Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper seeks to establish a theoretical rationale for task delegation of nursing personnel based on the concept of independent and delegated functioning. Preliminary findings from a study of how a sample of projects are utilizing nursing and other personnel in performance of selected tasks is also presented, along with their view as to ideal utilization of personnel for performing these tasks, and the consensus of their judgment as to the type, whether independent or delegated, each task is deemed to be. Such task analysis is discussed as the first step in developing the criteria for interchangeability of personnel and delegation of tasks, and for optimal utilization of personnel within comprehensive health care programs. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Nurses, Personnel management, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This paper compares the philosophy, theory and practice of nursing and social work to find to what extent overlapping, similarities, and divergencies may exist between them. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Children and Youth Projects, Nurses, Program evaluation, Social workers

Annotation: This 3-year demonstration project sought to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of health services for adolescents detained or housed in institutional settings within the State Juvenile Service Agency (JSA). The overall purpose was to establish a link between the state Title V agency and the Juvenile Services Agency to assist the JSA to (1) determine the particular characteristics, health needs, and concerns of their adolescent population and (2) develop and manage appropriate comprehensive health systems as a model for the nation. The project designed a health information system (consisting of a personal computer using D-Base III plus software) to monitor the health status of the population and a training handbook for Juvenile Justice personnel. Information obtained regarding health status of the population was used in designing training materials for juvenile justice staff. Further training needs were identified by conducting an in-depth needs assessment and analysis. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB91-242008.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Adolescents, Continuing Education, High risk adolescents, Juvenile Delinquents, Nurses

Annotation: This grant sponsored a symposium to improve adolescent approaches to health care through providing health professionals with new, innovative, and practical approaches to adolescent health care delivery. Issues addressed were: reaching the adolescent client; the application of physiological, cognitive, emotional, social, and behavioral theories to adolescent health care; and specific adolescent problems such as adolescent pregnancy and parenting, drug abuse, suicide, and body image; and sexuality in the disabled adolescent. Program emphasis was on the team and multi-disciplinary approach to effective adolescent health care delivery. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196731.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nurses Physicians Social Workers, Professional education

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to conduct a workshop for nutritionists, nurses, physicians, and other health professionals to update knowledge of nutritional needs of chronically ill/handicapped children, identify screening and referral procedures and develop a plan for improving nutrition services through Title V programs in the 13 states comprising Region IV and VI. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196749.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Nurses, Nutrition, Nutrition screening, Nutritionists, Physicians, Professional education

Annotation: The overall goal of this project was to develop a replicable system of family-centered, community-based case management for children with special health care needs in a frontier State. Targeted communities were under 20,000 in population and served areas at least 50 miles from a level II facility. The project objectives were to: (1) Upgrade case management and assessment skills of local public health nurses; (2) develop family-centered, community-based case management programs that address the needs of the family and the child with special needs; and (3) develop community-based teams that empower families to actively participate in identifying and meeting educational, social, psychological, health, and financial needs for themselves and the child with special needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158640.

Keywords: Case Management, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Care, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Public Health Nurses, Rural Populations

Annotation: This project sought to demonstrate that a system of reimbursable, cost-effective, home-based support services can be implemented for families with chronically ill children. The project objectives were to facilitate the provision of home-based care for chronically ill children through the following activities: (1) Developing a regional network of medically skilled respite providers; (2) establishing self-help mutual support groups for chronically ill children and their parents and siblings; (3) training professionals, paraprofessionals, and volunteers; and (4) disseminating project findings and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158699.

Keywords: Arthritis, Asthma, Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Congenital Heart Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Families, Feeding Disorders, Hemophilia, Home-Based Health Care, Kidney Disease, Leukemia, Low income groups, Muscular Dystrophy, Nurses, Respiratory Technologies, Respite Care, Sick Kids (Need) Involved People (SKIP), Sickle Cell Disease, Support Groups, Tay-Sachs Disease, Ventilator Dependence

Annotation: This statement presents the position of the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) on the importance of mitigating the causes and outcomes of structural racism and bias in maternity care settings. It includes background information on racial and ethnic disparities in maternal health and a call to action for perinatal nurses who play a crucial role during pregnancy, labor, birth, and the postpartum period. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Maternal health, Nurses, Perinatal care, Policy, Racism, Social bias

Annotation: This report provides a summary of resources that school nurses can consult as they consider when and whether to go back to school and, once back, whether to conduct oral health screenings. It provides background about tooth decay during childhood and about the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the provision of oral health care. Also discussed are identification of children who need oral health care, communication, and infection-control measures.

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Prevention, School health, School nurses, Screening tests, Virus Diseases

Annotation: This infographic provides information to help school nurses ensure that children get the oral health care they need during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides information about the problems that tooth decay in childhood cause and includes instructions on how to conduct verbal assessments and oral health screenings. Information about the personal protective equipment required to safely conduct oral health screenings is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Prevention, School health, School nurses, Screening tests, Virus diseases

Annotation: This teaching strategy, which is geared toward school nurses, focuses on developing oral health competencies to educate parents and children about the importance of oral health and oral hygiene, fluoride, and having a dental home. It also provides information about how to recognize abnormalities in the mouth. The strategy includes an overview, learning objectives, learner pre-work, suggested learning activities, and suggested reading.

Contact: National League for Nursing, The Watergate, 2600 Virginia Avenue, NW, Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (800) 669-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nln.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Oral health, Oral hygiene, School health, School nurses, Training

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the role of school nurses in improving student academic achievement and decreasing absenteeism by helping students with chronic health conditions manage their condition. Topics include providing direct care such as giving children medications, providing case management, and advocating for students and their families to help them get the resources and support they need.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Elementary schools, Families, Family support services, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Program coordination, Role, School age children, School nurses, Students

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 15, 2014, describes oral health issues among children and adolescents and how school nurses can identify and use evidence-based resources to promote oral health and improve access to oral health care. Topics include conducting risk assessments, planning and implementing prevention programs, and mobilizing community partners to leverage resources and advocate for oral health in school-age children and adolescents.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Community action, Health promotion, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Program planning, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health programs, School nurses, Schools

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This report describes the 2008-2013 project to address Spanish language and culture barriers between Spanish-speaking women and their obstetric health care providers at Baptist Hospital in Nashville, Tennessee, through the development of a Bilingual Nurse Advocate (BNA) program. Contents include goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, publications and products produced, dissemination and utilization of results, as well as future plans and sustainability. Appendices include Spanish language samples of publications developed during the program [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Final reports, Language barriers, Nurses, Obstetrical nursing, Patient advocacy, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This videocast outlines school nurses' role in providing oral health leadership in school settings. Topics include providing oral health information and resources, establishing parent partnerships, providing preventive oral health care, and responding to dental emergencies.

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Emergencies, Health care delivery, Leadership, Multimedia, Oral health, School health services, School nurses, Videos

Annotation: These standards address the information skills needed by nursing students at the associate, baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral levels and are written for nursing faculty and librarians who support nursing programs and nursing students in academic settings and for continuing education in the nursing profession. They cover: (1) determining the nature and extent of the information needed; (2) accessing needed information effectively and efficiently; (3) critically evaluating the information found; (4) using the information effectively; and (5) understanding economic, legal, and social issues relating to information. The standards describe performance indicators and outcomes.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Research skills, Information literacy, Nurses, Students

Annotation: This fact sheet for school nurses discusses how to handle problems involving dental braces. Contents include a list of tools and supplies, an illustrated description of the components of braces, and a list of treatments. Problems and responses to them are listed in the order of the least severe to the most severe and include food caught between teeth; ligatures coming off; discomfort; mouth sores; irritation of lips or cheeks; protruding wire; loose brackets, wires, or bands; and swallowed components. A presentation and accompanying script are also available for educating school nurses about the needs of students in orthodontic treatment.

Contact: American Association of Orthodontists, 401 North Lindbergh Boulevard, St. Louis, MO 63141-7816, Telephone: (314) 993-1700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2841 Fax: (314) 997-1745 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.braces.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Emergencies, First aid, Injuries, Oral health, Orthodontics, School age children, School nurses, Training materials, Treatment

Annotation: This website, which presents guidelines for Nebraska schools, focuses on the activities and practices of school nurses and other non-nurse school personnel who provide health services. The site includes information about school health services; school nursing scope and standards; individualized health care plans; the role of the school nurse in special education; school health screening; emergency guidelines; guidelines related to methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus in schools, athletics, and child care; and the Medication Aide Act.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Emergencies, Guidelines, Individualized health plans, Legislation, Nebraska, School health services, School heath, School nurses, School personnel, Screening, Special education, State programs