Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: Project Copernicus, a dual-State initiative for Maryland and Virginia, developed, demonstrated, and evaluated training programs in family-centered service coordination with target groups of professional service providers and parents in urban, rural, and suburban areas of Maryland and Virginia. Project Copernicus demonstrated how to provide family-centered care for families with children with special health needs by assisting both parents and professional service providers to develop and use family-centered service coordination activities (case management). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121859.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, CSHCN, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination of Health Care, Disabled, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, Parent Education, Parents, programs

Annotation: This project was a partnership between families and their medical home to develop a demonstration model for care coordination for environmentally at-risk infants and toddlers in low-income culturally diverse urban and rural settings. The families were being served as part of the eligible population under P.L. 99–457, with an individualized family support plan (IFSP) developed for each family. The target population included many families of different ethnic origins. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133969.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Children with Special Health care Needs, Cultural Diversity, Families, Family Centered Health Care, Family Support Programs, Hawaiians, Health Promotion, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Low Income Population, PL 99-457, Parents, Preschool Children, Primary Care, Rural Population, Service Coordination, Urban Population

Annotation: This report provides information on the link between poor oral health and chronic disease and on efforts of the National Association of Chronic Disease directors (NACDD) to develop a national framework for medical-dental integration (MDI) and discusses NACDD's work with five states (Colorado, Connecticut, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Virginia) on projects whose purpose was to document successful approaches for increasing the effectiveness of state oral health and chronic disease collaborations with dental clinics and community providers to screen for chronic conditions such as hypertension, pre-diabetes, and diabetes. Each project is discussed, along oral health outcomes for each state and future directions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Connecticut, Diabetes, Hypertension, North Dakota, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, South Carolina, State programs, Virginia

Annotation: This two-part policy tool is designed to support a facilitated process for state oral health stakeholders to collectively make decisions about priorities based on suggested criteria. It also provides a planning checklist to move forward strategically. Part one assists state oral health programs in assessing opportunities for socio-political, policy, and systems change. It considers scientific data collection, professional judgment, community input, and feasibility in needs assessment and policy development to improve oral health resources and services. Part two focuses on developing policy actions or systems-development plans to take advantage of or create new opportunities to advance the public’s oral health. The guidebook contains a series of templates that can be reproduced and adapted to meet specific project needs. This tool was previously issued as "The policy tool guidebook: Steps for creating a successful oral health policy tool session" (2009).

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Community coordination, Health policy, Manuals, Needs assessment, Oral health, Public health programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides guidance for developing and implementing a school-based or school-linked mobile or portable oral health program. It discusses challenges and strategies for overcoming these challenges. Selected challenges discussed include workforce considerations; state dental practice acts, legislation, and other regulations limiting the provision of oral health care; community opposition; infrastructure issues; and infection-control issues. Strategies include program planning, developing policies and procedures, community engagement and education, care coordination, developing business plans and budgets, and implementing quality measures and evaluation.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Health programs, Infection control, Legislation, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program planning, Quality assurance, Regulations, School health, Service coordination

Annotation: This report provides information on a life course approach to oral health that focuses on the oral-systemic interactions upon which a medical-dental integration (MDI) model can be built. The report offers an over- view of the bidirectional nature of oral and systemic diseases across different life phases and how integrated health care delivery can improve access to care and health outcomes. It also discusses gaps in, challenges to, and barriers to creating integrated models and provides recommendations for improving the future of MDI.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care delivery, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 1.14 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focused on expanding capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders. The document examines evidence-supported interventions for addressing perinatal depression, including universal screening protocols, psychiatric consultation services, and care coordination support. It presents current data on the prevalence and disparities in maternal mental health screening and treatment across different populations and geographic areas, with particular attention to racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic factors. The brief outlines specific state-level innovations being implemented to improve maternal mental health care, such as Illinois's DocAssist program and Montana's PRISM consultation line, and provides evidence-based measures for tracking progress in expanding behavioral health support services.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Coordination, Depression, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Referrals, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This plan was created with a vision of empowering all South Dakotans to embrace oral health as a critical component of overall health and well-being throughout life. The plan includes the following goals: improve oral health literacy and awareness of the importance of oral health; prevent oral diseases; increase the availability, accessibility, and use of oral health care; and coordinate state oral health efforts. For each goal, objectives and strategies are presented.

Contact: South Dakota Oral Health Coalition, South Dakota Dental Association, 804 N. Euclid Avenue, Suite 103, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 224-9133 Web Site: https://www.sddental.org/public-resources/oral-health-coalition Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, South Dakota, State materials, Strategic plans

Annotation: This manual is intended for health professionals interested in integrating a dental hygienist into a medical care team. It discusses billing, contracting, rules and regulations, and scope of dental hygiene practice specific to North Dakota. It also provides information related to workflow, patient data, and education relevant to health professionals outside North Dakota. The manual discusses scheduling a visit, the oral health screening process, integrating a dental hygienist into the workflow, electronic medical and dental records, care coordination, charging and billing services, rules and regulations, and medical resident and clinical staff evaluation.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Care coordination, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Pediatricians, Primary care, Regulations, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings from a five-year nationwide initiative to improve population-based children's developmental health and family well-being outcomes across 12 states. The evaluation focuses on four key areas: building connections between state and local early childhood systems, expanding early childhood systems through infrastructure and capacity building, implementing policy changes, and developing partnerships. The report examines efforts to increase age-appropriate development skills among 3-year-old children and reduce developmental disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community coordination, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Federal initiatives, Model programs, Partnership, Policy development, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: This report provides information about Missouri’s 2020–2025 oral health plan. It includes eight goals: (1) support access to preventive oral health services and emergency dental care; (2) provide oral health information to health professionals; (3) support oral health workforce development; (4) identify, investigate, monitor, and report on oral health problems, determinants, and disparities; (5) coordinate and participate in policy development to improve oral health in Missouri; (6) implement and collaborate with oral-disease-prevention programs; (7) reduce oral health disparities; and (8) implement, evaluate, and report on the 2020–2025 plan. Activities are described for each goal.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: info@dhss.mo.gov Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the reach, patients served, and outcomes of a medical-dental integration model employed in the University of North Dakota’s Center for Family Medicine in Bismarck. The model includes offering oral health screenings, fluoride varnish application, dental referrals, and care coordination for patients in the primary care setting while also educating medical residents and direct care staff quarterly on the association between oral health and overall health.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: ruralhealth@med.und.edu Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health screening, North Dakota, Oral health, Program coordination, Referrals, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about an evaluation of the North Dakota Department of Health’s Oral Health Program after it hired a public health hygienist to provide oral health education to medical residents and staff and to provide preventive oral health services and oral health education to children and their families with low incomes who were uninsured. The report introduces the program and discusses evaluation results related to the medical- dental integration model, patient data, and oral health training for medical residents.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Care coordination, Dental hygienists, Evaluation methods, Health education, Low income groups, North Dakota, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

Annotation: This document updates a 2014 profiles report, by (1) categorizing states' intensive care coordination (ICC) efforts into sustainability, implementation or pre-implementation groups; (2) identifying key informants; and (3) expanding the questionnaire template used in surveying the states. This updated profiles report is intended to assist states interested in improving outcomes for children and youth with complex mental and substance use disorders by developing or revamping ICC. includes lessons learned from 40 states and a small number of local jurisdictions that have implemented ICC, with and without high quality Wraparound, and is intended to support innovation around state efforts.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: PEP19-04-01-001..

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Children, Mental disorders, Mental health services, Service coordination, State programs, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: This policy brief discusses approaches to oral health innovation. It highlights Medicaid 1115 waivers, which may be used to provide coverage for services or to populations not typically covered under Medicaid, as one option that states can use to find new ways to provide oral health care. The brief also provides information about the potential for certain waivers to lock doors to access and offers an overview of other ideas for oral health innovation.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: restuccia@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Medicaid, Oral health, Service coordination, State programs

Annotation: This paper presents a framework for how communities can achieve improved and more equitable oral health outcomes. The framework includes five components: oral health education, oral health screening, preventive oral health care, care coordination and linkage to community-based care, and preventive oral health care and oral health treatment in schools. Data collection and sustainability.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: info@nasbhc.org Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, School health services, Service coordination

Annotation: This report discusses the results of an environmental scan to identify, categorize, and describe examples of medical-dental integration in public health settings. Findings inform public health officials and other stakeholders about programs and policies that encourage coordination and integration. Topics include integration in clinical settings, multimedia health campaigns, co-location of medical and oral health services, health workforce innovations, integrated insurance benefits, and health care reform.

Contact: University of Iowa, Center for Social Science Innovation, 605 E. Jefferson Street, Social Sciences Research Building, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: https://cssi.research.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care reform, Oral health, Program coordination, Public health, Service integration