Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This videotape describes the Caring Program for Children and the Children's Health Insurance Program (Blue Cross/Blue Shield's BlueCHIP program) in Pennsylvania. It depicts the health care needs of children living in poverty and children of the uninsured working poor who do not qualify for Medicaid assistance, and explains the unique funding of this collaborative program. Appearances by Fred Rogers of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood" and by local medical and government officials underscore the need for this type of program, the reasons for its success, and the ways that public and private resources can join together to help ensure access to primary health care for children. The videotape concludes with a television clip describing the program on NBC's "America Close Up." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Pennsylvania, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Videotapes

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This website provides a platform for the aging and disability communities to post information and resources about the home and community-based services (HCBS) settings rule and steps each state is making to comply with the rule. Contents include resources, dates and deadlines, documents, news, and other information organized by state. Additional contents include official resources and information from the federal government about the HCBS rule including guidance and a settings requirements and compliance toolkit.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Compliance, Disabilities, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Information sources, Medicaid, Networking, Public private partnerships, Transition planning

Annotation: This oral health plan provides an agenda for achieving a set of objectives to improve oral health equity and well-being for Californians. The plan provides information about the California Partnership, background information about oral health in California, supporting the plan, transitioning the California Oral Health Plan Advisory Committee to the Partnership for Oral Health, and the meaning of "partnership" in the context of the plan. The partnership structure and operations are discussed, and next steps are presented.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Oral health, Oral health equity, Partnerships, Statewide planning

Annotation: This brief highlights two promising examples of partnerships between child care providers and food access initiatives. Both partnerships received grant funding form Walmart Foundation's Healthier Food Access program, which provides support to innovative programs addressing food access. The brief focuses on three strategies: One that supports children and families directly; one that fosters the capacity of child care providers and their ability to support child nutrition in their own care settings; and one that organizes at a systems level to better coordinate efforts that target families with young children. Included are recommendations for building similar partnerships in local communities.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care services, Child nutrition, Community participation, Food, Model programs, Partnerships, Program development, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. The report provides information about MSHS programs, oral health in the programs, and the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Health Center Program. Topics include Head Start, oral health, oral health care, financing oral health care, and planning.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This paper describes the lack of published literature analyzing learning taking place in and with communities that has a demonstrated value to that community and the factors attributable to it, and efforts to build the evidence by establishing a common definition for community-engaged health professional education that is relevant to all health professionals in all disciplines in all settings or context. Contents include elements of the definition. Topics include sustainable community-academic partnerships; collaborative design, delivery, and evaluation; and next steps for building the evidence.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Equal opportunities, Evaluation, Goals, Health occupations, International health, Leadership, Learning, Policy development, Professional education, Public private partnerships, Strategic plans, Sustainability, Training, Underserved communities, Work force

Annotation: This report examines the evidence on the status of health disparities and the research examining the underlying conditions that lead to poor health and health inequities. It also examines and shares examples of solutions implemented in several communities. Topics include the need to promote health equity, the state of health disparities in the United States, the root cause of health inequity, the role of communities in promoting health equity, examples of communities tackling health inequity, policies to support community solutions, partners in promoting health equity in communities, and community tools to promote health equity.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Equal opportunities, Health disparities, Health promotion, Health status, Policy development, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This brief describes a framework for assessing social determinants related to oral health and creating partnerships to improve oral health among children from families with low incomes. It discusses identifying the social determinants of oral health in a community, mapping and mobilizing community resources through partnership, selecting approaches to take action, and evaluating implementation and impact. Example indicators potentially related to oral health, intervention metrics, and a description of how the framework was applied to select an intervention are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community participation, Low income groups, Models, Needs assessment, Oral health, Outcome evaluation, Process evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resource allocation

Annotation: This document defines the term "family leader" and describes the roles for family leaders in the Association for Maternal and Child Health Programs' activities. Topics include title, eligibility criteria, selection process, timeline, and duties.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Contact Phone: (202) 775-1472 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community participation, Consultants, Employment, Families, Leadership, Mentors, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Teaching, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Volunteers, Work force

Annotation: This paper proposes community schools as a strategy for school improvement. Topics include what a community school looks like at the school level, how community schools support provisions in the Every Student Succeeds Act, and how states can support community schools. Information about community school and initiative exemplars, resources, and partners are included.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 X111 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.communityschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community participation, Equal opportunities, Families, Learning, Models, Organizational change, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Relationships, School districts, Schools, Service integration, Social support, Systems development

Annotation: This brief examines the research on community schools, with two primary emphases. First, it explores whether the 2015 federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) opens the possibility of investing in well-designed community schools to meet the educational needs of low-achieving students in high-poverty schools. And second, it provides support to school, district, and state leaders as they consider, propose, or implement a community school intervention in schools targeted for comprehensive support. An online research compendium summarizing the referenced studies referenced is also available.

Contact: Learning Policy Institute, 1530 Page Mill Road, Suite 200, Palo Alto, CA 94303, Telephone: (650) 332-9797 Web Site: https://learningpolicyinstitute.org/ Available from the website.

• Brief
• Online Research Compendium

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Community development, Costs, Federal legislation, Intervention, Leadership, Policy analysis, Poverty, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Service integration, Students, Vulnerability

Annotation: This report summarizes activities and outcomes from a project to integrate and implement preconception care into clinic and community settings. Contents include information about the project's progress toward meeting the goal and objectives, future plans, and dissemination. Topics include reframing and diversifying messages; launching a consumer-facing campaign; partnering with preconception peer educators; implementing a pregnancy intention screening tool; engaging, training, and providing technical assistance to clinics and health care systems; and catalyzing change by convening meetings. Environment, challenges, opportunities, collaboration and observations are discussed.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the impact of a national preconception outreach and education initiative for young men and women and clinicians. Contents include media metrics following the launch of national consumer website and social media platform to increase the visibility of preconception health messages and provide young adults with essential, evidence-based information to improve their health, reduce their risks, and improve birth outcomes. Topics include launch results and analytic snapshot and information about the related grantee and preconception peer educator ambassador programs. Additional contents summarize the impact of a partnership to integrate preconception health into routine clinical care using a learning collaborative, peer-reviewed publications, a website, traditional media, social media, expanded conversations, conferences and webinars, and a national newsletter.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine, Center for Maternal and Infant Health, Old Clinic Building, Room 3018, Campus Box 7181, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7181, Telephone: (919) 843-7865 Fax: (919) 843-7865 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinics, Communication, Community based services, Mass media, Measures, Men', National initiatives, Organizational change, Peer education, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Reproductive health, Screening, Service integration, Technical assistance, Training, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: These resources are designed to raise awareness of birth defects and expand surveillance, prevention, care, and research worldwide. Contents include a video, social media resources, and partner links.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child mortality, Congenital anomalies, Infant mortality, Infants, International health, Mass media, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs