Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: In September 2022, AMCHP's Evidence and Implementation team reviewed the components of process evaluation and introduces the stages of practice implementation. In this video presentation, the team also demonstrates the uses of a PDSA (Plan Do Study Act) cycle in developing an implementation plan.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Epidemiology, Staff development, Process evaluation, Program evaluation

Annotation: This recorded webinar from August 16, 2022, features AMCHP's Equity, Epidemiology, and Evaluation team providing a comprehensive framework for implementing evidence-based changes in telehealth programs with an explicit focus on equity throughout the evaluation process. The presentation systematically explores the CDC Evaluation Framework and Standards—covering utility, feasibility, propriety, and accuracy standards—while incorporating concrete examples through a detailed Utah case study that demonstrates practical application of these principles. The content balances theoretical foundations with actionable implementation strategies, integrating quality improvement methodologies to help participants learn both how to design evaluations that center equity and how to effectively translate evaluation findings into meaningful program changes. The session concludes with an extensive question and answer period that addresses specific challenges faced by participants in applying equity-centered evaluation approaches to their telehealth initiatives.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Epidemiology, Telemedicine, Race, Program evaluation, Communication, Quality assurance, Utah

Annotation: This presentation on building equity-centered evaluations from May 2022, was delivered by the AMCHP Equity, Epidemiology, & Evaluation Team. It introduces the Equitable Evaluation Framework, which aims to shift evaluation processes away from colonialism and White Supremacy toward participant ownership and equity. The presentation critiques traditional evaluation "orthodoxies" that center foundations and evaluators rather than communities, and provides practical examples through telehealth case studies. Key principles discussed include advancing equity through evaluation, ensuring multi-cultural validity and participant ownership, and examining how strategies affect different populations and systemic drivers of inequity. The material emphasizes the importance of building trust before implementation, selecting evaluators based on lived experience and cultural competence rather than just traditional credentials, and expanding definitions of credible evidence beyond just quantitative data and experimental research. Throughout, it advocates for including affected communities in evaluation development and interpretation, using culturally relevant practices, and examining fine-grained differences in how interventions impact different groups.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Epidemiology, Race, Program evaluation, Staff development

Annotation: In March 2022, AMCHP's Evidence and Implementation team held this training session, delivering a comprehensive presentation on evaluation methodologies specifically tailored for program assessment. The session explores various evaluation plan types while emphasizing strategies to integrate equity principles throughout the evaluation process. Presenters review essential evaluation tools including logic models and aim statements, with particular attention to developing effective evaluation questions through a structured approach. The content also introduces measurement tables as practical instruments for planning and visualizing evaluation activities. The presentation balances theoretical frameworks with practical application, culminating in an interactive evaluation activity that allows participants to apply the concepts discussed. This resource serves as a reference for public health professionals seeking to implement equitable, evidence-based evaluation approaches within their programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Program evaluation, Race, Assessment tools, Epidemiology, Staff development

Annotation: This recording features the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs' Evidence and Implementation Team discussing the critical role of clearly defined practices in successful evaluation and implementation planning. The presentation outlines fundamental tools for practice description, specifically focusing on aim statements and logic models, and demonstrates how these elements inform evaluation questions. it follows a structured agenda that begins with a topic introduction, provides detailed overviews of aim statements and logic models, includes a practical case study with breakout discussions, and concludes by exploring how these planning tools can be effectively translated into evaluation questions. Length: 48 miniutes, 53 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Perinatal health, Staff development, MCH programs, Program evaluation, Goals, Epidemiology

Annotation: In this video presentation, AMCHP's Evidence and Implementation team discusses practical approaches for incorporating partners, families, and individuals with lived experience into program development and evaluation processes, with careful consideration of organizational resources and capabilities. Featured speaker Becky Burns, who serves as the Statewide Coordinator for Wisconsin Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, shares insights on implementing these engagement strategies effectively while working within the constraints of available organizational capacity.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Epidemiology, Program evaluation, Staff development, Family support services

Annotation: This guide contains examples from states' health departments and nonprofits on the active use of data. Examples were selected to represent ways to collect, communicate, and use data to achieve desired outcomes and influence policy. The four main sections discuss: data collection, data analysis, data communication, and data-informed policy. The guide also contains abstracts of example programs from all around the country, with links to the full reports covering topics such as infant mortality, PRAMS (Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System) and families with children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, State CSHCN programs, Surveys, Evaluation, Assessment, Data collection, Data analysis, Epidemiology, Texas, Wisconsin, Alaska, Mississippi, Massachusetts, Louisiana, Nebraska, Delaware, Florida

Annotation: This report presents findings on chronic disease, maternal and child health, and oral health program-specific epidemiology capacity from the 2013 core epidemiology capacity assessment and supplemental modules. Contents include methods, key results and conclusions, overall recommendations, and next steps for enhancing epidemiology capacity. Topics include the epidemiology work force, factors associated with substantial capacity, outcomes and individual factors associated with substantial capacity, and work force competency.

Contact: Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, 2872 Woodcock Boulevard, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 458-3811 Fax: (770) 458-8516 Web Site: https://www.cste.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Data, Epidemiology, Maternal health, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This resource provides information and resources on the Global Burden of Diseases, Injuries, and Risk Factors Study (GBD), an effort to measure epidemiological levels and trends worldwide. Contents include data, data visualizations, publications, videos, news and events, and training.

Contact: University of Washington, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, 2301 Fifth Avenue, Suite 600, Seattle, WA 98121, Telephone: (206) 897-2800 Fax: (206) 897-2899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthmetricsandevaluation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Data sources, Epidemiology, Injuries, International health, Measures, Multimedia, Research, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Training, Trends

Annotation: This document builds on a conceptual framework and operational definition for state-based oral health systems and identifies training opportunities for increasing oral health epidemiology capacity at the state and local levels to meet the Healthy People 2020 goal of having state surveillance to monitor oral disease and its effects. Topics include the public health importance of oral health, factors impacting oral health outcomes, how to build an oral health surveillance plan, the National Oral Health Surveillance System indicators and data sources, and selected special topics.

Contact: Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, 2872 Woodcock Boulevard, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 458-3811 Fax: (770) 458-8516 Web Site: https://www.cste.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Epidemiology, Oral health, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, State programs, Training

Annotation: This issue brief reports on an assessment of the experiences, methods, approaches, and resources that strengthen and support the work of maternal and child health (MCH) epidemiologists and the field of MCH epidemiology (MCH epi). It describes a survey of epidemiologists who work for state/territory agencies and reports on their background and experiences, how MCH epi projects support Title V, use of linking or matching datasets, areas for skills development and training, and preferred resources on MCH epi practices.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Epidemiology, MCH programs, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This resource guide provides quality improvement (QI) resources for epidemiologists working in maternal and child health (MCH) programs. It includes background information on QI in public health, introductory materials on QI concepts and methods, practical tools and resources for implementing QI projects, examples of QI initiatives at state and local health departments, and MCH-specific QI resources. The guide highlights four common QI models used in public health practice: Lean, Six Sigma, IHI Breakthrough Series, and Kaizen. It also features a section on QI measurement and feedback specifically relevant for epidemiologists. The resource guide aims to familiarize epidemiologists with QI approaches and support their engagement in QI efforts to improve MCH programs and practices.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Epidemiology, Quality assessment, Quality assurance

Annotation: This online video reflects on 25 years of the Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program (MCHEP). It outlines the building of state, local, tribal, and territorial MCH data and research capacity to improve the health outcomes for women, infants, children, and families.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Families, History, Infants, MCH Epidemiology Program, Women

Annotation: This online videorecording presents a reflective journey of 25 years of the federal Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program (MCHEP), a collaborative of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau.. It shows how the MCHEP has built state, local, tribal, and territorial MCH capacity to improve the health outcomes for women, infants, children, and families.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program, Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/researchdata/mchesp/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Health promotion, History, Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program

Annotation: This report provides information about the scientific evidence on smoking among adolescents and young adults. Topics include research on diseases caused by early tobacco use, the addiction process, epidemiology, risk factors, the tobacco industry’s influence, and prevention. An executive summary, consumer booklet, fact sheet, parent and physician conversation cards, public service announcements, and promotional buttons and e-cards are also available. The consumer booklet and fact sheet are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Drug addiction, Epidemiology, Health behavior, Marketing, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Statistical data, Tobacco use, Young adults

Annotation: This report compiles 2010 national surveillance data on infectious disease in single race Asians and Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders. Contents include background information and data sources, overviews, snapshots, discussion, and references on tuberculosis, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV and AIDS.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Communicable diseases, Data sources, Epidemiology, HIV, Hawaiians, Hepatitis, Mortality, Pacific Americans, Pacific Islanders, Population surveillance, Sexually transmitted diseases, Testing, Trends, Tuberculosis

Annotation: This brief examines maternal weight and infant mortality in New York City during the period 2008-2010. Contents include information and data on disparities in pre-pregnancy obesity by race and ethnicity. Additional content addresses the relationship between pre-pregnancy weight, infant mortality, mother's education, infant birth weight, and neighborhood poverty.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Barriers, Cities, Data, Epidemiology, Infant mortality, New York, Obesity, Pregnancy, Urban health

Annotation: This document presents the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists' (CSTEs') mission statement, organizational priorities, and objectives for the period 2012-2014. It describes an organizational roadmap and template for future planning in driving the use of epidemiologic data to address the major preventable causes of morbidity and mortality for the nation. Topics include building and sustaining applied epidemiology programs, being recognized as the home for all applied public health epidemiologists, diversitying funding sources, and improving communication.

Contact: Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, 2872 Woodcock Boulevard, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 458-3811 Fax: (770) 458-8516 Web Site: https://www.cste.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Epidemiology, Professional societies, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report explores ideas for how to match and possibly merge methods from epidemiology and evidence-based medicine to create an evidence-based methodology (EBM) for infectious diseases prevention and control. The report discusses (1) challenges of working with evidence-based methods in a public health setting, (2) providing evidence-based guidance in the context of scarce evidence and limited time, (3) the usefulness of EBM tools for grading evidence and recommendations for the field of public health and infectious diseases, (4) assessing and ensuring quality in guidelines development for controlling communicable diseases, and (5) using EBM methods for public health.

Contact: European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, SE-171 83, Stockholm, Sweden Telephone: +46 (0)8 586 010 00 Fax: +46 (0)8 586 010 00 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ecdc.europa.eu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-9193-311-2.

• PDF

Keywords: Communicable diseases, Disease prevention, Epidemiology, Evidence based medicine, Guidelines, Public heath

Annotation: This supplement to the 2009 National Assessment of Epidemiology Capacity (ECA) presents findings on the epidemiological capacity of state and territorial maternal and child health (MCH) programs. Topics include the organization of MCH epidemiologic activities, spectrum of work covered by MCH epidemiologists, access to data and consultants, the nature of data analysis performed, activities to disseminate data, and collaborations with other state health department programs and with agencies outside the health department. An assessment module is also included.

Contact: Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, 2872 Woodcock Boulevard, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 458-3811 Fax: (770) 458-8516 Web Site: https://www.cste.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Epidemiology, MCH programs, Needs assessment, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure