Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (44 total).

Maine Department of Human Services, Division of Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. A profile of a school-based health center in Maine. [Augusta, ME]: Maine State Department of Human Services, Division of Maternal and Child Health, 1 video (VHS, 1/2 inch, 15:18 minutes)

Annotation: This videotape profiles the school-based health center at Foxcroft Academy in Dover, Maine. It shows adolescents and adults discussing kids' lives and problems, describes the mixed community reception to the health center, discusses the benefits of continuity for those without other access to health care, and profiles services available to students and teachers.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Maine, School based clinics, Videotapes

Children's Oral Health Network of Maine. N.d.. Dental steps for ME. [no place]: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, multiple items.

Annotation: This video library is designed for pediatricians wishing to integrate oral health care into well-child visits, as well as for parents. The library contains one video correlating with each well-child visit, from the 2-month visit to the age-5 visit.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Network of Maine, Telephone: (207) 805-4243 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mainecohn.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Maine, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, State materials, Videos, Young children

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Oral Health Program. 2023. Dental clinics and services for Maine residents. August, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Oral Health Program, 48 pp.

Annotation: This directory is a resource for consumers and for health professionals and social services providers in Maine to help them assist clients who do not have a regular dentist with getting oral health care. The directory describes clinics and agencies in Maine that either provide oral health care or can help these individuals access care. Information is provided on services the clinic or agency provides, eligibility guidelines, and where to get more information. State-funded assistance programs, tribal health programs, rural community health centers, and other potential sources of care are included. Clinics and agencies are organized by county.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinics, Eligibility, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Public agencies, State information

Let's Go. 2022. Let's go!. Portland, ME: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center,

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention. [2020]. Maine's school oral health program handbook. Augusta, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, 22 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is intended to assist school administrators, dentists, dental hygienists, nurses, and volunteers in implementing the Maine School Oral Health Program. It provides information about oral health in Maine and describes the history of the school oral health program. Other topics include oral health care available to students, care and coordination, and cavities. A question-and answer section is included, along with sample forms and a sample registered dental hygienist job description.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Maine, Oral health, School age children, School health, State programs

From the First Tooth. 2019. Periodicity schedule & alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health in primary care. Portland, ME: From the First Tooth, 1 p. (From the First Tooth and Fluoride: 4 by 4)

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children

MaineHealth. 2019. Maine Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project [FY 2019 progress report]. Portland, ME: MaineHealth, 36 pp.

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Maine Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report includes information about project progress (including project accomplishments), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 661-7001 Web Site: http://www.mainehealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Maine, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

MaineHealth. [2017]. Perinatal oral health assessment. Portland, ME: Before the First Tooth, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information for health professionals about how to administer a perinatal oral health assessment for pregnant women during the initial appointment. Topics include advising pregnant women about oral health care, oral health questions to ask pregnant women, and insurance status. The document also defines “dental caries” and “dental abscess” and provides signs to look for to determine whether pregnant women may have either or both. Photographs illustrating how to conduct a visual examination are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Health insurance, Health screening, Maine, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Mainehealth. [2017]. The importance of oral health care during pregnancy. Portland, ME: Before the First Tooth, 1 p.

Annotation: This report for health professionals provides information about the importance and safety of oral health during pregnancy and survey results from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System in Maine. Also included is information about ways that Before the First Tooth, Maine’s perinatal infant and oral health quality-improvement initiative, can help practices adopt best practice approaches to integrating oral health into prenatal care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Maine, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys

MaineHealth. 2017. Oral health during pregnancy. Portland, ME: Before the First Tooth, 1 p.

Annotation: This infographic summarizes results of a survey focusing on oral health during pregnancy administered to oral health professionals (dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants) in Maine in 2016. It provides information about the percentage of respondents who agreed that women should receive preventive oral health care and that it is safe to take X-rays during pregnancy. The infographic also provides information on the percentage of respondents who use the prenatal visit to provide anticipatory guidance about oral health care to pregnant women and respondents who believe there are restrictions on providing oral health treatment to pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Maine, Oral health care, Pregnant women, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys

Market Decisions Research and Hart Consulting. 2015. 2016 statewide shared community health needs assessment [rev.]. Augusta, ME: MaineGeneral Health, 262 pp.

Annotation: This report contains quantitative health data and qualitative stakeholder survey data on health issues affecting people in Maine. Contents include population and demographic profiles and overall findings for the state. Additional contents include information on socioeconomic status; general health and mortality; access to and quality of health care including oral health care;chronic diseases; environmental health; immunization and infectious disease; intentional and unintentional injury and occupational health; pregnancy and birth outcomes; children with special health care needs; mental health; physical activity, nutrition, and weight; public health emergency preparedness; substance abuse; tobacco use; and stakeholder input. County summaries are also available.

Contact: MaineGeneral Health, 35 Medical Center Parkway, Augusta, ME 04330, Telephone: (855) 464-4463 (4MGH INFO) Web Site: https://www.mainegeneral.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Health status, Maine, Needs assessment, Population surveillance, Public health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Maine Children's Alliance. 2014. Health coverage for Maine families with children in 2014. Augusta, ME: Maine Children's Alliance, 11 pp. (Health policy brief)

Contact: Maine Children's Alliance, 303 State Street, Augusta, ME 04330, Telephone: (207) 623-1868 Fax: (207) 626-3302 Web Site: http://www.mekids.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Child health, Enrollment, Families, Health insurance, Health policy, Low income groups, Maine, State Initiatives

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program. 2013. Dental clinics and services for low income persons in Maine (upd. ed.). Augusta, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 31 pp.

Annotation: This directory to assist health and social service professionals and their clients in locating dentists in Maine. Contents include lists of clinics and health centers organized by county; lists of state-funded assistance programs including MaineCare and regional offices; and other resources such as American Indian and Alaska Native Tribal programs, state agencies and organizations, rural and community health centers, statewide resources, and preventive dental hygiene programs.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 11 State House Station, Key Plaza, Fifth Floor, Augusta, ME 04333, Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/population-health/odh Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental care, Directories, Financing, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Special health care needs, State programs, Work force

Ferry GA, Ireys HT, Foster L, Devers KJ, Smith L. 2013. How are CHIPRA demonstration states approaching practice-level quality measurement and what are they learning?. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 6 pp. (National evaluation of the CHIPRA Quality Demonstration Grant Program: Evaluation highlight no. 1)

Annotation: This report discusses early accomplishments, challenges, and lessons learned from four states (Maine, Massachusetts, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania) that are pursuing practice-level quality measurements aimed at improving child health care under the Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA) Quality Demonstration Grant Program. The report describes the states’ efforts to select meaningful measures, adapt health plan and state-level measures for practice-level reporting, and use technology to collect measurement data.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children', Data collection, Demonstration programs, Maine, Massachusetts, Measures, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Program evaluation, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. Oral health in Maine. Augusta, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 63 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the burden of oral diseases in children and adults in Maine, including data on access to care, prevalence of oral diseases and oral-health-related risk behaviors, and the oral health work force in the state. The report also addresses the oral disease burden in specific population groups, such as children with special health care needs, children enrolled in MaineCare (Maine’s Medicaid program), pregnant women, and adults ages 65 and older. Comparisons are made to national data when possible and to Healthy People 2010 objectives.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 11 State House Station, Key Plaza, Fifth Floor, Augusta, ME 04333, Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/population-health/odh Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Data, Healthy People 2010, Low income groups, Maine, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Risk factors, State programs

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Oral Health Program. 2012. Guidelines for mobile/portable dental care programs working in school administrative units. Augusta, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Oral Health Program, 6 pp.

Annotation: These guidelines are designed for evaluating proposals for establishing school-based oral health programs. The guidelines focus on helping to ensure the health and safety of all students who receive services provided by mobile and portable oral health programs in school-based settings and on helping to ensure that such services are coordinated and documented.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 11 State House Station, Key Plaza, Fifth Floor, Augusta, ME 04333, Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/population-health/odh Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Guidelines, Maine, Mobile health units, Oral health, School health programs, State programs

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Maine CDC Oral Health Program. 2012. Final report, targeted state MCH oral health service systems grant. Augusta, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Population Health, Oral Health Program, 10 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This report describes Maine’s Kids Oral Health Partnership, which focuses on oral health training for professionals who serve young children. Topics include educating, building awareness, and integrating oral health into existing health-delivery systems, as well as enabling non-oral-health professionals to recognize and understand oral diseases and conditions and to provide anticipatory guidance, preventive interventions, and referral for improved oral health and oral health access. Report contents include an introduction to the project and its goals, outcomes by objective, and a summary of efforts to sustain the work. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Final reports, Health services delivery, Maine, Oral health, Professional training, State initiatives, Young children

Center for Health Workforce Studies. 2012. Oral health in Maine: A background report. Rensselaer, NY: Center for Health Workforce Studies, 132 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study of oral health needs and the oral health work force in Maine. The report is based on information collected during a literature review about oral health in Maine and in the United States. Topics include the oral health of Maine’s population; financing; service providers, including providers working in safety net and school-based programs; and the oral health work force (dentists, dental hygienists, dental assistants, and denturists).

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care financing, Health services delivery, Maine, Needs assessment, Oral health, State surveys, Trends, Work force

Maine State Legislature, Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability. 2012. Child development services: Implementing comprehensive program management, encouraging responsible stewardship of resources, and developing data to support management decisions could improve efficiency and cost effectiveness. Augusta, ME: Maine State Legislature, Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability, 73 pp. (exec. summ. 3 pp.).

Annotation: This report examines the management of Maine's Child Development Services, which provides services to children with disabilities from birth through age five in accordance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), focusing on costs and fiscal management of the program. It discusses oversight, funding and budget, program reporting, processes and controls, delivering services, and cost analysis, and makes recommendations for management and legislative actions.

Contact: Maine State Legislature, Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability, Cross State Office Building, 82 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333, Telephone: (207) 287-1901 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/legis/opega/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Maine, Program evaluation, Special education, State programs, Young children

Maine Families, Maternal, Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) Project. 2011. Maine state plan (Upd. ed.). [Augusta, ME]: Maine Department of Health and Human Services Maternal, Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) Project, 114 pp.

Annotation: This state plan for Maine's maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting program identifies the state's at-risk communities; describes the program's goals and objective; presents the proposed home visiting model and an explanation of how it meets the needs of identified communities; describes the program implementation plan, the plan for meeting legislatively managed benchmarks, the plan for program administration, and the plan for continuous quality improvement; and discusses technical assistance needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, 221 State Street, Augusta, ME 04333, Telephone: (207) 287-3707 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-3005 E-mail: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/contactus.shtml#program_questions Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Early childhood development, Families, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant development, Infant health, Legislation, Low income groups, Maine, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Pregnant women, Prevention, State programs, Young children