Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Project Copernicus, a dual-State initiative for Maryland and Virginia, developed, demonstrated, and evaluated training programs in family-centered service coordination with target groups of professional service providers and parents in urban, rural, and suburban areas of Maryland and Virginia. Project Copernicus demonstrated how to provide family-centered care for families with children with special health needs by assisting both parents and professional service providers to develop and use family-centered service coordination activities (case management). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121859.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, CSHCN, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination of Health Care, Disabled, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, Parent Education, Parents, programs

Annotation: This resource provides a brief introduction to results-based accountability as a way to effectively measure Evidence-based or informed Strategy Measures (ESMs) as part of the 2017/2019 MCH Block Grant submission. It has been designed to start a process of quality improvement in advancing ESMs, both across the nation and in each Title V agency. It also describes sources for technical assistance. Similar reports are available for each individual state and territorial jurisdiction of the U.S.

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based health care, Model programs, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Technical assistance, Title V programs

Annotation: These proceedings summarize information from an October 2006 meeting hosted by the National Assembly on School-Based Health Care (NASBHC) to discuss how school-based health centers (SBHCs) can work with schools to support the education and health of children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Based on discussions between meeting representatives from education, special education, school health care, parent communities, and health education policy sectors, the document outlines ways that the National Assembly can lead SBHC-focused work to promote activities that support the needs and challenges of CSHCN. The document also outlines next steps to continue exploring the collaboration between SBHCs and school systems in serving CSHCN. The appendices include federal policies on special populations, a description of school-based health centers, and a list of services with potential for synergy between SBHCs and school systems in serving special populations. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: CSHCN programs, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Health care reform, Health care systems, School health programs, School linked programs

Annotation: This report provides background information about children with special health care needs (CSHN) and describes states' options for addressing those needs under the State Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). To assist state legislators who want to use the flexibility of Title XXI to improve services for CSHN, the report describes the following strategies: providing supplemental benefits; arranging for specialists to be included under the CHIP plan; expanding eligibility criteria to assist additional families; defining "medical necessity" more broadly; modifying cost-sharing requirements; and addressing quality assurance issues. Appendices include details about programs in Connecticut, Florida, and North Carolina; public health care programs for low income children; and lists of state and national contacts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-074-7.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Connecticut, Florida, Low income groups, Model programs, North Carolina, Public health services, Reports, Social Security Act, Title XXI, State CSHCN programs, State Children', State legislatures, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This resource manual for state Title V Children with Special Health Needs (CSHCN) Programs contains materials that support the efforts of program leadership to carry out their legislated responsibilities. These materials include four annotated bibliographies of key documents and resources; a brief legislative history of Title V of the Society Security Act and Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program; a discussion of the MCH Block Grant Performance Measures within the context of both the national agenda for CSHCN and the core CSHCN Program functions; an overview of the Division's current programmatic, product development, and technical assistance activities; and selected resource materials from other related initiatives. The annotated bibliographies are organized under four topical areas: rehabilitation services for Social Security beneficiaries, providing services to CSHCN, development of community systems of services, and family centered care. These bibliographies include citations to policy briefs, briefing books, federal agency documents, project reports, training materials, legislation, journal articles, and books. Each listing provides information about the document, including a brief summary and where to obtain it. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Child Health Policy, University of Florida, 1329 SW 16th Street, Room 5130 , Gainesville, FL 32608, Telephone: (352) 265-7220 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (352) 265-7221 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ichp.ufl.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Block grants, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered care, History, Legislation, MCH services, Manuals, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Rehabilitation programs, Social Security Act, Special health care services, State CSHCN programs, Title V, Title V programs

Annotation: This report provides baseline information on state maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health care needs (CSHN) units and their leadership. Additionally, it provides a starting point for the development of measures to enhance training opportunities and technical assistance for directors who may perceive a need for training and skills upgrading for themselves and their staff. The report is presented addresses the location, responsibilities, and reorganization status of Title V units beginning with a description of the historical context and approach followed by profiles of maternal and child health units, maternal and child health leadership, profiles of children with special health care needs units, children with special health care needs leadership, a discussion of the operational environment, and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Maternal health, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist providers of services to maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health needs (CSHN) populations to contract with managed care organizations (MCOs) for health and health related services. It provides suggestions and a range of approaches to providers by guiding them through the process of developing contractual relationships with MCOs. Topics include the following: 1) understanding your state's Medicaid managed care program, 2) understanding managed care organizations, 3) evaluating and selecting the most appropriate contracting arrangement, 4) selecting services to offer an MCO, 5) how to develop a managed care proposal, and 6) proposing, marketing, and negotiating a managed care contract. Each area summarizes the subject areas covered and provides a checklist of the key steps to follow to achieve the goals of each topic. An appendix provides three sample contracts, a glossary of managed care terms, and a listing of state Medicaid agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative policy, CSHCN programs, Contract services, MCH programs, MCH services, Medicaid managed care, Proposal writing, Proposals

Annotation: This resource brief describes the childhood component of the National Health Interview (NHIS) Disability Supplement and current plans for release of data files, identifies ways in which state Title V programs can apply the data to their own purposes of needs assessment and program planning, and suggests other related resources that state CSHCN program personnel might find useful. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data sources, Disabilities, Program planning, State CSHCN programs

Annotation: This summary paper provides information on experiences of state MCH and CSHN Programs using the document Public MCH Program Functions Framework: Essential Public Health Services To Promote Maternal and Child Health in America. Descriptions of experiences in addressing reorganization issues and developing strategic plans, orienting new MCH staff at the state and local levels, framing and developing contractor standards, preparing budget and staffing justifications, and training future public health professionals and educating constituents are summarized. The paper ends with names and phone numbers of contacts to provide further information on the state programs summarized. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, CSHCN programs, Child health, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Managed care, Maternal health, Program development, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report describes the technical assistance provided to Connecticut in developing a monitoring and oversight system for providing care to children with special health care needs. The report includes background information and information about data collection tools and quality monitoring indicators. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Connecticut, Data collection, Monitoring, Quality assurance, State CSHCN programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This book provides a comprehensive accounting of public expenditures on children and families. It compares expenditures across all the major programs. It develops guiding principles about how to allocate resources in order to simplify programs, integrate efforts and find more cost-effective ways to respond to families' and children's needs.

Contact: University Press of America, 4501 Forbes Boulevard, Suite 200, Lanham, MD 20706, Telephone: (410) 459-3366 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-6420 Web Site: http://www.univpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-87766-651-2, paper; 0-87766-650-4, cloth.

Keywords: CSHCN programs, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Eligibility determination, Entitlements, Head Start, Program coordination, Program evaluation, Special education, Statistics, Supplemental Security Income

Annotation: This document gives the results of a nationwide survey of state agencies for children with special health needs that focused on care coordination. It gives information on care coordination definitions, quality guidelines, personnel preparation and training standards, and strategies for evaluating outcomes. It also includes a list of products developed by the states, such as assessment tools, service plans, policies and procedures, performance standards, and other documents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Automation and Care Coordination Enhancing Service Systems in Maternal and Child Health (ACCESS-MCH), P.O. Box 54700, Los Angeles, CA 90054-0700, Telephone: (213) 913-4400 Fax: (213) 913-1003 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Case management, Children with special health care needs, Service coordination, State CSHCN programs, Surveys

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to examine the likely impact of Medicaid programs on children with special health care needs by looking at four states that have had waiver applications approved and are currently implementing demonstration programs—Hawaii, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Tennessee. It also considers the likely impact of waiver programs on the major publicly funded programs with responsibility for special needs children—state programs for children with special health care needs (CSHN). Following an introduction on the concept of waivers and demonstration programs, the report is divided into three other chapters. Chapter 2 describes demonstrations of waiver programs in the four states and assesses the impact of the programs on children with special health care needs. Chapter 3 contains an analysis of the ways in which the four programs have affected, or are likely to affect, the CSHN programs in those states. Chapter 4 provides a summary of the findings and offers suggestions regarding the issues that states might want to consider in planning future waiver programs and the new roles and responsibilities that CSHN programs adopt in waiver program states. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Policy Research Center, 750 17th Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20006-4607, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 496-9067 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Demonstration programs, Hawaii, Health care financing, Health care reform, Medicaid managed care, Oregon, Rhode Island, Service delivery systems, State CSHCN programs, Tennessee, Waivers

Annotation: This report presents the survey findings on the kinds and amounts of participation by parents and other family members in state Title V Children with Special Health Care Needs programs around the country. Types of participation described include committees, in-service training, toll-free numbers, hiring family members, support groups, input from underserved populations and adults with disabilities, and participation in the block grant process. A directory of state Title V directors is included. The survey was funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, State CSHCN programs, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a study that was designed to determine the present nature and scope of service coordination between state agencies as required under the Individual with Disabilities Education Act, Part H. It addresses nine areas of service coordination including: 1) major goals for the coordination effort, 2) age range targeted for coordination, 3) development of the vision for a coordinated service system, 4) who is involved in the coordination of service, 5) the structure used for service coordination, 6) policies related to service coordination, 7) number of individuals designated to work on Part H activities, 8) accomplishments in the area of service coordination, and 9) state evaluation of service coordination efforts. The report explains the methodology of the study, presents its results, and provides a summary and conclusions.

Contact: Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 300 NationsBank Plaza, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 962-7374 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: CSHCN programs, Children with special health care needs, Individuals With Disabilities Education Act, Part H, Interagency cooperation, Reports, Service coordination, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides results from a survey on the automation systems being used to manage information in state programs for children with special health care needs, including hardware, software, automated administrative functions, reports generated, Title V capacity, and highlights of each program.

Contact: Center for Automation and Care Coordination Enhancing Service Systems in Maternal and Child Health (ACCESS-MCH), P.O. Box 54700, Los Angeles, CA 90054-0700, Telephone: (213) 913-4400 Fax: (213) 913-1003 $10.00. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE084.

Keywords: Information systems, State CSHCN programs, Surveys

Annotation: This manual lists the goals for the Children's Medical Services (CMS) of the Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services. These goals are directed at the continued development of a comprehensive health care system for children with special health care needs and their families in Florida. Strategies and outcomes are listed for each of the CMS program goals. This CMS program charts a course for the effective delivery of services to children with special health care needs and their families through delivering the guiding principles and implementation of the strategies that are designed to create a family-centered, comprehensive health care program for children and their families.

Contact: Institute for Child Health Policy, University of Florida, 1329 SW 16th Street, Room 5130 , Gainesville, FL 32608, Telephone: (352) 265-7220 Secondary Telephone: Contact Phone: (904) 392-5904 Fax: (352) 265-7221 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ichp.ufl.edu

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, Florida, State CSHCN programs, community based care

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a study that analyzed the current status of the states' eligibility policies for children with disabilities, age 3 through 5. It provides background to the legislation involved, looks at issues related to the development of eligibility policy, explains the methodology of the study, and presents results and conclusions.

Contact: Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 300 NationsBank Plaza, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 962-7374 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, CSHCN programs, Children with special health care needs, Eligibility, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part B, Policy analysis, Preschool children

Annotation: This report looks at the issues of providing community-based family-centered health care to children with special health care needs in rural areas. It also looks at the challenges and strategies of providing such care. The report is both narrative and statistical in nature with the latter based on a survey undertaken to help understand the system of care for rural children. Tables and charts are included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: CSHCN programs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community based services, Data analysis, Family centered services, Rural environment, Rural health, Rural population, Surveys

Annotation: This report discusses the 1989 Title V maternal and child health services block grant mandate that state children with special health care needs programs should assume a leadership role in developing community-based systems of services for these children and their families. It discusses the leadership role, elements of service delivery systems, steps in developing a service delivery system, and assistance in systems development that the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau can provide to states.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Contact Phone: (301) 443-2350 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Social Security Act, Title V, State CSHCN programs, Systems development