Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This Interagency Agreement is between (1) the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing [T19] and (2) the Colorado Department of Public Health and the Environment (CDPHE) [T5]. It documents the state of Colorado's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. The Interagency Agreement includes an amendment dated 12/29/2014 that lists additional definitions, a list of public health programs covered by the agreement, programs included in Colorado's health systems and health care services, and health facilities emergency medical services information.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: CO.1.2 .

• PDF

Keywords: Colorado, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This Memo of Understanding (MOU) describes an Interagency Agreement effective in 2004 between the Colorado Departments of Health Care Policy and Financing and of Public Health and the Environment regarding the sharing of protected health information as per HIPAA Privacy Rules. Provisions of the agreement include obligations of the parties regarding permitted uses and disclosures; safeguards; reporting; access to protected information; amendments; accounting rights; minimum necessary access; data ownership; retention of protected information; audits, inspection, and enforcement; and safeguards. Additional provisions include termination clauses, no waiver of immunity, defense, disclaimer, certification, amendment, assistance in litigation or administration proceedings, no third party beneficiaries, interpretation, survival of certain terms, representatives and notice, and availability of funds. The attachment sets forth additional terms in uses, disclosures, subcontractors, receipts, and restrictions on use of data.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: CO.2.2.

• PDF

Keywords: Colorado, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This report provides information on the link between poor oral health and chronic disease and on efforts of the National Association of Chronic Disease directors (NACDD) to develop a national framework for medical-dental integration (MDI) and discusses NACDD's work with five states (Colorado, Connecticut, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Virginia) on projects whose purpose was to document successful approaches for increasing the effectiveness of state oral health and chronic disease collaborations with dental clinics and community providers to screen for chronic conditions such as hypertension, pre-diabetes, and diabetes. Each project is discussed, along oral health outcomes for each state and future directions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Connecticut, Diabetes, Hypertension, North Dakota, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, South Carolina, State programs, Virginia

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Colorado. The chartbook presents information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This report presents a framework intended to guide the activities of individuals and organizations in Colorado in the pursuit of advancing oral health equity in the state. The report presents background on the framework and on the oral health status of Colorado residents. It discusses factors related to oral health inequities, efforts to improve oral health in Colorado, and development of the framework. The four framework goals are also presented, along with next steps.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Colorado, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This roadmap presents four goals toward achieving oral health equity for young children in Colorado. For each goal, an introduction and context, a set of associated strategies, proposed actions for each strategy, a suggested timeline, a list of potential partners, and a workbook are included. The roadmap also includes information about Colorado’s early childhood oral health system, especially for communities of color, and information about related frameworks, plans, and recommendations.

Contact: Early Milestones Colorado, 1536 Wynkoop St #902, Denver, CO 80202, Telephone: (720) 639-9000 Web Site: https://earlymilestones.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Health care systems, Health equity, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report discusses the value of providing adult dental benefits to Medicaid beneficiaries. Topics include the role oral health plays in overall health, the role of federally qualified health centers in treating Medicaid beneficiaries, and a case study of Colorado.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Case studies, Colorado, Health centers, Medicaid, Oral health, State materials

Annotation: This toolkit is intended for medical practices in Colorado (i.e., community health centers, clinics, school-based health centers, hospital systems) interested in integrating a dental hygienist into a medical team to offer the full scope of dental hygiene services. The toolkit addresses startup and implementation, including hiring a dental hygienist, building a dental space, integrating the hygienist into the practice, and creating and implementing models of care. Many parts of the toolkit are applicable to other states.

Contact: Delta Dental of Colorado, 4582 South Ulster Street, Suite 800, Denver, CO 80237, Telephone: (800) 233-0860 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.deltadentalco.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Dental hygienists, Health care delivery, Oral health, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This final report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Colorado Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the project period ending in 2019. The project’s main goal was to increase the proportion of pregnant women in Colorado who receive oral health care. The report includes information about project progress, significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Colorado, Final reports, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This presentation provides an in-depth analysis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) prevalence and disparities in access to services in the United States. Dr. Maureen Durkin from the University of Wisconsin-Madison examines epidemiological data from the CDC's Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network to highlight significant increases in autism prevalence over time, from 1 in 150 children in 2000 to 1 in 59 in 2014. The presentation explores racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic disparities in autism identification, showing that white children and those from higher socioeconomic backgrounds are more likely to receive ASD diagnoses compared to Black and Hispanic children. Dr. Durkin presents evidence suggesting these disparities are largely due to inequities in access to developmental assessments and healthcare services rather than true differences in prevalence. The presentation highlights the high costs associated with autism diagnosis and treatment, the unpreparedness of service delivery systems to meet growing needs, and emphasizes the importance of ongoing monitoring, early detection, and strategies to enhance healthcare access and equity for all children with ASD.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Autism, Screening, Wisconsin, Title V programs, State CHSCN programs, Socioeconomic status, Colorado, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report describes an analysis comparing oral health data for children and adolescents ages 1–14 in Colorado whose parents or other caregivers had a dental visit with those whose parents or caregivers did not have a dental visit. The report provides an overview of child oral health in the state. It also discusses findings of the analysis in the following categories: (1) effect of adult oral health care utilization on children’s oral health and (2) geographic disparities. Steps toward improving children’s oral health in Colorado are also presented.

