Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This book provides a framework for understanding the relationship between early childhood education and the capacity to function effectively in a democracy. It offers guidance, examples, methods, and language to help prepare young children to grow within the culture of democracy. Topics include education and democracy; the child-centered classroom; creating a plan for the child-centered classroom; equality; skills, talent, and creativity; encouragement of positive behavior; development of healthy habits; communication with other children, parents, and others; family and community involvement, and the transition to elementary school.

Keywords: Child behavior, Communication, Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Elementary school children, Families, Parents, Preschool children, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: ehdi@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This series of reports is a compilation and analysis of national and U.S. state-by-state data on child population, child poverty, family structure, family income, housing and homelessness, hunger and nutrition, health, early childhood, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence. Changes in key child and national well-being indicators are included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Report
• Search For Other Editions

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Ethnic groups, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This website provides a collection of resources centered around the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's framework for collaboration among Title V, Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV), and other Early Childhood Systems (ECS) programs. The framework focuses on systems building and provides tools for staff from each of the programs to use in aligning their program goals and resources towards a common early childhood goal. The resource is a digitally-accessible update of “A roadmap for collaboration among Title V, home visiting, and early childhood systems programs”, en electronic document developed in partnership with the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau that debuted in 2020.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of research-based practices and policies that state leaders can use to support meaningful family engagement in children's early learning, which ultimately improves child and family outcomes. The document provides links to Federal statutes and policies that require family engagement, evidence-based strategies for promoting family engagement, barriers to fostering family engagement, and problem-solving methods to overcome barriers. In addition, the brief provides examples of successful programs from different states.

Contact: SRI International, 333 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025-3493, Telephone: (650) 859-2000 Web Site: https://www.sri.com

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood education, Family centered services, Family health, Family support programs

Annotation: This brief presents key findings from an evaluation of the Healthy Food Alliance for Early Education (HFAEE), a program designed to improve nutrition and health practices in early childhood education centers and the homes of children facing food insecurity in St. Louis, MO. The brief provides a description of the program components and summarizes the evaluation findings.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Early Childhood Education, Evaluation, Food insecurity, Nutrition programs, Young children

Annotation: This report illustrates four pillars of care: child care and early education, adult and elder care, family caregiving and self care, and professional caregiving. It addresses (1) how existing care systems support households; (2) what the greatest unmet care needs are for households; (3) how design principles can better address care needs; and (4) what promising policy proposals and opportunities exist to improve household financial security.

Contact: Aspen Institute, 2300 N Street, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 736-5800 Fax: (202) 467-0790 Web Site: http://www.aspeninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Costs, Early childhood education, Elder care, Financial support, Public policies

Annotation: This cookbook includes recipes to support children’s healthy growth and development with ingredients that are fresh, low in fat, and high in fiber. The recipes can help early care and education programs meet nutrition standards from the federal Child and Adult Care Food Program. The cookbook is divided into recipes for dairy, fruit, and vegetables. Each recipe includes a list of ingredients, directions, a picture of the prepared recipe, and, where needed, safety tips. Recipes are also available individually. The cookbook and individual recipes are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child nutrition, Cookbooks, Early childhood education, Recipes, Snacks, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This resource focuses on three policy areas with the potential to transform early learning experiences and close opportunity gaps: harsh discipline and its disproportionate application; the segregation of children with disabilities in learning settings; and inequitable and inadequate access to bilingual learning opportunities for dual language and English learners. It addresses ages birth through five and grades kindergarten through 5. It is accompanied by briefs for each topic.

Contact: Children's Equity Project, Arizona State University, T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics, Phoenix, AZ Web Site: https://childandfamilysuccess.asu.edu/cep Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood education, Mental health, Public policy

Annotation: This document makes recommendations for improved program alignment among Title V, home visiting, and early childhood systems programs and suggests steps to take for collaborative action planning. A case study of the Indiana State Department of Health's internal organizational structure for improved early childhood collaboration is included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Update

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This yearbook compares national and state-by-state data on the well-being of infants and toddlers, in the areas of good health, strong families, and positive early learning experiences. The book also describes the indicator selection and ranking process, and giving advocates the tools to connect data to policy.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Tools

Keywords: Early childhood education, Families, Health, Infants, State surveys, Statistics, Toddlers

Annotation: This set of national standards describe evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. Contents include intervention strategies to prevent excessive weight gain in young children. The standards detail opportunities for facilities to work with families. Topics include nutrition requirements for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and school-age children; meal service and supervision; food brought from home; nutrition education; food and nutrition service policies and plans; infant feeding policy; active opportunities for physical activity; playing outdoors; protection from air pollution while children are outside; caregivers/teachers' encouragement of physical activity; policies and practices that promote physical activity; and limiting media and computer time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: info@nrckids.org Web Site: http://nrckids.org Order from the website for a charge (3rd ed); available from the website (2nd ed).

• 3rd Edition
• 2nd Edition

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Infants, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Preschool children, Primary prevention, Program development, School-age children, Standards, Toddlers

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: community@firstthingsfirst.org Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: These two sets of guidelines, one for infants and children from tooth eruption to age 3 and one for children ages 3–6, provide information about toothbrushing in North Carolina preschool programs. Topics include steps for group toothbrushing in preschool programs, toothbrush and storage-rack care, and general toothbrushing information. Helpful hints for group toothbrushing and information about fluoride toothpaste are also included. The guidelines are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: sphcomm@listserv.unc.edu Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Early childhood education, Infant health, North Carolina, Oral health, Spanish language materials, State programs, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines provide information about toothbrushing for children ages 3–7 in North Carolina preschool programs. Topics include steps for group toothbrushing in preschool programs, toothbrush and storage-rack care, and general toothbrushing information. Helpful hints for group toothbrushing and Information about fluoride toothpaste are also included. The guidelines are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: sphcomm@listserv.unc.edu Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Early childhood education, Fluoride, Infant health, North Carolina, Oral health, Spanish language materials, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of stressors that affect childhood development and health, a framework for applying current brain and development science to the real world, a roadmap for implementing tailored interventions, and recommendations about improving systems to better align with our understanding of the significant impact of health equity. It builds upon and updates research from Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development (2000).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health equity, Infants, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit is intended to help state policy leaders and advocates assess the current status of services for infants, toddlers, and their families, and to set priorities for improvement. A user-friendly format allows users to easily access state information from national sources, assess how their state compares to other states, and gather stakeholder input. Topics include an overview, good health, strong families, positive early learning experiences, and collaboration and system building. Additional resources include stakeholder survey questions in an editable Excel format, family survey template as PDF and Survey Monkey templates in English and Spanish, and a list of suggested stakeholders for completing the self-assessment checklist.This toolkit is intended to help state policy leaders and advocates assess the current status of services for infants, toddlers, and their families, and to set priorities for improvement. A user-friendly format allows users to easily access state information from national sources, assess how your state compares to other states, and gather stakeholder input.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood education, Families, Infants, Manuals, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health services, Public policies, Toddlers

Annotation: This document provides case studies on how communities are using their early childhood data to tailor more effective interventions and yield better results. The case studies include: (1) Indianola, MS: organizing the community around the collective goal of having children ready to learn when entering kindergarten; (2) Ventura, CA: improving the quality of early childhood services, focusing on the overall family experience and engaging a consultant to help work with neighborhood partners to achieve data-driven change; and (3) Philadelphia, PA: informing critical public policy decisions by using data to decide which neighborhoods would get new pre-kindergarten slots under a new funding stream.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Data, Early childhood education, Local programs, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: info@ecedata.org Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs