Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (34 total).

Handgun Control Inc., and Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. n.d.. We have a comprehensive program to combat gun violence. Washington, DC: Handgun Control, Inc., and Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. n.d.. Safety pledge. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster shows a safety pledge for children, in which they pledge to get an adult if they see a gun. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. n.d.. Kids plus guns: A deadly equation. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster bears the text: Thousands of kids are killed or badly hurt by guns every year. Now they can't play sports, can't drive, can't dance, can't even walk, talk or see. These are the kids who lived. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. n.d.. Every day, 15 kids are killed with guns in America. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 poster.

Annotation: This poster shows three children finding a gun in a dresser drawer. It describes the danger to a family of a gun in the home and advises that any gun be emptied out and locked up. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Children's Safety Network . 2014. Firearm-related injuries among youth ages 15 through 24. Newton, MA: Children's Safety Network , 7 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about firearm-related injuries and deaths among adolescents and young adults ages 15-24 in the United States. Contents include data and information on the magnitude of the problem, its impact on various demographic groups, and the circumstances surrounding death and injury. A companion fact sheet addresses firearm injuries among children from birth through age 14. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Death, Firearm injuries, Firearm safety, Firearms, Young adults

Children's Safety Network . 2014. Firearm-related injuries among children ages 0 through 14. Newton, MA: Children's Safety Network , 7 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about firearm-related injuries and deaths among infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 in the United States. Contents include data and information on the scope of the problem, the demographics of and circumstances surrounding firearm-related injuries to children, international comparison, and early prevention and safety education. Information on legislation and examples of state efforts to prevent firearm-related injuries to children is also included. A companion fact sheet addressing firearm injuries among adolescents and young adults ages 15 through 24 is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Death, Firearm injuries, Firearm safety, Firearms, Infants, Prevention programs, Protective factors

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control. 2010. State injury indicators report. (5th ed.)—2006 data. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, 100 pp.

Annotation: This report provides state-level statistical data on injury indicators and outcomes from 26 state health departments that voluntarily participated in this surveillance effort. Categories include indicators for: (1) all-injury violence (2) traumatic brain injury, (3) drowning, (4) fire-related, (5) motor vehicle, (6) poisoning, (7) firearm-related injuries (8) homicide, and (9) suicide. The indicators for each category are presented in tabular form, preceded by explanatory text. The appendix provides instructions for calculating national public health surveillance system indicators using 1999 data.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Drowning, Firearms, Homicide, Injury, Injury surveillance systems, Motor vehicle crashes, Outcome evaluation, Poisoning, Protective factors, Public health, Risk factors, State surveys, Statistics, Suicide, Violence

Children's Defense Fund. 2010. Protect children, not guns. Washington, DC: Children's Defense Fund, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the incidence of fatal and nonfatal firearm injuries to children and adolescents. Text provides general information, and several tables provide statistical information about firearm deaths to children and adolescents.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent mortality, Child morbidity, Child mortality, Firearm injuries, Firearms, Safety

Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center and University of Washington. 2007. Best practices in prevention-oriented child death review: Providing prevention-oriented, evidence-based resources for child death review teams. [Seattle, WA]: Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center,

Annotation: This Web site assists Child Death Review (CDR) team members and other public health professionals work to prevent child injury death. It examines a range of interventions designed to prevent youth injury and death due to drowning, suicide, firearms, child abuse, and motor vehicle crashes, the top causes of injury for children ages 0 to 18 living in Washington State. For each injury mechanism, interventions are identified, reviewed, and rated on the strength and quality of published evidence supporting the efficacy of the intervention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center, University of Washington, 325 Ninth Avenue, Box 359960, Seattle, WA 98104, Telephone: (206) 744-9430 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (206) 744-9962 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/hiprc/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent death, Child abuse, Child death, Drowning, Firearms, Injury prevention, Intervention, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Suicide, Suicide prevention, Unintentional injuries, Washington

McCurley C, Snyder HN. 2004. Victims of violent juvenile crime. Rockville, MD: Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 8 pp. (Juvenile justice bulletin)

Annotation: This bulletin draws on key findings derived from data from the Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Incident-Based Reporting System to develop a statistical profile of juvenile crime. Tables, figures, and an accompanying analysis offer perspectives on characteristics of offenders and victims, including age, gender, and relationship; types of offenses, including aggravated and simple assault, sexual assault, and robbery; the unlawful use of firearms; and injuries. A methods section and a data source note are also included.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 201628.

Keywords: Assault, Crime, Data, Firearms, Injuries, Juvenile delinquency, Offenders, Sexual assault, Victims

Ohio Department of Health and Ohio Children's Trust Fund. 2001-. Ohio Child Fatality Review: __ annual report. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health,

Annotation: This web site archives the annual reports discussing the activities and achievements of the Ohio Child Fatality Review (CFR), the mission of which is to reduce the incidence of preventable deaths in Ohio. The reports include an executive summary, key findings, an overview of CFR, a summary of CFR data for annual deaths, special focus reports on motor vehicle deaths and SIDS and sleep-related deaths, natural deaths, suffocation and strangulation, firearms and weapons, drowning and submersion, child abuse and neglect, fire and burn, other causes of death and unknown causes of death, and suicide. In addition, the report presents child deaths by a map of counties, CFR law, and lists of CFR advisory committee members, CFR program staff, and local CFR board chairs.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Burns, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Child neglect, Drowning, Fire, Firearms, Motor vehicle deaths, Ohio, SIDS, Strangulation, Suffocation, Suicide, Weapons

Contra Costa County Health Services Department. 1995. Taking aim at gun dealers: Contra Costa's public health approach to reducing firearms in the community. Pleasant Hill, CA: Contra Costa County Health Services Department, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report describes steps several cities in Contra Costa, California, have taken to regulating gun dealers in their communities through such means as zoning, business permit, and conditional-use ordinances.

Contact: Contra Costa County Health Services , Community Wellness & Prevention Program, 597 Center Avenue- Suite 115, Martinez, CA 94553, Telephone: (925) 313-6808 Fax: (925) 313-6840 Web Site: http://www.cchealth.org/groups/prevention/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: California, Firearms dealers, Gun control, Legislation, Local government

Christoffel KK, Runyan CW, eds. 1995. Adolescent injuries: Epidemiology and prevention. Philadelphia, PA: Hanley and Belfus, 240 pp. (Adolescent medicine: State of the art reviews; v. 6, no. 2)

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays by individual authors; each addresses some aspect of the epidemiology and prevention of adolescent injuries. The individual essays follow a brief commentary on methodological and conceptual issues. Topics covered are: traffic-related injuries, drowning, suicide, the role of handguns in homicides among adolescents and young adults, family violence and development during adolescence, occupational injuries, adolescent injury prevention in primary care, peer violence prevention programs in middle and high schools, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the role of mass media in injury causation and prevention.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 $33.00, no shipping and handling charge if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-190-8.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Drowning, Epidemiology, Family violence, Firearms, High schools, Homicide, Injuries, Mass media, Middle schools, Motor vehicle injuries, Occupational injuries, Peer groups, Physician patient relations, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Prevention, Prevention programs, Primary care, School based programs, Suicide, Violence prevention, Young adults

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1995. Child Health Day 1995: Violence prevention. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 13 items. (xxx)

Annotation: This packet contains materials promoting Child Health Day, October 2, 1995, which focused on violence prevention. The packet includes the history of Child Health Day, and fact sheets on the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Children's Safety Network, and the Emergency Medical Services for Children program. Other fact sheets and brochures cover firearms and safety, child abuse and neglect, building safe communities, and bibliographies. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Community action, Firearm safety, Firearms, Health observances, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Violence prevention

Children's Safety Network. 1994. Building safe communities: State and local strategies for preventing injury and violence. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 190 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Duker L. 1994. Gun dealers, USA. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Children's Safety Network, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report presents questions and answers about licensed gun dealers and provides sources to contact for information on gun laws, gun dealers, and gun sales in state and local areas. A table shows the geographic distribution, concentration, and regulation of gun dealers by state. The report also includes a form to order the federal firearms licensee list. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHI036 (previously MCHH030).

Keywords: Firearms, Firearms dealers

Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. 1994. Every two hours, someone's child is killed with a loaded gun. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence; Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster shows a clock face with photos of children. It describes the danger to a family of a gun in the home and advises that any gun be emptied out and locked up.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters

Ray LU, Yuwiler J. 1994. Child and adolescent fatal injury databook. San Diego, CA: San Diego State University, Children's Safety Network Injury Data Technical Assistance Center, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This data book provides a detailed look at fatal injuries in 1991 for children and adolescents ages 0–24 years. Data for the nation and for each state are identified by age, gender, and race. An insert sheet provides information on 1991 fatal firearm injuries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH063.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Demographics, Firearms, Injuries, Mortality, Statistics

Wintemute G. 1994. Ring of fire: The handgun makers of southern California. Sacramento, CA: University of California at Davis, Violence Prevention Research Program, 107 pp.

Annotation: This report describes six handgun manufacturers in Southern California which collectively produce more than a third of all handguns made in the United States. The report analyzes and illustrates various models of handguns, how they are marketed by their makers, and what role these firearms play in crime. Regulations which apply to the handgun industry are discussed and suggestions for community action are given.

Contact: Violence Prevention Research Program, University of California at Davis, 2315 Stockton Blvd. , Sacramento, CA 95817, Telephone: (916) 734-3539 Fax: (916) 734-3063 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/vprp/ $10.00; prepayment required; make checks payable to Regents, University of California.

Keywords: California, Firearms, Handguns, Industry, Regulations

Handgun Control, Inc. 1993 (ca.). In 1992, handguns killed—. Washington, DC: Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster shows a picture of a handgun in the colors of the American flag and gives data on the number of people killed by handguns in several other countries and in the United States.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Posters, Statistics