Contact: Colorado Health Institute, 303 E. 17th Avenue, Suite 930, Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 831-4200 Web Site: http://www.coloradohealthinstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Geographic factors, Oral health, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This assessment tool provides organizations with a framework for implementing the Youth Advisor Model, which involves hiring young people (ages 16-21) to contribute their expertise on youth culture to organizational programs. The document includes a detailed organizational readiness assessment with sections covering program growth, youth advisor roles, organizational culture, processes, and necessary resources. It offers essential definitions related to positive youth development, outlines discussion questions for team reflection, and provides a detailed checklist for evaluating readiness in areas such as staff training, workspace allocation, and policy development. The assessment emphasizes the importance of addressing all identified gaps before hiring youth advisors and includes a progress evaluation tool to monitor implementation success over time. The document concludes with guidance on next steps and contact information for additional support resources through the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Adolescent health, Advisory committees

Annotation: This paper provides information about initiating interprofessional networks that integrate and coordinate person-centered oral health care in rural communities. Topics include oral health as a national issue with rural implications, interprofessional practice and the oral-systemic health connection, creating networks and a learning collaborative, state offices of rural health and medicaloral expanded care initiation, and challenges and opportunities for innovation. Examples from Colorado, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Collaboration, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Health care delivery, Information systems, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Provider networks, Rural environment, Rural health, Rural population, Service integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Systems development, Technology, Work force

Annotation: This brief explores how six states (Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina) have responded to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Oral Health Strategic Framework. For each state, a summary of how the state is improving access to oral health care and advancing oral health interprofessional practice is provided.

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Service Integration, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on how Colorado's Youth Partnership for Health Program utilized youth to create successful state-wide programs, and to produce a DVD and guide on creating partnerships that have been distributed across the country. The document describes how the YPH program, running since 2000, demonstrates the benefit of investment in youth-adult partnerships in public health decision-making.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent health promotion, Program development

Annotation: This report describes a project to provide access to preventive and restorative oral health care, demonstrate a decrease in dental caries incidence, show an increase in oral health literacy, and create a financially sustainable oral health program for children in Summit County, CO. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include a memorandum of understanding, enrollment and send-home forms, a permission form in English and Spanish, a screening survey tool, a student quiz, and a list of advisory board members. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Financing, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School districts, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a community health center–university partnership to establish accessible, affordable, high-quality oral health care for students by operationalizing a mobile dental van on school property. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include the CQI plan, a memorandum of understanding, a presentation, informed consent forms, and marketing and outreach materials. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Mobile health units, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, Service integration, Systems development, University affiliated programs

Annotation: This report presents findings from focus groups and surveys with parents and children in low-income households and interviews with community stakeholders to gather information about the barriers that families with low incomes face when trying to support children's physical activity. Topics include the types of activities children are doing to be physically active, what parents and children value about physical activity, the challenges parents and children face in their personal lives and their communities that make it difficult to support children's physical activity, and what communities can do to make it easier for children to be active. The appendices contain the study methodology, parent and youth survey results, focus group guides, parent and child surveys, and community stakeholder interview guide.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Colorado, Families, Focus groups, Interviews, Low income groups, Physical activity, Surveys

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources on assessing the feasibility of initiating school- linked oral health services and designing and building a sustainable school oral health pro- gram. Contents include resources for generating ideas, assessing community needs, creating a budget, developing a business plan, providing a rationale for activities, framing an idea, build- ing a program, and maintaining and sustaining a successful school oral health program. The toolkit also includes a data application (a targeted and focused electronic health record) that can be used to monitor children’s oral health status over time.

Contact: Oral Health Colorado, P.O. Box 1335, Nederland, CO 80466, Telephone: (303) 258-3339 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oralhealthcolorado.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Low income groups, Minority groups, Oral health, Preventive health services, Relationships, Rural population, School age children, School linked programs, State programs, Sustainability

Annotation: This issue brief explores how states can capitalize on the opportunities presented by health reform to improve birth outcomes, particularly through preconception health. It highlights state Title V maternal and child health programs, particularly programs in three states (Michigan, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that participated in an action learning collaborative and are working to strengthen partnerships to implement preconception health activities, enhance preventive care for women, explore financing options for preconception care services, and use data to inform policy and program development. Delaware and Colorado also are featured as states that are working toward improved access to preconception care.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Colorado, Data, Delaware, Financing, Health care reform, Learning, Michigan, Oklahoma, Oregon, Policy development, Preconception care, Preventive health services, Program development, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Women', s health