Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward mothers experiencing pregnancy or postpartum mood or anxiety disorders, provides questions for mothers and families to determine whether a mother needs help. Information about Postpartum Support International and the services it offers is provided, and a membership and donor form is included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Postpartum Support, International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disorders, Family support, Parents, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Annotation: This one-page flyer explains the symptoms of depression and offers ways to get help for depression. It is aimed at teens who may be suffering from feelings of sadness and hopelessness. The flyer also provides the national Suicide & Crisis Lifeline, 988.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Anxiety, Depression, Mental health, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to support Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance (CHIP) programs in efforts to improve the delivery of postpartum care. Included are strategies to help increase access to postpartum care, improve the quality of care, address disparities, and implement quality improvement measures. The toolkit includes federal requirements, guidance, and state opportunities to promote postpartum screening, referral, and treatment.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: , Federal initiatives, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, State programs

Annotation: This online tracker contains an updated map of the U.S. and accompanying chart highlighting each state's policy in response to the 2016 federal guidance allowing states to provide Medicaid coverage of maternal and/or caregiver depression screening during a well-child visit under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. The map indicates which states either require, recommend, or allow maternal depression screening using the two-generational approach and, where applicable, provides the reimbursement rate for this fee-for-service.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum depression, Screening, State legislation

Annotation: This review examines the research evidence on the benefits and harms of screening, accuracy of screening, and benefits and harms of treatment for suicide risk, anxiety, and depression in children and adolescents. Intended to help healthcare decision makers (patients and clinicians, health system leaders, policy makers, and others) make well-informed decisions, the review is based on research conducted by the RTI International--University of North Carolina Evidence-based Practice Center under contract by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ).

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Anxiety, Children, Depression, Mental health, Quality assurance , Research reviews, Screening, Suicide

Annotation: This table provides examples of the relationship between oral health and mental health problems and substance use. It addresses the relationship between oral health and mental health problems (i.e., anxiety, bipolar and obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, eating disorders, issues related to trauma). It also addresses the relationship between oral health and use of substances such as cannabis, cocaine, methamphetamine, and opioids, as well as the relationship between oral health and substance-use-disorder treatment medications. The impact of oral health problems on mental health problems and substance use is also examined.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Bipolar disorder, Compulsive behavior, Depression, Eating disorders, Emotional trauma, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse

Annotation: In this video presentation, Dr. Nancy Byatt shares information on MCPAP-- the Massachusetts Child Pscychiatry for Moms program--which provides consultation to health care providers regarding behavioral/mental health and safe medications for pregnant or breastfeeding patients. MCPAP also helps to connect people to support groups and community-based services and serves as an example of behavioral and primary care integration that can be replicated.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This webinar focuses on maternal mental health within a cultural context, highlighting factors to consider when addressing the mental health needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in underserved communities. Culturally-sensitive approaches to MCH services that address postpartum depression and other mental health concerns are discussed by a variety of panelists during the hour-long video presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Racial factors, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This webinar (1) describes how systems changes in maternal mental health and substance use disorders can lead to increases in diagnosis and treatment rates; (2) identifies opportunities to use the "Medicaid Institutions for Mental Disease (IMD) Exclusion" to improve treatment of mental health and substance use disorders in MCH populations; and (3) discusses the process by which Virginia leveraged a Medicaid IMD waiver to improve access to care and treatment for reproductive age women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Substance abuse, Virginia

Annotation: This report describes how young people often turn to nicotine products to alleviate stress, anxiety, and depression, and yet these products may actually make them feel worse. It highlights research studies connecting nicotine use with increased anxiety and depression are describes action steps that mental health professionals, policy makers, and regulators can take to help alleviate the problem.

Contact: Truth Initiative, 900 G Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: http://truthinitiative.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Mental health, Nicotine, Policy development, Prevention, Regulations, Substance abuse, Youth

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for children and adolescents with a confirmed diagnosis of a depressive disorder. It evaluates the efficacy, comparative effectiveness, and moderators of available treatments and analyzes data from 60 studies that met the review criteria. The report is based on research conducted by the RTI International–University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) under contract to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comparative analysis , Depression, Disorders, Literature reviews, Mental health, Pharmacology, Psychotherapy, Therapeutics

Annotation: This tip sheet describes how women with maternal depression can be identified and supported by states, health care providers, families, and friends. It defines and describes the symptoms of postpartum depression (vs. the "baby blues"); includes a map comparing rates of reported symptoms of depression after birth; and a link to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Screening, Social support, Statistics

Annotation: This report from the CDC provides statistics and tables about transition for youth aged 12-17, with a particular focus youth with mental, behavioral, and developmental disorders (MBDDs). Statistics list details such as sex, ethnicity, and what disorders the patients were diagnosed with. It calls for improved access to to comprehensive and coordinated programs and services, as well as increasing provider training concerning adolescents’ unique mental and physical health care needs in the future.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Behavioral health issues, Depression, Mental disorders, Transition

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent perinatal depression (i.e., depression during pregnancy and postpartum depression). Sources consulted for the review include MEDLINE, PubMED, PsyINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review looked at publications published in English between January 1, 2012, and February 6, 2018. The evidence review concluded that counseling interventions can be effective in preventing perinatal depression; a variety of other intervention approaches provided some evidence of effectiveness, but lacked a robust evidence base and need further research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health screening, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This website summarizes recommendations from the Community Preventive Services Task Force on using universal school-based cognitive behavioral therapy programs to prevent or reduce depression and anxiety symptoms among school-aged children and adolescents. Universal school-based cognitive behavioral therapy programs to prevent or reduce depression and anxiety symptoms are delivered to all students, regardless of the presence or absence of mental health conditions. This online resource provides information from a systematic review that included 81 studies (through 2015) that examined school-based cognitive behavioral programs; the website also gives background information on depression and anxiety among children and adolescents; it also provides links for supporting materials.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Anxiety, Child mental health, Depression, School based programs

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help pediatric primary care providers (PPCPs) integrate mental health promotion and screening into their practice. Developed by the DC Collaborative for Mental Health in Pediatric Primary Care, the toolkit provides information and resources to support PPCP’s in screening caregivers for perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, such as postpartum depression, during well child visits. Included is a summary of mood and anxiety disorders during pregnancy and postpartum; the Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale screening tool (in English and Spanish), implementation and planning tools, and a detailed list of perinatal mental health resources.

Contact: DC Collaborative for Mental Health in Pediatric Primary Care , Children's National Hospital Foundation , 111 Michigan Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20010, Telephone: (202) 476-5000 Web Site: https://www.childrensnational.org/in-the-community/advocacy-and-outreach/community-initiatives-and-partnerships/dc-collaborative-for-mental-health-in-pediatric-primary-care

• PDF

Keywords: Mental health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Postpartum depression, Primary care, Screening, Service integration

Annotation: This brief presents resources for families on finding help and learning more about depression during and after pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Depression, Electronic publications, Families, Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This short video features an interview with Heather-- a new mother who experienced postpartum depression after giving birth to twins. She describes her health complications, both physical and emotional, including her sadness when she was unable to sustain breastfeeding beyond 5 weeks.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression