Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: One of the Annie E. Casey Foundation's main objectives is to provide the best available data and analysis on critical issues affecting disadvantaged children and families, as well as the knowledge and tools that practitioners, policymakers, and citizens need to advance their efforts on behalf of children. For more than half a century the foundation has worked to improve the futures for kids at risk of poor outcomes. Their mission encompasses direct support services to vulnerable children and families, and in recent years has used major grant making to support demonstrations, evaluations, and advocacy aimed at helping large public systems, as well as nonprofit networks, to become more effective in their efforts on behalf of struggling families and at-risk kids.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Data analysis, Family support, Grants, High risk children, Low income groups, Poverty

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Center on Children and Families focuses on the well-being of America's children and their parents, especially those in less advantaged families. The center's research and activities are designed primarily to improve understanding of the reasons for poverty or low income, especially among working families, and the potential of various policies to improve their prospects and the life chances of their children. The center includes a partnership with Princeton University and joint publication of the journal The Future of Children.

Keywords: Research, Children, Families, Low income groups, Policy analysis, Poverty, Public policy, Working parents

Annotation: The Center for Human Resource Research maintains searchable databases and produces a newsletter for local, state, regional, and national audiences.

Keywords: Children, Cognitive development, Data collection, Employment, Followup studies, Health services, Human development, Interdisciplinary approach, Interviews, Longitudinal studies, Mothers, Parental education, Poverty, Research design, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Substance use behavior, Surveys

Annotation: The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that analyzes issues related to government programs serving low-income people. Policy issues include health and food assistance, the federal budgetary impact on low-income families, affordable housing, the working poor, income support, and tax policy. The center's state low-income initiatives project works with state-based organizations and policy makers in low-income program design issues including child health and Medicaid. The center's WIC Project focuses on the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC). The center publishes a newsletter on the WIC program; distributes reports and analyses by subscription; and maintains an open listserv. The center's Start Healthy, Stay Healthy campaign enlists early childhood programs and other organizations to identify children eligible for Medicaid but not enrolled in the program. The center works with these groups to implement strategies for helping families overcome barriers to Medicaid application and enrollment. Outreach materials are available. Training sessions are provided as part of the Start Healthy, Stay Healthy campaign.

Keywords: Health care financing, Access to health care, Child health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Outreach, Poverty, Public policies, WIC program

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Keywords: Special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Employment, Equal opportunities, Health services, Parenting, Poverty, Pregnancy, Sexuality, Violence, Women

Annotation: The Foundation for Child Development's grantmaking activities focus on efforts to understand and improve the life conditions of children and their families. FCD has a special interest in children in working families, particularly in those families that are struggling to meet their children's basic human needs. Three cross-cutting themes guide FCD's work: linking research on children and families to formation of relevant programs and policies; identifying fresh approaches to crafting sound social strategies for children and families; and nurturing new generations of leaders in child development research and policy. Foundation publications include working papers and information updates.

Keywords: Child health, Foundations, Grants, Poverty

Annotation: The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is a non-profit, non-partisan policy research organization whose mission is to identify and promote strategies to reduce child poverty and improve the well-being of low-income children and their families. NCCP alerts the public to demographic statistics about child poverty and to the scientific research on the impact of poverty; designs and conducts studies to identify programs, policies, and practices that work best; disseminates information about economic security, early care and learning, and family stability; brings together public and private groups; and challenges policymakers and opinion leaders to change the adverse consequences of poverty on young children. NCCP maintains a web site of information and resources and publishes newsletters, reports, issue briefs, and fact sheets, and maintains an e-newsletter. In partnership with the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the Institute for Social Research, the University of Michigan; and the U.S. Child Care Bureau, it provides the Web resource Child Care and Early Education Research Connections.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Conferences, Early childhood education, Economic factors, Education, Family child care, Family support, Information dissemination, Information sources, Libraries, Maternal health, Poverty, Public policies, Publications, Statistics, Young children

Annotation: The National Poverty Center (NPC) was established in the fall of 2002 as a university-based, nonpartisan research center to conduct and promote multidisciplinary, policy-relevant research on the causes and consequences of poverty and provide mentoring and training to young scholars. The NPC is administered by the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy and linked with many other schools, units, and research centers at the University of Michigan.

Keywords: Poverty, Research

Annotation: The New York Academy of Medicine, founded in 1847, is an independent nonprofit institution whose mission is to enhance the health of the public. The academy serves as a center for urban health policy and works to ehance the health of people living in cities worldwide through research, education, advocacy, and prevention. The academy's agenda focuses on safeguarding children's health, educating young scientists, curtailing the spread of HIV/AIDS and improving care, helping consumers access reliable helth information, improving the public's ability to come with disasters, and caring for older adults. In addition, the academy provides health education programs and has a library open to the general public (the bibliographic catalog and other electronic resources are available online). The library sponsors research fellowships, academic programs, and public lectures on medical history and related fields.

Keywords: Epidemiology, Health care reform, Health education, Health policy, New York, Poverty, Public health, Urban population

Annotation: The Poverty and Race Research Action Council (PRRAC) is a national organization convened by major civil rights and antipoverty groups. The purpose of the Council is to link social science research to advocacy work in order to address problems at the intersections of race and poverty. Activities include funding and commissioning research tied to local, state, and national advocacy strategies; enhancing communications between advocates and social science researchers; disseminating ideas and materials; holding conferences; and publishing materials with a focus on issues of race and poverty. Services to consumers include referrals and reference information, and publications include a bimonthly newsletter, a journal, reports, and handbooks.

Keywords: Advocacy, Minority groups, Poverty, Race, Research

Annotation: The Robert F. Kennedy Memorial promotes respect for human rights and social justice in the U.S. and around the world. It is dedicated to realizing Robert Kennedy's dream of a just world through programs that reflect his concerns and tackle the toughest problems facing our society.

Keywords: Poverty, Awards, Human rights, Leadership training, Mass media, Underserved communities, Youth development

Annotation: The National Health Service Corps (NHSC) builds healthy communities by supporting qualified health professionals working in areas of the United States with limited access to care. NHSC is a federal government program administered by the Health Resources and Services Administration's Bureau of Clinical Recruitment and Service that provides scholarships and loan repayment to primary care health professionals in NHSC-eligible disciplines. NHSC providers, in turn, commit to serving for at least two years at an NHSC-approved site located in a Health Professional Shortage Area.

Keywords: Community service, Health personnel, Infant mortality, Poverty, Substance abuse, Primary health care, Underserved communities