Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This videotape profiles the school-based health center at Foxcroft Academy in Dover, Maine. It shows adolescents and adults discussing kids' lives and problems, describes the mixed community reception to the health center, discusses the benefits of continuity for those without other access to health care, and profiles services available to students and teachers.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Maine, School based clinics, Videotapes

Annotation: This paper discusses the total health assessment of a pediatric patient at one clinic visit carried out in a Children and Youth Program Title II project. Staffing, the site and demography of the program, procedure, scheduling of patients, screening elements, and case review and evaluation are explained. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Clinics, Comprehensive health care, Federal MCH programs, Pediatric care

Annotation: This project addressed the problem of fecal incontinence in children with myelomeningocele by developing an affordable instructional package for health care providers and a parent instruction program in order to help these children develop bowel control. Improvement was documented in half the children using this systematic home-based method. The training program included a videotape and written provider and parent manuals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152999.

Keywords: Bowel Control, Chronically Ill, Home-Based Health Care, Meningomyelocele, Parent Education Clinics, Spina Bifida Association, Spina Bifida Incontinence, Toilet Training

Annotation: This project established a model program for the coordination of early identification and assessment services for infants 0-3 years of age at high risk for major handicaps. It aimed to make appropriate developmental screening available as close as possible to the infant's home community, to provide the necessary developmental screening training to local health and educational service providers, and to provide the regional coordination for the many agencies and professional involved. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-156693.

Keywords: Clinics, Coordination of Health Care, Early Intervention, Education of Health Professionals, High risk infants, Rural Population, Screening

Annotation: This document provides data on services rendered to mentally retarded children in fiscal year 1969 by clinics supported in whole or in part by federal grants under Title V of the Social Security Act. The library also holds instructions and forms for reporting similar data in other years (1956, 1960, and 1974).

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: NCSS Report MR-1 (FY 69).

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Clinics, Mental retardation, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide for health center staff describes a set of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies designed to foster integration of oral health care into primary care. The guide also provides information about three pilot projects’ experiences related to implementing the competencies. Contents include recommendations to inform planning, training systems, health information systems, clinical care systems, and evaluation systems.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Clinics, Community health centers, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Program development, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes programmatic efforts of the Integrating Oral Health Care and Primary Care Learning Collaborative: A State and Local Partnership project to integrate oral health care and prenatal care with both a state and a local component. The report discusses project team selection, the state-level approach, the local-level approach, use of stipend funds and in-kind support, and integration of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies into prenatal care at the participating clinic site. The report’s executive summary is also available separately.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Clinics, Local programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This manual provides professional recommendations and states’ expectations for school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) under the Ohio Department of Health (ODH). Contents include local program operations, regulatory compliance, compliance with ODH policies, SBSP eligibility, sample program forms, site assessment, infection control, clinical materials and methods, quality assurance, performance benchmarks and standards, reporting, ODH program reviews, compliance with other ODH requirements, Medicaid billing and collection, reimbursement, and filing claims. The appendices contain sample forms, records, letters, and other practice-related materials.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Dental sealants, Forms, Guideline adherence, Manuals, Ohio, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This paper provides background on how community health centers (CHCs) can collaborate with academic institutions, residency programs, and other training programs to offer service-learning opportunities and foster increased interest in CHC careers among the next generation of the oral health workforce. The paper discusses a range of collaborative program models and considerations for CHCs related to developing an academic and/or training partnership. Also discussed are the benefits of academic partnerships, characteristics of successful partnerships, and challenges. A planning checklist is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinics, Collaboration, Oral heath, Program planning, Programs, Service learning, Training programs

Annotation: This directory is a resource for consumers and for health professionals and social services providers in Maine to help them assist clients who do not have a regular dentist with getting oral health care. The directory describes clinics and agencies in Maine that either provide oral health care or can help these individuals access care. Information is provided on services the clinic or agency provides, eligibility guidelines, and where to get more information. State-funded assistance programs, tribal health programs, rural community health centers, and other potential sources of care are included. Clinics and agencies are organized by county.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinics, Eligibility, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Public agencies, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This paper provides information about a series of analyses conducted to explore oral health outcomes in federally qualified health center (FQHC) populations vs. non-FQHC populations. Topics include FQHCs and the safety net system, care innovations in FQHCs, FQHCs as a conduit for value-based payment transformation, methods, analyses results, and the impact of COVID-19 on FQHCs. Questions about how FQHCs can adapt during the COVID-19 pandemic are addressed, and key findings are included.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Clinics, Disease transmission, Health services, Infectious diseases, Low income groups, Oral health, Virus diseases

Annotation: This manual provides information about the Maryland Mighty Tooth School Dental Sealant Program. It presents general program information and administrative protocols and discusses the following topics: operating effective community programs; tooth-surface selection, materials, and sealant application techniques; assessment and data collection; health-education curricula; and training. Sample letters and forms are included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Guidelines, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, School age children, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This manual is designed to help dental clinic staff with all aspects of clinic development and ongoing operations. Chapter topics include essential elements, facilities and staffing, finances, administrative operations, quality management, and clinical operations. Links to sample policies, efficiency tips, professional standards, supply lists, floor plans, design tips, equipment photographs, customizable budget worksheets, funding strategies, quality-improvement plans, fact sheets, and websites are included. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Dental care, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Professional training, Program management

Annotation: This summary of opportunities for clinic staff and providers describes five strategies to help increase the rate of adolescent well-visits.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Clinics, Disease prevention, Prevention services, Young adults

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of a national preconception outreach and education initiative for young men and women and clinicians. Contents include media metrics following the launch of national consumer website and social media platform to increase the visibility of preconception health messages and provide young adults with essential, evidence-based information to improve their health, reduce their risks, and improve birth outcomes. Topics include launch results and analytic snapshot and information about the related grantee and preconception peer educator ambassador programs. Additional contents summarize the impact of a partnership to integrate preconception health into routine clinical care using a learning collaborative, peer-reviewed publications, a website, traditional media, social media, expanded conversations, conferences and webinars, and a national newsletter.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Mass media, Measures, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This reference manual provides information about operating a dental public health program in Virginia. Topics include patient care, community program operations, dental sealant program operations, professional development, and resources. Contents include agreements, guidelines, plans, procedures, protocols, standards, surveys, trainings, and videos. Some resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Program descriptions, Protocols, Public health dentistry, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Virginia

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: This tool contains county-level information on child health, education, and socioeconomic status that can be searched, mapped, downloaded, and compared to national averages. Users can also map, filter, and display key characteristics of public school and school-based health center locations. A user manual and video tutorials are provided.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Education, Information systems, Integrated information systems, Maps, School based clinics, Schools, Socioeconomic status