Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides guidance for developing and implementing a school-based or school-linked mobile or portable oral health program. It discusses challenges and strategies for overcoming these challenges. Selected challenges discussed include workforce considerations; state dental practice acts, legislation, and other regulations limiting the provision of oral health care; community opposition; infrastructure issues; and infection-control issues. Strategies include program planning, developing policies and procedures, community engagement and education, care coordination, developing business plans and budgets, and implementing quality measures and evaluation.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Health programs, Infection control, Legislation, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program planning, Quality assurance, Regulations, School health, Service coordination

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that policymakers in the state make informed oral health policy decisions. It discusses three policy opportunities: increasing the state budget for expanding school-based dental sealant programs, strengthening Ohio’s safety net oral health system in the state budget, and preserving dentistry in telehealth services that Medicaid authorized during the COVID-19 pandemic to promote access to oral health care.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Budgets, Dental sealants, Ohio, Oral health, School health, Statewide planning, Telemedicine

Annotation: This report explains what cost-benefit analysis is and why it is important and examines the findings of a study conducted to measure states' use of cost-benefit analysis to compare the cost of public programs to the returns they deliver, documents the contributions that cost-benefit analyses provide to effective state policymaking, and identifies barriers states face in using these results and strategies to overcome those barriers. The report also provides rankings of states in their production, scope, and use of cost-benefit analysis to support data-driven policymaking. The report is intended to serve as a resource for policy leaders seeking to expand their use of cost-benefit analysis and as a baseline for future studies of states' progress in using rigorous evidence to better inform difficult budget choices.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Overview

Keywords: Budgets, Costs, Program evaluation, Public policy, Research, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This advocacy tool describes how the federal budget process works, why it's important, and how to become involved in the process. Based on a model developed by the Center for Community Change, the tool provides a timeline of events that typically take place during the federal budget process and opportunities for action during each stage. The tool also provides links to video messages about the federal budget process and a glossary of policy and advocacy terms.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Budgeting, Budgets, Child advocacy, Federal government, Policy

Annotation: This guide, begun in 2008, highlights federally-funded programs for children and the levels at which they are funded. It includes information on more than 180 programs aimed at enhancing the well-being of children in the United States. The information is organized according to the following broad categories: education, health, housing, safety, nutrition, training, income support, child welfare, and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). Program descriptions, current appropriation levels, funding levels from the past five fiscal years, and proposed funding levels for the coming fiscal year are included.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• 2012 Report
• 2011 Report

Keywords: Budgets, Child health, Children, Data, Federal programs, Funding, Statistics

Annotation: This analysis examines the federal 2013 budget from the perspective of support for the healthy development of infants and toddlers. It discusses programs that support children's health and nutrition, programs that focus on strong family support, and positive early learning experiences. A comparison of federal program funding describes dollar-for-dollar differences in current and projected funding for nutrition, child welfare, education, justice programs, health and mental health programs, and family support programs.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Child development, Child health programs, Cost effectiveness, Federal programs, Funding, Infants, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This community action plan focuses on the efforts of the Milwaukee Lifecourse Initiative to reduce infant mortality among blacks in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The action plan discusses background, provides a community description, and discusses the initiative and its efforts. Other topics include addressing socioeconomic conditions and stress, milestones and an evaluation plan, budget and resources, and a sustainability plan.

• PDF
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Blacks, Budgets, Communities, Economic factors, High risk groups, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Prevention, Program evaluation, Racial factors, State programs, Stress, Trends, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report shows how budget cuts, combined with the increase in the number of Americans living in poverty and those without health insurance is endangering the health of the nation’s mothers, infants and children, including those with special health care needs. It provides a snapshot of the impact federal and state budget cuts have had on maternal and child health (MCH) in a number of selected states and illustrates why Congress needs to maintain funding to state MCH programs. An overview of the Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant is included in the report.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Analysis, Budgets, Child health, Children with special health needs, Costs, Federal programs, MCH programs, Maternal health, Risk factors, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report describes the activities of New Mexico benefitting the children and youth of the state. It includes socioeconomic data on children and youth and their families; a brief review of budget allocations for state programs and services; health statistics, such as adolescent pregnancy rates and immunizations; state education data; and safety, including injury and suicide prevention. Additional budget and tax details are provided.

Contact: New Mexico Early Childhood Action Network, NM E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.earlychildhoodnm.com Available from the website.

• 2011 Report
• 2010 Report

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Budgets, Child health, Children, Immunization, New Mexico, Safety, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This state plan describes the activities of Nebraska's State Abstinence Education Grant Program for 2010. The document discusses the problem and need associated with Nebraska adolescents and presents an implementation plan. Topics discussed in relation to the implementation plan include existing programs and gaps in services, challenges and barriers, mechanisms for implementation, monitoring, coordination, service recipient involvement, referrals, objective performance and efficiency measures, programmatic assurances, and budget.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Plan Report
• Program Site With Plan Report And Appendices

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Budgets, Education, High risk adolescents, High risk groups, Nebraska, Poverty, Program coordination, Referral, Service delivery, State grants, State programs

Annotation: This document summarizes discussions held on June 25, 2008, concerning the role of government in assisting low-income families, income supports and low-income families, early care and education for low-income children, education for disadvantaged children, health care and low-income children and families, and the long-term fiscal challenges faced by the federal government in providing assistance to disadvantaged children and families. Appendices include two presentations addressing the role of federal spending on children and families to ensure the nation's future, and the changing roles of children in an aging society.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Education, Federal agencies, Federal government, Financial support, Low income groups, Public policy

Annotation: This annual report examines federal expenditures on children. It provides analysis of federal programs and tax provisions that allocate resources to children and places these expenditures in the broader context of the overall federal budget. Topics include current expenditures, historical trends, and future projections. While the primary focus is federal expenditures, the report also provides information about state and local spending on children. A companion volume, Data Appendix to Kids' Share, provides the sources of expenditure data, and the methodologies for estimating the portions of programs that go specifically to children, for each program.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Budgets, Child development, Child health, Child nutrition, Child safety, Costs, Education, Federal programs, Taxes, Trends

Annotation: This report summarizes 4 discussions held by a 21 member panel during 2007 concerning the feasibility of a biobank in Connecticut and the value it might add to the study of preterm births and birth defects. Biobank models; funding sources; possible increases in research potential; affordability, ethical, legal, and social issues; and the likely public and private perceptions of such a bank all receive examination. Findings and recommendations conclude the report.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bioethics, Budgets, Congenital abnormalities, Connecticut, Genetic markers, Genetics, Low birthweight, Prenatal screening, Preterm birth, State programs

Annotation: This report offers approaches, tools, and tables for developing fiscal analyses and children's budgets to support early childhood comprehensive systems initiatives. The report, which builds on program-by-program background information from the National Center for Children in Poverty report, Spending Smarter, as well as on information from a recent report published by the Forum for Youth Investment and the Finance Project. The present report also highlights state and local experience in fiscal analysis. The report discusses why fiscal analysis and children's budgets are important and provides several approaches to developing budgets. Some of the information is presented in figures and tables. Endnotes and a list of resources are included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Low income groups, Poverty, Programs, Public policy, Service delivery systems, Young children

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the president's budget proposal for fiscal year 2006, which would reduce overall federal funding for Medicaid by at least $45 billion over 10 years. The brief also anticipates policy changes that could have a major impact on children's health coverage. The brief discusses federal funding reductions and the policy proposals and offers recommendations. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief.

Contact: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 Web Site: http://ihcrp.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Budgets, Child health, Financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public policy, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report focuses on how the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) is responding to budget pressures. The report discusses how SCHIP programs changed in various states in 2004 in terms of eligibility, enrollment procedures, outreach, benefits, cost sharing, provider reimbursement, and crowd out. The report also discusses SCHIP in TANF states vs. the nation and provides conclusions and an outlook. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Endnotes and references are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Outreach, Reimbursement, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a study that provides a baseline regarding traditional mental health services delivered in schools to students who have been referred and identified as having psychosocial or mental health problems. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses the background and study methods; mental health problems and services in the school setting; administrative arrangements for the delivery and coordination of mental health services in schools; staff providing mental health services in schools; funding, budgeting and resource allocation, and data use; and mental health problems and services at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. A discussion and implications for future research are included, along with endnotes, references, and three appendices: (1) a list of expert panel members, (2) a summary of open-ended survey responses, and (3) supplemental tables.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://store.samhsa.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: SMA05-4068.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Budgets, Child mental health, Costs, Elementary schools, Financing, Health services delivery, High schools, Mental disorders, Middle schools, School health services, Service coordination, Statistics

Annotation: This study presents a study of public investments in child education and development by three age groupings: the early learning years (birth through age 5), the school-aged years (ages 6-18), and the college-age years (ages 19-23). The study is based upon a detailed analysis of state, federal, and school district spending in 12 states across the country, conducted by organizations in those states with strong understanding of early childhood services and state budgeting. The study is designed to give policymakers and the public a better understanding of overall public investments in child education and development and the research on potential returns on investment from early learning programs. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the study. In addition to the main body, the study includes an executive summary, two appendices that contain 12-state data and individual state data, and endnotes.

Contact: Voices for America's Children, 1000 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-0777 Secondary Telephone: (866) 435-2970 Fax: (202) 289-0776 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Budgets, Child development, College students, Early childhood development, Financing, Public policy, School age children, School districts

Annotation: This report describes a study about the impact of state budget problems on the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). SCHIP directors in the 50 jurisdictions operating SCHIPs in March 2004 were asked about policy changes made in 2003 or the first quarter of 2004 in the areas of eligibility, enrollment, benefits, and cost sharing. Contents include the following sections: controls on SCHIP eligibility and enrollment, changes in benefits, increases in cost-sharing requirements, future of the program, and conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Budgets, Cost sharing, Costs, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care financing, Oral health, State children', Surveys, s health insurance program

Annotation: This report describes eight strategic outcome goals and objectives for investment in accomplishing the Department of Health and Human Services' (HHS) mission to protect and improve the health and well-being of the American public for fiscal years 2004-2009. Goals include (1) reduce the major threats to the health and well-being of Americans; (2) enhance the ability of the nation's health care system to effectively respond to bioterrorism and other public health challenges; (3) increase the percentage of the nation's children and adults to have access to health care services, and expand consumer choices; (4) enhance the capacity and productivity of the nation's health science research enterprise; (5) improve the quality of health care services; (6) improve the economic and social well-being of individuals, families, and communities, especially those most in need; (7) improve the stability and healthy development of our nation's children and youth; and (8) achieve excellence in management practices. The introduction provides background information on the Department of Health and Human Services, the development of this plan, and a description of the mission, vision, goals, and core values of the department. The goals section provides detail on the strategies for accomplishing goals and objectives. The appendices include performance plan linage and success indicators, coordination elements, external factors, data challenges and responses, program evaluations, resources supporting the plan, a schedule for initiating actions, management tools used in support of program goals, the department's organization, and a matrix of programs that support HHS strategic objectives.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Department of Health and Human Services, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Health objectives, National programs, Public health services, Strategic plans