Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This handbook provides a framework and strategies for planning, evaluating, and improving program collaboration to effectively and efficiently address oral health issues. Although many examples are targeted to oral health programs in state health agencies and statewide oral health coalitions, the materials and concepts apply to any community-based oral health program or local coalition. The handbook provides a rationale for improving program collaboration and detailed steps on how to do so.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Handbook
• Workbook

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Communication, Evaluation, Manuals, Oral health, Planning

Annotation: This report describes state oral health coalitions and collaborative partnerships and provides guidelines and recommendations related to the topic, research evidence, best practice criteria, and state practice examples. A summary of evidence supporting state oral health coalitions and collaborative partnerships is included. How oral health coalitions and collaborative partnerships can improve oral health, factors to enhance coalitions and partnerships, a framework for oral health coalitions developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, evaluation of coalitions, and initiatives and coordinated efforts related to coalitions are discussed.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Program Website
• 2020 Report

Keywords: , Coalitions, Collaboration, Guidelines, Model programs, Oral health, Research, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This paper proposes community schools as a strategy for school improvement. Topics include what a community school looks like at the school level, how community schools support provisions in the Every Student Succeeds Act, and how states can support community schools. Information about community school and initiative exemplars, resources, and partners are included.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, Coalition for Community Schools, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 20008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 X111 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.communityschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community coordination, Community participation, Equal opportunities, Families, Learning, Models, Organizational change, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Relationships, School districts, Schools, Service integration, Social support, Systems development

Annotation: This e-book highlights lessons learned from the initial implementation of a federal initiative to support states in their efforts to align, coordinate, and improve the quality of existing early learning and development programs across multiple funding streams that support children from birth through age five. Contents include experience, trends, and reflections captured through interviews with state leaders. Topics include state systems building through governance, local systems building through coalitions, early learning-health connections, trends and innovations in early childhood education work force development, reform in vision and practice, improving systems of learning through the use of child standards and assessments, integrated data strategies, and the impact of the initiative on state Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS).

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Assessments, Child health, Coalitions, Data, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Financing, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Standards, State government, Systems development, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This website provides resources from a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to improve health and control health care costs. Topics include high-burden health conditions and associated interventions that prevent chronic and infectious diseases by increasing coverage, access, use, and quality; and how to align evidence-based preventive practices with emerging value-based payment and delivery models. Contents include a fact sheet and evidence summaries on reducing tobacco use, controlling high blood pressure, preventing health care-associated infections, controlling asthma, preventing unintended pregnancy, and controlling and preventing diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coalitions, Collaboration, Consumers, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Infectious diseases, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Relationships, Third party payers

Annotation: This paper describes a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to rapidly accelerate implementation of 18 evidence-based interventions targeting six high-burden conditions. Topics include the conceptual framework of prevention, the criteria and process for selecting the six conditions and 18 interventions, and how the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is building new relationships with health care purchasers, payers, and providers to support implementation efforts. The paper concludes with recommendations for assessing the initiative's success and for building on the relationships that are being created.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Disease prevention, Health care reform, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Relationships

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about a multiyear initiative to increase access to oral health care for children and adults in Missouri. Topics include increasing access to oral health services, increasing the number of providers, and expanding insurance coverage and acceptance. Additional topics include establishing the Missouri Coalition for Oral Health, hiring a state dental director, financing data collection, and disseminating and implementing a state oral health plan.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Coalitions, Community participation, Data collection, Financing, Grants, Health insurance, Missouri, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This document provides recommendations and strategies for improving birth outcomes in Connecticut. Contents include the list of organizations represented on the Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes and how they used policy analysis tools to identify priorities and recommendations, and the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network that supports the strategies outlined in the plan. Topics include addressing socioeconomic factors, making the healthy choices the easy choice, protecting individuals, implementing evidence-based interventions in clinical settings, and providing individual or public educational messages and support. Information about the perinatal landscape, emerging issues, and suggestions for using the plan are also included.

Contact: Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, 70 Audubon Street, New Haven, CT 06510-9755, Telephone: (203) 777-2386 Fax: (203) 787-6584 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cfgnh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health disparities, Infant mortality, Infants, Low birthweight, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Program improvement, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This tool allows people and organizations that work together as a network to measure and monitor collaborative activity over time. Using social network analysis, network measures indicate progress of collaboration by assessing which partners are involved, the ways that partners exchange resources, and provide a better understanding of the amount of effort required to sustain a collaborative. Additionally, outcome measures related to the process of collaboration can be determined. The tool can be purchased for varying amounts depending on the type of organization purchasing it and the amount of technical assistance desired.

Contact: University of Colorado Denver, School of Public Affairs, P.O. Box 173364, Campus Box 142, Denver, CO 80217-3364, Telephone: (303) 315-2228 Fax: (303) 315-2229 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://publicaffairs.ucdenver.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Measures, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Surveys, Sustainability

Annotation: This toolkit describes strategies used to restore the Medicaid adult dental program in Washington. Topics include adapting advocacy materials to suit local needs, working with state policymakers, initiating a media campaign, and using social media tools.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Advocacy, Coalitions, Communication, Information networks, Media campaigns, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Public private partnerships, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to support community prevention leaders as they develop coalitions and engage local businesses in prevention efforts to improve employee and resident access to healthy food, physical activity, and tobacco-free environments. The guide highlights examples of fruitful public health business partnerships, explores the basis for their success, and provides insights on how to replicate these successes elsewhere. Topics include engaging with businesses in the community, determining who to engage within the business community, building relationships and recruiting businesses, making the case to businesses, working in partnership with business stakeholders, and sustaining business involvement.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Coalitions, Collaboration, Communities, Community programs, Costs, Financing, Food, Health, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public health, Smoking

Annotation: This toolbox provides information about what coalitions are and their role for Emergency Medical Services for Children projects. The toolbox provides links to resources for health professionals, database searches, example practices, and resources for families and caregivers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Coalitions, Collaboration, Emergency medical services for children, Health services, Resource materials

Annotation: This report examines the impact of the Chester County, Pennsylvania, Healthy Start program on participating mothers and children during the period 1996-2009. Topics include the evaluation methodology, efforts to reach women in most need, conditions impacting infant health, and efforts to prevent poor birth outcomes and provide access to health care. Data and estimated costs savings are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Consortium of Chester County, 30 West Barnard Street, Suite1, P.O. Box 2747, West Chester, PA 19380-0990, Telephone: (610) 344-5370 Fax: (610) 344-5279 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccmchc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coalitions, Community based services, Cost effectiveness, Data, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Maternal health, Pennsylvania, Program evaluation

Annotation: This fact sheet for oral health coalition members and community advocates presents key recommendations for enhancing the ability of state and local programs to fulfill critical roles. Contents include elements of state oral health infrastructure and how coalition members and community advocates can support state oral health infrastructure and capacity building.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Community action, Oral health, Policy development, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, State programs

Annotation: This compendium is intended to serve professionals in building community-based coalitions dedicated to improving oral health. The compendium organizes the literature into three broad categories: (1) the role of community-based coalitions in health promotion, (2) how to build a successful coalition, and (3) case studies of successful coalitions. Topics include assessing needs and resources, best practice guidelines, establishing collaborations, communications and conflict, management and leadership, media outreach, planning and implementation, and policy development and research. The citations in the compendium link to free, full-text publications crossing the fields of communication, management practice, oral health, prevention, psychology, public health education, and public policy.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Coalitions, Community role, Health promotion, Manuals, Oral health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: in process] This report describes the formation of a coalition to achieve the vision of optimal oral health for all American Indians in Arizona. Contents include information about the coalition's structure, governance, and functioning; funding and sustainability; measures of success; results; benefits; and next steps.

Contact: Arizona American Indian Oral Health Initiative, 1740 West Adams Street, Suite 409, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-5725 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaiohi.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Arizona, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Financing, Health literacy, Oral health, Program development, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Statewide planning

Annotation: This guide was developed to assist public health programs in developing effective community coalitions for injury prevention. The guide is based on the experiences of the Contra Costa County Prevention Program in the San Francisco Bay Area, focusing on the prevention of violence, unintentional injury, and chronic disease through coordination and development of existing community efforts. The guide defines a coalition and describes its advantages, then presents eight steps to building coalitions. Examples in the guide focus on injury prevention, but the eight-step approach has also been shared with coalitions in other subject areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHK114 (1998), MCHH031 (1994).

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Community programs, Injury prevention, Manuals, Service coordination

Annotation: This tip sheet provides examples of state oral health program and coalition involvement in community programs to address access to care, promote health literacy, inform policymakers and other stakeholders, and raise awareness of the importance of oral health. The examples highlight the benefits of public-private partnership activities in the following programs: Give Kids a Smile, Smiles Across America, Missions of Mercy, and Special Olympics.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community programs, Health promotion, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State programs

Annotation: This manual is intended to serve as a guide for school administrators, health professionals, parents of school-age children, and other stakeholders who wish to address the preventive and primary health care needs of students in their communities by opening a school-based health center in Colorado. Topics include community planning; business plan overview and market analysis with needs assessment; the following aspects of a business plan: governance and management structure, operations, financial pro forma and sustainability, and marketing; data collection, reporting, and evaluation; and coalition building and advocacy.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Coalitions, Colorado, Communities, Evaluation, Financing, Manuals, Market research, Marketing, Needs assessment, Prevention, Primary care, School health, State programs, Statistical data, Students