Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These resource books are designed to teach young children how to prevent fire-related injuries; they can be used alone or used to supplement the full Learn Not to Burn curriculum. The resource books use a four-step program for children in kindergarten or grade one; step one includes songs and finger plays, step two includes puppets with suggested activities, step three includes a play for the class to perform, and step four includes instructions and a masthead for developing a classroom fire safety newsletter. The set include a teacher's manual and an individual book for each of the four levels of activities.

Contact: National Fire Protection Association, One Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02169, Telephone: (617) 770-3000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 344-3555 Contact Phone: (800) 344-3555 Fax: (617) 770-0700 Web Site: http://www.nfpa.org $36.50 per set; discounts available for bulk orders; teacher's guide $16.00.

• Program Website

Keywords: Burns, Children, Curricula, Elementary schools, Fires, Prevention, Residential injuries

Annotation: This Web site provides users with links to the provisions of state codes that are directly related to healthy homes. The purpose of the site is to help states and localities in their efforts to ensure that buildings are well constructed and to reduce the likelihood of harmful environmental conditions in homes.

Contact: National Center for Healthy Housing, 10320 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 500 , Columbia, MD 21044, Telephone: (410) 992-0712 Secondary Telephone: (877) 312-3046 Fax: (443) 539-4150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nchh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Building codes, Environmental health, Fire prevention, House fires, Housing, Lead poisoning, Prevention, State legislation

Annotation: This annual report summarizes the activities of the Arizona Child Fatality Review Team for the year covered. It includes an executive summary and introduction, presents major findings on causes of death to children and adolescents, outlines accomplishments and challenges and presents policy recommendations. Data are included for motor vehicle crashes; drownings; smoke inhalation and burns; violence related deaths due to suicide, child abuse, homicide, and shooting deaths; and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Appendices include state statutes, statistical tables on the leading causes of death, lists of state and local team members, and a publications list.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Child Fatality Review Program, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/cfr.htm Available from the website.

• Reports For Recent Years

Keywords: Adolescents, Arizona, Burns, Cause of death, Child abuse, Child death review, Children, Demographics, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Fires, Homicide, Mortality, Motor vehicle injuries, Program descriptions, SIDS, Statistics, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This scripted presentation was adapted from a report entitled "Cost of Injury In the United States: A Report to Congress, 1989" which was prepared by researchers at the University of California, San Francisco and the Johns Hopkins University at the request of Congress and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. It provides some data on injury types and causes, with motor vehicles and firearms accounting for 50 percent. The information presented illustrates that beyond social and emotional costs, injuries have a devastating economic price. Six areas of injury are discussed: motor vehicles, firearms, falls, poisonings, drownings, and fire and burns. The guide presents information from this report in graphic form in order to provide useful tools to advocates who will explain the economic consequences of the problem of violence in the United States.

Contact: Trauma Foundation, San Francisco General Hospital, Building One, Room 300, San Francisco, CA 94110, Telephone: (415) 821-8209 Fax: (415) 821-8202 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.traumaf.org $95.00.

Keywords: Advocacy, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Burns, Costs, Drowning, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Injuries, Injuries--types, causes, agents, Injury prevention, Injury severity, Injury surveillance systems, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Poisons, Resources for professionals, Slides, Statistics, Tobacco, Training materials, Trauma care

Annotation: This fire safety comic book is targeted to children with games, puzzles, pictures that reinforce safety rules for fire prevention or actions to take in case of fire. This material may be used as a stand alone curriculum item, or in conjunction with other materials.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org

Keywords: Burns, Child health, Child safety, Children, Educational materials, Fire prevention, Fires, Household safety, Injury prevention

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence

Annotation: This issue of "Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: CDC Surveillance Summaries" presents information charting the progress toward the 1990 Injury Control Objectives for the Nation. In each article, surveillance data are used to monitor the nation's progress toward a specific objective. Nine surveillance summaries address the following topics: deaths from motor vehicle-related injuries, deaths due to injury in the home, deaths from falls, drownings in the United States, hospitalizations due to tap water scalds, deaths from residential fires, unintentional firearm-related fatalities, homicides among black males, and suicides among persons 15-24 years of age. The problems impeding further progress and the steps necessary to attain the objective are also discussed. The summaries were developed to describe and clarify the injury problem, and to stimulate additional interest in applying surveillance methods to the field of injury control.

Keywords: 1990 Objectives for the Nation, Drowning, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Population surveillance, Scalds, Statistics, Suicide