Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS)

Annotation: The Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) partners with states across the country to promote the delivery of quality heatlh-care services and innovations in publicly financed health care, especially for individuals with complex, high-cost needs. CHCS facilitates problem-solving exchanges and peer learning among a diverse range of health care stakeholders to improve access, integrate fragmented services, reduce avoidable expenditures, and link payment with quality. CHCS works directly with state and federal agencies, health plans, providers, and consumer organizations to design and implement cost-effective strategies that improve care for people with complex and high-cost needs. The Center's technical assistance and training activities are organized under four broad priority areas: 1) Health care coverage and access; 2) Integrating care for people with complex needs; 3) quality, delivery systems, and payment reform; and 4) leadership and capacity building. CHCS maintains an online library of publications, technical tools, and other resources on accelerating health care delivery innovations.

Keywords: Health care financing, Electronic publications, Managed care, Medicaid managed care, Model programs, Prevention programs, State Children's Health Insurance program

Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center)

Annotation: The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center), in partnership with the health care industry, the business community, and clients and their families, examines new care and payment models that improve and sustain the Medicare and Medicaid/Children's Health Insurance Programs for beneficiaries and the health care system at large. Website contents include news, events, and funding opportunities.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Diffusion of innovation, Federal grants, Federal initiatives, Health care financing, Medicaid, Medicare, Program improvement

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (CBPP)

Annotation: The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that analyzes issues related to government programs serving low-income people. Policy issues include health and food assistance, the federal budgetary impact on low-income families, affordable housing, the working poor, income support, and tax policy. The center's state low-income initiatives project works with state-based organizations and policy makers in low-income program design issues including child health and Medicaid. The center's WIC Project focuses on the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC). The center publishes a newsletter on the WIC program; distributes reports and analyses by subscription; and maintains an open listserv. The center's Start Healthy, Stay Healthy campaign enlists early childhood programs and other organizations to identify children eligible for Medicaid but not enrolled in the program. The center works with these groups to implement strategies for helping families overcome barriers to Medicaid application and enrollment. Outreach materials are available. Training sessions are provided as part of the Start Healthy, Stay Healthy campaign.

Keywords: Health care financing, Access to health care, Child health, Low income groups, Medicaid, Outreach, Poverty, Public policies, WIC program

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children's health insurance program, State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization

Family Voices

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children's health insurance program, State programs

Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured

Annotation: The Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured serves as a resource for policymakers, the media, and organizations seeking information on health care for the low-income population and the Medicaid program. Its work focuses on health policy issues at the national and state level, including Medicaid and health reform, access to care, and health care financing for the low-income population. The Program provides information and analysis on health care coverage and access to care, the role of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program, and coverage of the uninsured to inform policy discussions. The Program collects and analyzes policy and data at the state and federal level on eligibility and enrollment; spending, coverage, and care delivery; long term services and supports; and Medicaid’s role for high-need populations and dual eligible beneficiaries. The Program was formerly the Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, chaired by James R. Tallon, Jr., with a bipartisan advisory group of national leaders and experts in health care and public policy from 1991–2016.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children's Health Insurance Program, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care costs, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health policy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Uninsured persons

Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association (MSDA)

Annotation: The Medicaid/SCHIP Dental Association (MSDA) works to optimize the oral health of Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) beneficiaries by developing, promoting, and promulgating evidence- and best practices-based state and national Medicaid/SCHIP oral health policies and practices. MSDA seeks opportunities to provide state and national leadership in the development of sound Medicaid/SCHIP oral health policy; provide a support system to Medicaid/SCHIP dental program representatives; encourage innovation and collaboration among program representatives; promote the integration of oral health and primary care in Medicaid/SCHIP programs; and promote an appropriate balance between the prevention and treatment of oral diseases and conditions. Membership is open to Medicaid and SCHIP dental program representatives as well as others who are interested in these programs. Oral health briefs, reports, Congressional testimony, and other documents can be downloaded from the Web site, which also provides links to other dental associations and a list of Medicaid/SCHIP dental contacts. MSDA also hosts an annual meeting.

Keywords: Oral health, Dental health, Healthy policy, Medicaid, State CHIP

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC)

Annotation: The Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission (MACPAC) was established in the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (P.L. 111-3) and was later expanded and funded through the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148). MACPAC is tasked with reviewing state and federal Medicaid and CHIP access and payment policies and making recommendations to Congress, the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS), and the states on a wide range of issues affecting Medicaid and CHIP populations, including health care reform.

Keywords: Children's health insurance program, Federal agencies, Health care financing, Health care reform, Medicaid

Medicaid Health Plans of America (MHPA)

Annotation: Incorporated in 1995, Medicaid Health Plans of America is a national organization solely dedicated to representing health plans participating in Medicaid managed care. The association's primary focus is to provide research, analysis, and organized forums that support the development of effective policy solutions to promote and enhance the delivery of quality healthcare. Specifically, the focus is in support of organized health systems that serve the needs of vulnerable and underserved populations.

Keywords: Medicaid, Health care financing, Health care systems, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care

National Association of State Medicaid Directors (NASMD)

Annotation: The National Association of State Medicaid Directors (NASMD), a nonprofit organization of representatives of state Medicaid agencies, provides a forum for communication among the states and the federal government on issues related to the Medicaid program. The association provides reference information, sponsors training seminars, holds semiannual conferences, and publishes the newsletter MMI Bulletin. Since 1979, NASMD has been affiliated with the American Public Human Services Association (formerly:American Public Welfare Association); together, they operate the Medicaid Management Institute, which provides information and technical assistance to state Medicaid agencies.

Keywords: Health care financing, Medicaid

National Health Law Program (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

National Health Law Program (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Chapel Hill, North Carolina and in Washington, DC.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Washington, DC.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.