Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (26 total).

Amah G, Jura M, Mertz E. 2019. Practice patterns of postgraduate dental residency completers from select long-term HRSA-funded primary dental care training programs. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Resource Center, 54 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to examine practice patterns of graduates of primary care dental postgraduate training programs with a history of Health Resources and Services Administration funding. The study aims were to assess the impact of graduates’ training experience on current practice patterns and subsequent patient access to care and to measure the long-term impact of these programs on improving dentists’ capacity to meet the needs of those who are underserved. The report provides background and discusses study methods, findings, and limitations. A discussion of the findings, including information about policy implications, is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, College of Integrated Health Sciences, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental schools, Dentists, Graduate education, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Research

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development. 2015. MCHB graduate education programs support Title V block grant transformation: Collaboration to advance shared goals. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, 8 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau's graduate education training programs. Topics include programs' areas of expertise and efforts to collaborate with state Title V programs to address regional, state, and local maternal and child health needs and priorities through technical assistance, consultation, continuing education and training, and work force and leadership development. Examples of collaborative activities are included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Collaboration, Continuing education, Developmental disabilities, Federal programs, Graduate education, Leadership, MCH training programs, Multidisciplinary approach, Nutrition, Technical assistance, Work force

Eden J, Berwick D, Wilensky G, eds.; Institute of Medicine, Committee on the Governance and Financing of Graduate Medical Education. 2014. Graduate medical education that meets the nation's health needs. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 256 pp.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-30355-2.

Link

Keywords: Analysis, Data, Graduate education, Medical education, Physicians, Studies

Council on Graduate Medical Education. 2014. The role of graduate medical education in the new health care paradigm. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 34 pp. (Council on Graduate Medical Education twenty-second report)

Annotation: This report will discuss the expansion of graduate medical education (GME) clinical training in ambulatory and community settings, reconstructing the funding mechanisms under Medicare, and ensuring accountability and transparency of funding of GME.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Financing, Graduate education, Medical education, Primary care

Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health. 2014. A master of public health degree for the 21st century (rev.). Washington, DC: Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 6 pp. (Framing the Future)

Annotation: This report provides guidance for an overall reframing of the masters in public health degree. Contents include key considerations, design features, and critical content intended to guide the purposeful transition to a 21st century model of public health education at the professional master's level.

Contact: Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 1900 M Street, NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-1099 Fax: (202) 296-1252 E-mail: info@aspph.org Web Site: http://www.aspph.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Curriculum development, Graduate education, Professional education, Public health, Trends

[U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development]. [2013]. Integrating women's health into schools of public health curricula. [Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development], 9 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes the process and outcomes of five projects to improve graduate student understanding of women's health and support institutional commitment to women's health. Topics include creating experiential learning opportunities for public health graduate students, fostering new didactic learning opportunities, and integrating women's health material into existing courses. The brief also includes information on women's health curricula offered by 13 federally-funded schools of public health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Keywords: Curricula, Curriculum development, Graduate education, MCH training programs, Women', s health

Endres J, ed. 2013. Strategies for success: Curriculum guide (didactic and experiential learning): Graduate programs in public health nutrition. Association of Graduate Programs in Public Health Nutrition,

Annotation: This curriculum provides guidelines useful in planning, implementing, and evaluating the didactic segment of field experiences for graduate level training in public health nutrition. The curriculum provides knowledge and skill statements, and goals and objectives statements as the basis for field experiences. The appendix provides several documents which may be useful to the public health field experience coordinator. These include the American Dietetic Association's core knowledge and performance statements, potential benefits, responsibilities, student success tips, written agreements, plans, and field experience evaluation forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, Jessie Harris Building, Room 229, 1215 W. Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37996-1920, Telephone: (865) 974-5445 Fax: (865) 974-3491 E-mail: nutrition@utk.edu Web Site: http://nutrition.utk.edu Order from the website for a charge.

Link

Keywords: Curricula, Graduate education, Public health nutrition

Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. [2005]. Beyond women's health: Incorporating sex and gender differences into graduate public health curricula. Rockville, MD: Office of Women's Health, Health Resources and Services Administration, 54 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses a study that addresses women's health education in the 34 accredited school of public health in the United States. The aim of the study was to assess how women's health is addressed in required and elective courses for the Master of Public Health degree. The report includes an executive summary, a summary of findings, focus group findings, student and recent alumni survey findings, women's health elective courses in schools of public health, a summary and conclusions, and recommendations. A list of references is also included. The report includes five appendices: (1) participating Associated Schools of Public Health member schools, (2) women's health interest group and expert advisory group, (3) methods, (4) women's health elective courses, and (5) resource materials.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: https://www.womenshealth.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Education, Focus groups, Graduate education, Public health, Research, Sex factors, Students, Women', s health

Council on Graduate Medical Education. 2005. Minorities in medicine: An ethnic and cultural challenge for physician training–An update. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 60 pp. (Council on Graduate Medical Education seventeenth report)

Annotation: This report summarizes progress on increasing the number and proportion of underrepresented minorities in medicine and strengthening cultural competency in physicians. The report also recommends ways to support the academic pipeline to facilitate minority entry into medical school, strengthen upstream (institutional and policy) efforts in medical training, and ensure cultural competence in medicine and medical education.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Graduate education, Literature reviews, Medical education, Medicine, Minority groups, Physicians, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Training

Alexander GR, Petersen DJ, Pass MA, Slay M, Chadwick C. 2001. Graduate and continuing education needs in maternal and child health: Report of a national needs assessment, 2000-2001. Birmingham, AL: Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute, 112 pp., exec. summ. 9 pp.).

Annotation: This report is a national assessment of the long-term graduate and continuing education needs of the maternal and child health workforce. The report describes the purpose and methodology of the study and its limitations. Results are discussed in six sections: respondents and response rates; graduate education needs and barriers; continuing education needs; modalities for continuing education; barriers to and capacity for continuing education; and priorities. Two additional sections offer conclusions and recommendations. The appendices include the needs assessment form, advisory committee meeting agenda and membership list, and the 1992 report on continuing and long-term graduate education needs of Title V programs. Statistical data are provided in table and chart formats throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute, University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Public Health, Department of Maternal and Child Health, Ryals Public Health Building, 1665 University Boulevard, Birmingham, AL 35294, Telephone: (205) 934-6426 Fax: (206) 934-8248 E-mail: alexandg@uab.edu Web Site: http://www.soph.uab.edu/mch-leadership/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Continuing education, Graduate education, MCH training, Maternal health, National surveys, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Surveys

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Research, Training and Education. 2000. Maternal and child health training program: [Fact sheets]. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Research, Training and Education, 15 pp.

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Syversen EL, ed. 1998. Future of maternal and child health: Implications for academic program development—Summary report. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 27 pp.

Annotation: This is a summary report of a meeting of academicians; health care providers; health policymakers; representatives from federal, state, and local government; advocates; and students to assess the current status of the maternal and child health (MCH) field and determine the future of MCH graduate education. Appendices include the conference agenda, conference planning committee, and conference participants list. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHK059.

Link

Keywords: Conferences, Graduate education, MCH training

Iwaishi L, Taba S, Howard-Jones A, Brockman D, Yamashita L, Ambrose A. 1998. Training on family-centered interprofessional collaboration: A manual for pediatric residents. Honolulu, HI: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 165 pp.

Annotation: This training manual, designed for pediatric residents and other graduate students in helping professions, promotes the attitudes, skills, and knowledge required for providing family-centered services, specifically through interprofessional collaboration. The purpose of the training is to make participants aware of the positive value of family-centered, collaborative care and of professionals' role in providing such care. The concepts contained in the manual derive from two major schools of thought with regard to serving families: (1) family-centered care is the most effective care because families have opportunities to participate in decisions about their child's health care and education and (2) interprofessional collaboration recognizes that professionals interdependently—rather than independently—meet the multiple priorities and diverse needs of families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Contact Phone: (808) 536-7702 Ext. 2224 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: s_taba@aloha.net Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Curricula, Early childhood educators, Families, Family centered services, Graduate education, Hawaii, Interdisciplinary collaboration, Internship and residency, Manuals, Nurses, Pediatricians, Personnel, Professional education, Service delivery, Social workers, Special education, Students, Teachers, Training

Coffman J, Mertz E, and Pew Health Professions Commission. 1998. [Beyond the Balanced Budget Act of 1997: Strengthening federal GME policy] Executive summary. San Francisco, CA: Pew Health Professions Commission, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to offer Congress, the Administration, and others concerned with federal graduate medical education (GME) policy a road map for moving beyond the reforms in Medicare GME policy enacted as part of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997. The report begins with the Pew Commission's rationale for advocating a continued federal subsidy for GME and related activities of teaching institutions. From there, it proceeds to enumerate the shortcomings in Medicare GME policy that remain unresolved despite the enactment of significant Medicare GME policy reforms as part of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997. Finally, the report presents the Pew Commission's vision for federal GME policy and its recommendations for reforms of federal GME policy consistent with this vision. In addition to the main body, the report contains an executive summary, three appendices (source of GME funding, the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, and implication of the commission's recommendations for U.S. physician supply), and endnotes.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Healthforce Center for Research and Leadership Development, 3333 California Street, Suite 410, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-8181 E-mail: healthforcecenter@ucsf.edu Web Site: http://healthforce.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal program, Graduate education, Medical education, Medicare, Physicians, Public policy, Reform

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1997. Maternal and Child Health Center for Leadership in Communication Disorders Education: Application kit for CFDA 93.110TC—Application guidance, including form PHS-6025-1. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 25 pp.

Annotation: This document explains the communications disorders education grant application process. It includes Bureau directives, lists specific requirements and program elements for an MCH center for leadership in communication disorders education, and explains the application process. Appendices include additional instructions and guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Applications, Audiologists, Communication disorders, Federal grants, Graduate education, Leadership, MCH training programs, Speech pathologists

Iwaishi L, Taba S, Howard-Jones A, Brockman D, Ambrose A. 1997. Training on family-centered interprofessional collaboration: Facilitator's manual (Draft). Honolulu, HI: Health and Education Collaboration Project, Hawaii Medical Association, 157 pp.

Contact: Hawaii Medical Association, Health and Education Collaboration Project, 1360 South Beretania Street, Second Floor, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 536-7702 Fax: (808) 528-2376 E-mail: s_taba@aloha.net Out of print.

New York Medical College, Graduate School of Health Sciences. 1997. Future of maternal and child health: Implications for academic program development—September 28-29, 1997. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This notebook from the conference Future of Maternal and Child Health: Implications for Academic Program Development, held in New York, New York, on September 28-29, 1997, includes the following materials: (1) an agenda, (2) background materials, (3) papers presented at the conference, (4) a participants list, and (5) an evaluation form. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Conferences, Graduate education, MCH training

Searcy JA, Baldwin V. 1996. Interprofessional education and training, integrated services concerns: An annotated bibliography. Monmouth, OR: Western Oregon State College, Teaching Research Division, 73 pp. (Annotated bibliography; v. 2)

Annotation: This annotated bibliography is prepared to disseminate information to assist colleges and universities in preparing health service professionals to understand and coordinate services to children and their families through preservice or inservice education and training. It is organized in the following sections, alphabetically by author's name: Interprofessional preservice education and inservice training programs; distance education/distance learning; interprofessional issues of integrated services; descriptions, models, evaluations of integrated services programs; resource directories and bibliographies; and publications of interest, including books, journal articles, reports, and videos. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Bibliographies, Children, Community health services, Education programs, Family centered services, Graduate education, Interdisciplinary training

Lehman CM, Searcy JA. 1995. Higher education curricula for integrated services providers: Annotated bibliography. Monmouth, OR: Western Oregon State College, Teaching Research Division, 71 pp. (Annotated bibliography; v.1)

Annotation: This annotated bibliography is prepared to disseminate information to assist colleges and universities in preparing health service professionals to understand and coordinate services at the local level for families with at risk children and youth. The books, papers, manuscripts and articles listed are organized alphabetically by author in the following sections: descriptions and evaluations of integrated service programs; policies, practices, and theories; technical assistance programs; interprofessional education and training programs; resource directories and bibliographies; and publications for understanding challenges facing children and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Bibliographies, Curricula, Education programs, Family centered services, Graduate education, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Interdisciplinary training

Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program. 1995. Assessment of MCH/MPH interest: Dallas, Texas—Spring 1995. Boston, MA: Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 12 pp. (report), 3 pp. (conference materials).

Annotation: This report is the result of a survey done during the 1995 annual meeting of the American College of Nurse-Midwives in Dallas, Texas. The purpose of the survey was to determine the need for and possible foci of MCH graduate and continuing education programs. The survey provided data about the highest degree earned, barriers to obtaining a Masters degree in Public Health, interest in specific course offerings, and how the professional role of the respondent would be enhanced by such offerings. The assessment report is accompanied by a conference paper on the same subject. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston University School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 715 Albany Street, Talbot Building, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 638-5375 Fax: (617) 638-5370 E-mail: askmch@bu.edu Web Site: http://sph.bu.edu/Degree-Programs-and-ConcentrationsSub-Pages/master-of-public-health-concentration-in-maternal-a-child-health/menu-id-617114.html Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, MCH training, MCH training programs, Nurse midwives, Public health education, Statistics, Surveys