Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This videotape contains parenting information for new fathers. It covers the psychological implications of parenthood and the changes it brings to the parent's life, the physical care of the baby, and an explanation of infant behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-0978 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Fathers, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infant feeding, Parenting, Videotapes

Annotation: This videotape is for new parents and discusses newborn care at home. It covers preparing the home before the baby arrives, normal infant development, and aspects of physical care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant health, Videotapes

Annotation: This project sought to demonstrate that a system of reimbursable, cost-effective, home-based support services can be implemented for families with chronically ill children. The project objectives were to facilitate the provision of home-based care for chronically ill children through the following activities: (1) Developing a regional network of medically skilled respite providers; (2) establishing self-help mutual support groups for chronically ill children and their parents and siblings; (3) training professionals, paraprofessionals, and volunteers; and (4) disseminating project findings and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158699.

Keywords: Arthritis, Asthma, Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Congenital Heart Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Families, Feeding Disorders, Hemophilia, Home-Based Health Care, Kidney Disease, Leukemia, Low income groups, Muscular Dystrophy, Nurses, Respiratory Technologies, Respite Care, Sick Kids (Need) Involved People (SKIP), Sickle Cell Disease, Support Groups, Tay-Sachs Disease, Ventilator Dependence

Annotation: This website outlines public health strategies for supporting breastfeeding. It emphasizes the health benefits of breastfeeding for both infants and mothers and recommends exclusive breastfeeding for about the first 6 months, with continued breastfeeding and introduction of complementary foods up to 12 months or longer. The site highlights the importance of continuity of care in addressing disparities in breastfeeding rates across different racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic groups. It provides examples of tools and programs from various states, including Minnesota, Texas, California, and Wisconsin, that support breastfeeding-friendly practices in health departments, worksites, community health centers, and childcare centers.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding, Breast feeding promotion, Public health

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: This updated policy statement addresses infant feeding from a public health perspective, promoting breastfeeding for optimal health and nutrition. Topics covered include epidemiology, health equity, exclusive breastfeeding, and duration of breastfeeding, as well as contraindications and special circumstances that may make breastfeeding difficult. A companion technical report provides the evidence and basis for the recommendations.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Policy Stataement
• Technical Report

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Policy , Public health

Annotation: This guide explains to mothers the importance of feeding their babies with breastmilk even if they have to use a breast pump, and how to go about pumping, reaching a full milk supply, and weaning from the pump.

Contact: MilkWorks , Trade Center , 5930 South 58th Street, Lincoln , NE 68516, Telephone: (402)423-6402 Web Site: http://www.milkworks.org

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion, Lactation management

Annotation: This literature review analyses interventions that target minority (African-American and Hispanic) women, who are less likely to meet their breastfeeding goals. It concludes that policy and community level interventions delivered through WIC, healthcare facilities, and community agencies are likely to improve breastfeeding outcomes among women of color, and that further research is recommended strongly recommended to conduct large scale implementation research studies addressesing how to strengthen the different health and social environments surrounding women of color in the U.S. to improving their BF outcomes.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion programs, Literature reviews, Minority groups

Annotation: This resource povides information on breastfeeding barriers and support services centered on the needs of populations disproportionately impacted by structural barriers that lead to low rates of breastfeeding. The resource underscores the importance of breastfeeding support services that are continuous, accessible, and coordinated, and provides recommendations and strategies that are consistently supportive of chest/breastfeeding families. The targetedd audience is local-level organizations and individuals that interacts with pregnant and postpartum families.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Breast feeding promotion, Community based services, Lactation management, Public health

Annotation: These resources are designed to help child care centers improve practices and policies that will create healthier environments for infants and children from birth to age 5. Topics include nutrition, physical education, screen time, and infant feeding.

Contact: American Heart Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-4596, Telephone: (800) AHA-USA1 Secondary Telephone: 1-800-242-8721 Web Site: http://www.americanheart.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Evaluation Of Healthy Way To Grow (2020)

Keywords: Behavior change, Child care centers, Health policy, Infant feeding, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This study estimates the effects that increased breastfeeding rates in WIC would have on the number of WIC participants, costs to WIC and Medicaid, and health-related costs that accrue to WIC households or their health insurance providers. It was found that costs of WIC would go up (by over $100M) if rates improved as aimed at, but costs to insurance and health care providers could go down by more than $9B. Since breastfeeding rates among participants in USDA's Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) are lower than the U.S. average, this information could be economically beneficial.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion, Economics, Medicaid, WIC Program

Annotation: This evidence review summarizes the effectiveness of workplace, community, and health care system–based programs and policies aimed at supporting and promoting breastfeeding and addresses maternal health outcomes associated with this recommended feeding method.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Program evaluation

Annotation: This implementation guide / reference document is a resource to support program implementation and management of breastfeeding program activities. It focuses on supporting local-level agencies with limited funds to successfully implement community-level breastfeeding programs, services and activities. Using infographics, webinar links, tools and templates, it explains the public health implications of breastfeeding, inequities in BF rates, and how to address those inequities. NACCHO’s Breastfeeding Project is to increase implementation of evidence-based and innovative breastfeeding programs, practices, and services at the community level, specifically focused on peer and professional lactation support to breastfeeding mothers in predominantly African American and underserved communities.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion, Health inequity, Lactation management, Low-income families, Minority groups, Public health

Annotation: This journal article discusses how the rates of breastfeeding can be improved by home visiting servcies through a process of continuous quality improvement called the Breakthrough Series Collaborative model. From 2013 to 2016, the Home Visiting Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (HV CoIIN) enrolled 15 home visiting agencies serving 1000 families in seven states to increase breastfeeding among participants with very low baseline breastfeeding rates.

Contact: Academic Pediatric Association, 6728 Old McLean Village Drive, McLean, VA 22101, Telephone: (703) 556-9222 Fax: (703) 556-8729 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ambpeds.org/

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding, Home visits, Quality improvement

Annotation: This handbook answers common questions about breastfeeding. The handbook discusses the choice to breastfeed; explains how breastfeeding works; and provides information about getting ready for a newborn, first feedings, special situations, going home, nutrition, common problems, breastfeeding beyond infancy, separations from the infant, the father's role, and weaning.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $15, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-160-9.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Fathers, Infant feeding, Infants, Mothers, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Weaning, Young children

Annotation: This brief describes national and international websites, lists recent publications for consumers and health professionals, and links to breastfeeding organizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding care, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Consumer education materials, Infant feeding, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report explores the nutritional quality and other characteristics of food and drink products marketed to parents for their infants and toddlers (up to age 3). It also examines the messages used to promote these products, and evaluates how well they correspond to expert advice about feeding young children.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Evaluation, Feeding, Feeding, Food, Infants, Marketing, Toddlers

Annotation: This brief summarizes feeding guidelines for pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 2 that are relevant to the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). Topics include WIC services and an overview of the feeding guidelines. The applications of the feeding guidelines in the WIC setting, including staff training on the guidelines, participant education, and breastfeeding support,are also discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Feeding, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC Program

Annotation: This brief summarizes evidence for promoting healthy nutrition in the early care and education setting. Topics include breastfeeding, shaping food preferences among infants and toddlers, the role of the feeding environment and responsive feeding, introducing infants to complementary foods, and recognizing infants’ and toddlers’ hunger and fullness cues. Feeding strategies to reduce the likelihood that children will develop tooth decay are provided. Policy and practice implications are included.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Complementary feeding, Early childhood education, Feeding, Food allergies, Food preferences, Food safety, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Physical activity, Policy development, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This factsheet States that lactation specialists need not be of the same race/culture of their target audience, but that cultural humility and sensitivity are needed in order for them to be effective counselors. It also describes the training in cultural humility provided to all grantees during Year 1 of a project funded in 2015. The training was presented at the 2016 National Head Start Conference, the 2016 California WIC Association, and also requested for 2018 Arizona WIC Conference.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion, Cultural diversity, Lactation management, Minority groups