Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information for schools about U.S. Department of Agriculture Smart Snacks in School standards and how to comply with them. The report explains what Smart Snacks are and why they are important, which foods and beverages meet the standards for snacks, and how schools can tell if they are complying with the standards for snacks. Other selected topics include foods and beverages that are exemptions to certain nutrient requirements and how the standards affect school fundraisers.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Nutrition, School age children, School health, Snacks, Standards

Annotation: This flyer provides information for medical providers at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The flyer is intended for use with the parents or other caregivers of CHC patients to help ensure that parents or other caregivers meet goals related to brushing their child’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, giving their child fluoridated water to drink and healthy snacks to eat, and getting oral health care for their child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Regional programs, Snacks, Water intake, Young children

Annotation: This cookbook includes recipes to support children’s healthy growth and development with ingredients that are fresh, low in fat, and high in fiber. The recipes can help early care and education programs meet nutrition standards from the federal Child and Adult Care Food Program. The cookbook is divided into recipes for dairy, fruit, and vegetables. Each recipe includes a list of ingredients, directions, a picture of the prepared recipe, and, where needed, safety tips. Recipes are also available individually. The cookbook and individual recipes are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child nutrition, Cookbooks, Early childhood education, Recipes, Snacks, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of snack food marketing in the United States. Topics include the current status of the nutritional quality of snack foods marketed to children and adolescents on television, the internet, and in schools; the amount of snack food advertising in all media by brand, company, and category including comparisons from five years earlier, and young people's exposure to snack food advertising on television and the internet.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Advertising, Children, Internet, Measures, Nutrition, Schools, Snacks, Television, Trends

Annotation: This document describes components of the school nutrition environment and resources to support a healthy school nutrition environment. Topics include school meals, smart snacks in school; in-school fundraisers; classroom celebrations, events, and nonfood rewards; access to drinking water; staff role modeling; food and beverage marketing; and healthy eating learning opportunities.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluid intake, Food consumption, Health policy, Health promotion, Learning, Marketing, Models, Nutrition, Policy development, Role models, School health services, Schools, Snacks, Water

Annotation: This report highlights case studies from middle schools and high schools in eight diverse districts across the country that illustrate ideas and strategies to help district and school-level decisionmakers successfully implement stronger nutrition standards for competitive foods. The report presents findings from a study of policies and practices related primarily to food-service accounts.

Contact: Illinois Public Health Institute, 924 West Washington Boulevard, Suite 405, Mailbox 10, Chicago, IL 60607, Telephone: (312) 850-4744 Fax: (312) 850-4040 Web Site: http://iphionline.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Costs, High schools, Managed competition, Middle schools, Nutrition, Policy analysis, School age children, Snacks, Standards, Students

Annotation: This booklet for parents offers information about how to help families learn healthy habits, healthy eating and physical activity. Topics discussed include how healthy eating and physical activity help children, how children's eating and activity habits are formed, what children should eat, how to help children eat better, how to help children be more active, and how to help overweight children. Information on serving sizes, sources of calcium, and snack ideas is also provided. Resources and suggestions for additional reading are included, as well. The booklet concludes with a tear-off checklist for encouraging healthy eating and physical activity.

Contact: Weight-Control Information Network, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, One Win Way, Bethesda, MD 20892-3665, Telephone: (877) 946-4627 Fax: (202) 828-1028 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://win.niddk.nih.gov/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub no. 04-4955.

• Link

Keywords: Body weight, Child health, Child nutrition, Consumer education materials, Food habits, Obesity, Physical activity, Snacks

Annotation: This paper examines whether schools under financial pressure are more likely to adopt potentially unhealthful food policies such as providing access to snack foods and soft drinks. The paper, which includes an abstract, provides background on the issues of school food policies and obesity in the United States, describes the authors' empirical approach and discusses their main estimates of the relationship between school food policies and finances and of the effect of school food policies on adolescent obesity, and explores the interaction between school food policy and family susceptibility to weight problems. A conclusion, endnotes, and references are included. Statistical information is presented in tables at the end of the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Body weight, Child health, Costs, Families, Nutrition, Obesity, School age children, School food services, Schools, Snacks

Annotation: This report provides information on the federal summer nutrition programs, which are designed to provide children from low-income families with the kind of nutritious meals and snacks during the summer that they receive throughout the school year. The report presents major findings, describes the programs and why they are important, discusses national and state trends in program participation and children who are not being served, presents ideas for increasing participation, and offers a conclusion. Statistical information is presented in several tables in the appendices. In addition to these tables, the appendices include a discussion of improvements to the Summer Food Service Program enacted by the Child Nutrition and WIC Reauthorization Act of 2004, three model programs, and technical notes.

Contact: Food Research and Action Center, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 540, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2200 Fax: (202) 986-2525 Web Site: http://www.frac.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition programs, Community programs, Federal programs, Low income groups, Nutrition, Participation, School age children, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Snacks, State programs, Trends

Annotation: These guidelines rank vending-machine items (snacks and beverages) as "healthiest, " "healthier, " or "excluded." It describes the criteria and rationale used in the ranking. It also offers guidelines for how to get started with the "Fit City Snack Center Initiative, " a method for making vending machine offerings healthier. The document includes a reference list. The guidelines are part of the Fit City/Fit Schools campaign in San Antonio, Texas.

Contact: Bexar County Community Health Collaborative, 527 North Leona Street, MS 5-2, San Antonio, TX 78207, Telephone: (210) 481-2573 Fax: (210) 358-5853 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthcollaborative.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Food composition, Guidelines, Snacks

Annotation: These two annuals are the first of a series that reports results from the 1986 Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals conducted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). The 1986 edition differs in sub-title, 'Women 19-50 Years and Their Children 1-5 Years, 1 Day,' from the 1985 edition, 'Low-income Women.' The information gathered is the same. The data was collected during a personal interview using a 1-day recall. It is provided in tables with major results summarized. The information includes nutrient densities of diets; percentages of total food energy from protein, fat, and carbohydrate; frequency of eating; and the nutrient contributions of snacks and of food eaten away from home.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Jamie L. Whitten Building, Room 302A, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-3656 Fax: (202) 720-5427 Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Food consumption, Low income women, Snacks

Annotation: This booklet discusses the selection and serving of food to children in child care settings. The development of good eating habits is also stressed. The booklet provides tips on planning, a food plan for one meal and two snacks, a meal planning form, a daily food plan, suggestions on food purchasing and storage, food preparation, food costs, and safe food service. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Food handling, Food safety, Group feeding, Menu planning, Snacks

Annotation: This booklet describes a study conducted to determine the food consumption patterns of adolescents in Washington state. Topics covered include (1) food groups consumed, (2) snacks, (3) meals missed, (4) food likes and dislikes, (5) consumption of sweets, (6) food production and preservation, and (7) summary and conclusions. An addendum includes a dietary history and a food record. A literature cited section and acknowledgments are also included.

Keywords: Adolescents, Diet, Food, Food consumption, Nutrition, Snacks, Surveys, Washington

Annotation: This report describes a study to determine the nutritional status of the United States by means of sampling appreciable numbers of the population with references to such variables as age, sex, and geographical location. The report, which includes a summary, is divided into two main sections: (1) how to get reliable food records and (2) the role of lunch, breakfast, and between-meal snacks in the nutrition of schoolchildren. Statistical information is included in figures and tables throughout the report.The report includes a list of data tables.

Keywords: Child health, Food consumption, Nutrition surveys, Nutritional status, Records, Research, School age children, Snacks