Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

National Public Radio. 2013. Playgrounds for everyone. Washington, DC: National Public Radio, 1 v.

Fiene R. 2002. 13 indicators of quality child care: Research update. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, 117 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this research update is to provide guidance for state child care agencies as they think about revising their state child care regulations. The document provides information on 13 indicators of quality child care: (1) child abuse, (2) immunization, (3) staff child ratio and group size, (4) staff qualifications (2 indicators), (5) staff training, (6) supervision and discipline, (7) fire drills, (8) medication, (9) emergency plan and contact, (10) outdoor playground, (11) toxic substances, and (12) handwashing and diapering. The document also offers a conclusion and contains a list of references. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Contact Fax: xxx Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child care centers, Diapering, Discipline, Emergencies, Fire prevention, Handwashing, Immunization, Medicine, Playgrounds, Regulations, State agencies, Supervision, Training

Children's Safety Network. 1994. Building safe communities: State and local strategies for preventing injury and violence. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 190 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

American Public Health Association, and American Academy of Pediatrics. 1992. National health and safety performance standards: Guidelines for out-of-home child care programs. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 410 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a reprinting of the publication "Caring for Our Children: National Health and Performance Standards–Guidelines for Out-of-Home Child Care Programs," published in 1992 by the American Public Health Association. The manual describes standards for planning and establishing a quality program of child care. Ten panels of experts formulated these health and safety standards, which were then reviewed nationally for content and feasibility. They are intended for use by anyone working in the child care system in the United States, including those who direct or work in facilities and those involved in the licensing and regulation of facilities. The standards address the following topics: staffing; program activities for healthy development; health protection and health promotion; nutrition and food service; facilities, supplies, equipment, and transportation; infectious diseases; children with special needs; administration; and recommendations for licensing and community action. The publication also provides the rationale for each standard, along with comments and resources for obtaining more information. Distinctions are made between standards that apply to child care centers, large family child care homes, and small family child care homes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Car seats, Child care, Child care centers, Child health, Family child care, Guidelines, Injury prevention, Parenting, Playgrounds, Special health care needs, Standards

Children's Safety Network. 1991. Child Health Day 1991: A selected annotated bibliography. [Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health], 31 pp.

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1917. Facilities for children's play in the District of Columbia. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 72 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 22; Miscellaneous series; no. 8)

Annotation: This bulletin reports on the facilities for children's play in the District of Columbia and suggests the further provisions for outdoor life needed for children of different ages. The report provides detailed information on the density of the population in the District of Columbia with special reference to children; the types of recreation facilities which should be available; and information concerning school buildings, playgrounds and other recreation facilities in 25 health districts. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

Keywords: Children, District of Columbia, Playground equipment, Playgrounds, Recreational facilities
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.