Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (114 total).

Hallstrom BJ, Osterman KE. n.d.. Independent, dependent, and collaborative functioning and the nursing role. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 13 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-2 (13))

Annotation: This paper develops a conceptual model of the process by which health care is delivered by health care practitioners. Independent, dependent, and collaborative functioning are identified. Nursing literature regarding nursing roles and functioning is reviewed and related to the process of providing care. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Nursing

Osterman KE. n.d.. On assessing nursing functioning and services: A selected annotated bibliography. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 12 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-2 (14))

Annotation: This selected annotated bibliography resulted from a review the literature in preparation for writing the paper "Independent, Dependent, and Collaborative Functioning and the Nursing Role." The focus is on the role of nursing in the health care team. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Nursing

Southern Region Emergency Medical Services Council. n.d.. APLS nurse instructor notebook: Nurse track lectures. Anchorage, AK: Southern Region Emergency Medical Services Council, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This training course is intended for pediatric nurses. This document contains information about advanced pediatric life support; topics include the difference between pediatric and adult patients; seizure management; triage; practice cases; and stabilization and transfer. Handouts and a course evaluation form are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Southern Region Emergency Medical Services Council, 6130 Tuttle Place, Anchorage, AK 99507, Telephone: (907) 562-6499 Fax: (907) 562-9893 Web Site: http://www.sremsc.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Pediatric nursing, Training

New York University College of Dentistry and New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing. [2023]. Pediatric oral health interprofessional clerkship guide. New York, NY: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 17 pp.

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Pediatric Oral Health Interprofessional Clerkship. For this program, NYU dental students and pediatric nurse practitioner or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of children in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information on interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and discussion topics.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Infant health, Nursing, Oral health, Referrals, Screening, Students

New York University College of Dentistry and New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing. [2023]. Prenatal oral health interprofessional experience guide. New York, NY: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 15 pp.

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Prenatal Oral Health Interprofessional Experience. For this program, NYU dental students and nurse midwifery or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of pregnant women in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information about interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and suggestions to facilitate student discussion.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Nursing, Oral health, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Students

New York University College of Dentistry and New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing. [2023]. Teaching oral systemic health (TOSH) faculty facilitation guide virtual interprofessional experience. New York, NY: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information on New York University’s (NYU’s) College of Teaching Oral Systemic Health (TOSH) Experience, an interprofessional program that brings together students across health professions. The program is conducted with NYU dental students and nurse midwifery, nurse practitioner, medical, and pharmacy students. Topics include the TOSH protocol, a TOSH flowchart, the time required to complete program activities, a script for a patient visit, a student assignment, student instructions, patient instructions, and sample forms.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Forms, Medical students, Nursing, Oral health, Pharmacy schools, Students

Oral Health Ohio. 2021. Ohio's state oral health plan 2021-2022: Goal--Ohioans know the relationship between oral and systemic health. Cincinnati, OH: Oral Health Ohio, 1 p.

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice. 2019. The OHNEP undergraduate interprofessional oral health faculty tool kit: Resources & stragies for oral health integration. New York, NY: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 30 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for undergraduate faculty provides curricula templates and resources that can be used when integrating oral health into an undergraduate nursing program. Topics include microbiology, anatomy and physiology, pathophysiology, research methods, pharmacology, health assessment and promotion, fundamentals, nursing care of adults and older adults, nursing care of children, maternity and women’s health, community, psychiatric-mental health, leadership in nursing, and professional nursing. Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum is integrated throughout the toolkit.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

Keywords: College students, Curricula, Health promotion, Nursing education, Oral health, Service integration

Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice. 2019. Nurse practitioner and midwifery tool kit. New York, NY: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 7 items.

Annotation: This series of seven toolkits are intended for oral health faculty to download and integrate into their course curricula: (1) Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program, (2) Family Nurse Practitioner Program, (3) Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners Program, (4) Nurse Midwifery Program, (5) Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner Program, (6) Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners Program, and (7) Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program. The toolkits offer classroom, simulation, and clinical teaching-learning strategies that address population health issues that are relevant to promoting the health of women, children, families, and communities.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Health promotion, Mental health, Midwifery, Nursing education, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration

Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and Department of Health. 2016. Rhode Island school health manual model guidelines. Providence, RI: Rhode Island Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and Department of Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: This manual for school nurses and other school health personnel provides recommendations, resources, and guidelines for coordinated school health practice and programs throughout Rhode Island. Topics include the role of the school nurse and school administrator; state statutes, regulations, and requirements; health services including dental screenings; and healthful school environment including statewide bullying policy.

Keywords: Guidelines, Models, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Role, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, School safety

Martinez A. 2016. School attendance, chronic health conditions and leveraging data for improvement: Recommendations for state education and health departments to address student absenteeism. Atlanta, GA: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 23 pp.

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Martinez A. 2016. Opportunities for school and hospital partnership in the management of chronic health conditions. Atlanta, GA; National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 23 pp.

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

National Association of School Nurses and National Association of State School Nurse Consultants. 2016. National school nurse standardized data set: Step Up & Be Counted!. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of School Nurses, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document describes a project to collect and report population-level data to support the health of school-aged children and the impact of school nursing. Topics include data points; the process of developing a uniform data set, and data use. Step Up & Be Counted! was a 3-year data initiative (2014-2016) that was a joint venture between NASN and the National Association of State School Nurse consultants. The National Uniform School Nurse Data Set was created with 15 data elements, and data was collected from 39 states, some with 1 school district reporting and other states with 100% of the schools reporting data into a national data portal. It has been succeeded by a new initiative called "National School Health Data Set: Every Student Counts!".

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Out of print.

Keywords: Data collection, Program descriptions, School age children, School based management, School health, School health services, School nursing, Students

Martinez AK. 2015. State health department leadership in addressing chronic health conditions in schools: Case studies from Massachusetts and Missouri. Atlanta, GA: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 25 pp.

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Edelman CL, Mandle CL, Kudzma EC. 2014. Health promotion throughout the lifespan. (8th ed.). St. Louis, MO: C. V. Mosby Company, 670 pp.

Annotation: This book for nurses provides information on health promotion, with a focus on addressing the goals of the federal government's Healthy People program. It covers foundations for health promotion, assessment, interventions, applications in different age groups from the prenatal period to later adulthood, and current issues and trends.

Keywords: Health promotion, Nursing

Baker D, Davis-Aldritt L, Hebbeler K. 2014. The 'hidden health care system' in California schools and children with special health care needs. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 3 items. (School health and children with special health care needs)

Annotation: These fact sheets present policy recommendations to improve the health care system in schools in California. The content draws from 2011-2012 state education data, interviews with school education experts, and a survey of school nurses. Topics include issues in identifying children with special health care needs at school, who is caring for them at school, and accessing available funds for school-based health services.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Health care systems, Nursing, Policy development, Program improvement, School age children, School health

National Association of Neonatal Nurses. 2014. Baby steps to home. Glenview, IL: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 234 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance for nurses and parents preparing for an infant's discharge from the neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information and references for nurses and modifiable documents that can be printed and handed to parents following discussion about their infant's condition. The parent-focused content is available in English and Spanish. Topics include common issues and diagnoses that parents may encounter while their infant is in the NICU, questions to ask their infant's health professional, and after-discharge tips.

Contact: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 4700 West Lake Ave., Glenview, IL 60025, Telephone: (800) 451-3795 Secondary Telephone: (847) 375-3660 Fax: (888) 477-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nann.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Nursing, Parent education, Patient discharge

Robinson LA, Krol DM. 2014. Interprofessional education and practice: Moving toward collaborative patient-centered care–Part one. Journal of the California Dental Association 42(1):1–70,

Annotation: This issue addresses challenges and opportunities related to interprofessional education and practice for the dentistry profession. Topics include the roles of federal legislation and evolving health care systems in promoting medical-dental collaboration, integrating oral health care and overall health care, and efforts to develop infrastructure for medical-dental integration. Other topics include the impact of the marketplace and emerging concepts on dental practice, and an interprofessional model for dental and nursing education. This is the first of three issues dedicated to interprofessional education and practice.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cda.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Dentistry, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Interdisciplinary approach, Models, Nursing, Professional education, Service integration, Trends

Wisconsin Public Health Association and Medical College of Wisconsin. 2014. WISHeS: Wisconsin Improving School Health Services Project. Kimberly, WI: Wisconsin Public Health Association, multiple items.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Bouressa D. 2013. Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program (Bilingual Nurse Advocate): Final report and abstract. Nashville, TN: Saint Thomas Health Services Fund, Baptist Hospital, 3 files.

Annotation: This report describes the 2008-2013 project to address Spanish language and culture barriers between Spanish-speaking women and their obstetric health care providers at Baptist Hospital in Nashville, Tennessee, through the development of a Bilingual Nurse Advocate (BNA) program. Contents include goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, publications and products produced, dissemination and utilization of results, as well as future plans and sustainability. Appendices include Spanish language samples of publications developed during the program [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Final reports, Language barriers, Nurses, Obstetrical nursing, Patient advocacy, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials