differences in poverty rates for children in immigrant families compared to children from native families. It uses the official poverty measure; a second measure that takes into account the costs of housing, food, other necessities, transportation for work, and federal income/payroll taxes; and a third measure that adds the costs for formal child care and early education. This report argues the accuracy of the official poverty measure and contains extensive data.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Data, Migrants, Poverty, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This paper summarizes how the recent influx of immigrant and refugee children has changed the dynamics of classrooms in America, describes the impact of the refugee and immigration experience on students, and examines the role of the family and how to partner with families for improved student mental health. It also presents summary descriptions of 15 model programs developed by the Caring Across Communities grant initiatives.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Demography, Families, Family school relations, Mental health, Migrants, Model programs, School age children, School role

Annotation: This paper summarizes (1) the health needs of immigrant children and refugee youth; (2) the issues to consider when determining the quality and suitability of screening and assessment measures; (3) existing tools and measures that have been developed to screen refugees and immigrants; and (4) existing measures and issues to consider when conducting comprehensive assessments with these populations. It also describes processes that, in the absence of tools, can be used by practitioners and researchers who care for immigrant and refugee youth.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Ethnic factors, Mental health, Migrants, School age children, Screening, Screening tests

Annotation: This analysis examines opportunities and challenges in addressing Medicaid eligibility and enrollment for children of migrant and seasonal farmworkers. It examines Medicaid portability, that is, the ability of Medicaid to follow children from one state to another. The analysis presents an overview of Medicaid eligibility and enrollment and approaches to increasing Medicaid enrollment and portability for children in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs, using Head Start programs as a mechanism for identifying and enrolling children in Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health services, Eligibility determination, Enrollment, Farm workers, Head Start, Medicaid, Migrant health programs, Migrants, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes data on health care system use by immigrants, non-citizen immigrants, and undocumented immigrants including health care as a motive for immigration, insurance rates, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program coverage, care expenditures for immigrants vs. citizens, and emergency room use.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Migrants, Statistics

Annotation: This report describes oral-health-promotion strategies developed by Early Head Start, Head Start, and Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs. The report discusses Oral Health Initiative planning and design, identifying grantees for site visits, using the RE-AIM (Reach, Effectiveness, Adoption, Implementation, and Maintenance) analysis, and implementation experiences.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal grants, Final reports, Head Start, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Migrants, Models, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This report describes oral-health-promotion models developed by Early Head Start, Head Start, and Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs to meet the needs of the populations and communities they serve. Topics include the target population and community needs, goals and design, community partners, staffing structure, and services provided through the Oral Health Initiative.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Early Head Start, Families, Federal grants, Head Start, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Migrants, Models, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Young children

Annotation: This Web site is designed to improve health outcomes of migrant and seasonal farmworkers in California by providing a secure, online personal health record that can be accessed electronically by health care providers in different communities. The Web site provides information for consumers on being an active care consumer, obtaining health insurance, and on using the personal health record. Stories of individuals who have benefitted from MiVIA and news stories are included. The site is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: MiVIA, Telephone: (707) 935-4880 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mivia.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Farm workers, Medical records, Migrants, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of migrant and seasonal farm workers and the health challenges they face and considers options for improving their health coverage and access to care. The brief, which includes an executive summary, discusses the study approach, provides a profile of farm workers and their families and of health centers that serve them, discusses barriers to Medicaid coverage in this population, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Families, Farm workers, Medicaid, Migrant health, Migrant health centers, Migrants

Annotation: This report synthesizes Head Start oral health forum participant suggestions for strategies for addressing oral health concerns of special populations enrolled in Head Start programs in Region XI and Region XII. The populations are identified as American Indian-Alaska Native and migrant and seasonal farmworkers. Topics include (1) an overview of the Head Start Bureau and Maternal and Child Health Bureau oral health partnership, (2) the special population forums, and (3) an overview of the special populations and their regions, including oral health care services available and cultural considerations. Additional topics include priority issues and strategies, including prevention, education, access to care, and cross-cutting recommendations. A brief conclusion completes the report. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, American Indians, Conferences, Families, Farm workers, Final reports, Head Start, Migrants, Oral health, Region XI, Region XII, Strategic plans, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a study of migrant and seasonal farm workers in Chester and Adams counties, Pennsylvania. Topics include how the study population is defined and characteristics of the study counties and Pennsylvania's migrant and seasonal farm workers. The study methodology is detailed and results are discussed including demographic characteristics, food choices and influences on food choices, dietary acculturation, food sufficiency practices, and nutrition education. Focus group and key informant interviews are summarized and discussion of barriers to achieving good nutrition, meeting health care needs, and participation in food assistance programs are highlighted. Additional discussion provides conclusions and policy considerations.

Contact: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 200 North Third Street, Suite 600, Harrisburg, PA 17101, Telephone: (717) 787-9555 Fax: (717) 772-3587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ruralpa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Farm workers, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Migrants, Nutrition, Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Social services

Annotation: This monograph focuses on the lack of information for farmworkers about oral health and their lack of access to preventive or restorative oral health services. Topics include a review of access to fluoridated water, improved oral hygiene, and the application of sealants to the teeth of farmworker children; case studies of oral health access and poor dental outcomes in several states; and causes of high early childhood caries rates among low-income and migrant children from families.

Contact: National Center for Farmworker Health, 1770 FM 967, Buda, TX 78610, Telephone: (512) 312-2700 Fax: (512) 312-2600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncfh.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Early childhood caries, Families, Farm workers, Low income groups, Migrant health, Migrants, Oral health

Annotation: This report traces the development of the Farmworker Women's Health Project in 1991. It focuses on the founding conference, the first meeting of the steering committee, and two subsequent conferences that focused on farmworker women and AIDS. The report describes events at each of the meetings that contributed to the formulation of the policy recommendations contained in the report. These recommendations cover specific health issues that are important to farmworker women such as AIDS, health, housing, exposure to pesticides, and wages and working conditions. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Farmworker Justice Fund, 1126 16th Street NW, Suite 270, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 293-5420 Fax: (202) 293-5427 Web Site: http://www.fwjustice.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Blacks, Conferences, Employment, Farm workers, Housing, Mexican Americans, Migrants, Policy development, Public health, Puerto Ricans, Women, Women', s health

Annotation: This report examines the threat that AIDS/HIV is having on the migrant worker and farmworker population in the United States, particularly those of women and children. It is designed to raise awareness for public policy officials and health providers of the issue of AIDS/HIV in farmworkers and to recommend specific action steps to address the problem. The report presents a broad overview of AIDS/HIV and farmworkers, shows the result of a survey conducted to analyze the situation, and offers recommendations and conclusions.

Contact: National Migrant Resource Program, 1515 Capitol of Texas Highway South, Suite 220, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-7682 Price unknown.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Migrant health, Migrants, Surveys

Annotation: This report summarizes the findings of a selective inspection of the experiences and challenges in providing expanded services to migrants in Head Start programs. The report gives a brief overview of regular Head Start programs, indicates how Migrant Head Start services vary from them, and considers the expansion in those services between 1990 and 1992 with respect to plans for expanding all Head Start programs. It presents the findings of the inspection of six migrant grantees and provides recommendations for revising the management of the Head Start programs to accommodate the needs of the migrant services. The report includes an appendix containing comments from the U.S. Administration on Children and Families in response to the draft version of the paper.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/ Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal programs, Head Start, Migrants, Program evaluation