Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The overall goal of the Arizona EMSC project was to reduce childhood mortality and morbidity by (1) providing broad-based training and education in pediatric emergency care to medical personnel involved in the prehospital and early hospital emergency medical care, and (2) helping establish childhood injury prevention programs throughout the State. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121909.

Keywords: Bicycle Helmets, Bicycle Safety, Car seats, Drowning, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Injury Prevention, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Seat Belts

Annotation: This website from the CDC provides links to fact sheets on many types of helmets and how they protect the head from injury. The types of helmets include those for bikes, skateboards, and for sports such as football and baseball. It includes videos and links to various other HEADS UP resources. Also included in a link to the HEADS Up app (Android and IOS versions available), which helps parents identify the signs of a concussion and helps them ensure the proper fit of a protective helmet.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Injury prevention

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help elementary-, middle-, and high-school-educators and recreation professionals teach safe bicycling to children. The two-part curriculum is aligned with the National Standards for K-12 Physical Education and includes lessons and assessments for the skills and knowledge students need to enjoy safe bicycling. It also contains a guide for parents on ways they can support safe bicycling, including guidance on selecting an appropriate bicycle and helmet for their child.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• Curriculum Part 1
• Curriculum Part 2

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Injury prevention, Recreational safety, School age children, Schools, Transportation injuries

Annotation: This report examines the direct and indirect effects of state and local bicycle helmet laws on injuries among children. Using injury data from the National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS), the authors assess how helmet laws are associated with reductions in bicycle-related head injuries while also examining indirect effects such as decreases in non-head cycling injuries, as well as increases in head injuries from other wheeled sports. The report includes a detailed description of the research methodology and a discussion of the findings. The authors discuss the hypothesis that the observed reduction in bicycle-related head injuries may be due to reductions in bicycle riding induced by the laws.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Analysis, Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Data, Injury surveillance systems, State legislation

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to help state maternal and child health and injury and violence prevention programs respond to the needs of infants, adolescents, and adults who are at risk for traumatic brain injury (TBI). Topics include fall prevention, motor vehicle safety, bicycle safety, sports safety, and abuse prevention. It also contains links to data, research studies, information on policy and legislation, prevention strategies, tools for program planning, and a list of national organizations that address TBI.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: csninfo@edc.org Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2020 Resource Guide
• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle injuries, Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Physical abuse, Sports injuries, Violence prevention

Annotation: This website for parents provides information about keeping children safe while they are riding in motor vehicles, riding bicycles, or walking. Information is provided about car seat safety, safety related to school buses and bicycles, how to keep adolescents safe as they are learning to drive, and car-related safety issues such as backovers, heatstroke, seatbelt entanglement, and trunk entrapment.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle safety, Car seats, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Safety, School buses, Seat belts, Traffic safety, Walking, Young children

Annotation: This document contains data on bicycle-related injuries, information about bicycle helmet laws, prevention strategies and programs, evaluations of the effectiveness of wearing bicycle helmets and of making environmental changes to support safe bicycling, policies and campaigns to encourage bicycling, and bicycle helmet ratings and other safety guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: csninfo@edc.org Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Children, Environmental influences, Injuries, Injury prevention, Legislation, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Safety, Transportation injuries

Annotation: This report, which aims is to inform policy and program decisions for the Federal Highway Administration, State Safe Routes to School (SRTS) coordinators, and policymakers and stakeholders at the federal, state and local levels, describes how federal and state agencies have met the requirements of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, and Efficient Transportation Equity Act, passed in August 2005. This legislation included funds to start the SRTS program. The report also discusses the legislation's reach and types of projects funded and provides an overview of how state SRTS programs are administered.

Contact: National Center for Safe Routes to School, 730 Martin Luther Kind, Jr. Boulevard, Suite 300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3430, Telephone: (866) 610-SRTS E-mail: http://www.saferoutesinfo.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.saferoutesinfo.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycles, Families, Legislation, Programs, Public policy, Safety, School age children, Schools, State programs, Transportation, Walking

Annotation: This report presents findings that confirm previous research indicating that mandatory bicycle helmet laws in the United States reduce bicycling fatalities and increase helmet use, but it also shows that the laws have significantly reduced youth bicycling. The results highlight intended and unintended consequences of public policies adopted in over 20 states that require youths to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle. The report outlines the empirical approach used, the data collected, and the final research results.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bicycle safety, Exercise, Injury prevention, Legislation, Physical activity, Public policy, State programs, Youth

Annotation: This case study compendium contains a collection of brief, original case studies developed by the Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center and the Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals. The case studies cover pedestrian and bicycle projects and programs from across the United States and abroad, including engineering, education, enforcement, encouragement, planning, health promotion, and comprehensive safety initiatives. Each case study provides a context in which the program or project takes place, a description of the issues faced, and a discussion of how the community sought to address their concerns. A results section describes the successes and lessons learned from the planning or implementation of the activity. When available, data are provided to support results.

Contact: Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center, 730 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Suite 300 , Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (888) 823-3977 E-mail: ino@pedbikeinfo.org Web Site: http://www.pedbikeinfo.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bicycles, Case studies, Communities, Community programs, Education, Health promotion, Initiatives, Pedestrians, Safety

Annotation: This brief summarizes research on active transport to school, physical activity levels, and health outcomes. It also explores the factors that influence walking and biking to school, including the impact of the Safe Routes to School program, a federal program that creates safe, convenient, and fun opportunities for children to walk and bike to and from school and aims to help children be more physically active.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bicycles, Child health, Federal programs, Physical activity, Research, Safety, Walking

Annotation: This report presents data on bicycle injuries in Washington state, and discusses prevention strategies, particularly the use of helmets and their promotion through legislation and education. Various studies from the literature are reviewed.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma System, Injury and Violence Prevention Program, P.O. Box 47832, Olympia, WA 98504-7832, Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycle injuries, Bicycle safety, Epidemiology, Injuries, Prevention programs, Washington

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence