Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (25 total).

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

American Medical Association (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR)

Annotation: The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) is a professional, scientific, and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of bone and mineral metabolism. ASBMR encourages and promotes the study of this field through annual scientific meetings, publication of the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, advocacy, and interaction with government agencies and related societies.

Keywords: Medical research, Advocacy, Clinical medicine, Conferences, Professional societies, Publications, Research perrsonnel, Scientists

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public Policies, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Publications, State programs

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Center for the Advancement of Distance Education (CADE)

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children's health insurance program, State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization

Families USA

Annotation: Families USA works to ensure that all Americans are enrolled in quality health coverage and to foster a health care system that is affordable and sustainable. Current initiatives include protecting health coverage and care; expanding access to oral health coverage, increasing awareness about the need to improve access to oral health care, and expanding the use of mid-level dental providers; empowering consumer health advocates to achieve meaningful changes in public policies; and providing resources for enrollment navigators and assisters. The website contains information about key issues such as health equity, health system transformation, Medicaid, and Medicare; a blog; news; and a resource library, including a Story Bank toolkit to help organizations incorporate people's personal experiences and voices into their work.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Consumer education, Enrollment, Families, Health care costs, Health care financing, Health insurance, Legislation, Publications

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

Institute for Child Health Policy (ICHP)

Annotation: The Institute for Child Health Policy works to improve the health status of infants and children by integrating intellectual and organizational resources of the state university system to assist in the formulation and evaluation of health policies, programs, and systems. A major division of the Institute is the Center for Policy and Program Coordination, funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The institute sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter. Topics include Children's Medical Services, Florida's Healthy Kids, Florida KidCare, child health financing and reimbursement, and telehealth. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Distance education, Florida, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health policy, Infant health, Managed care, Outreach, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training

Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Publications include The Health and Wellbeing of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation, The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbook, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA. The resource center also sponsors a graduate student internship program and the DataSpeak web conference series, and provides technical assistance for state and local MCH agencies in published journal articles.

Keywords: Health statistics, Block grants, Child health, Conferences, Information services, Management, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public health, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Title V programs

Mental Health America

Annotation: Formerly known as the National Mental Health Association, Mental Health America is a voluntary advocacy organization concerned with all aspects of mental health and mental illness. The association provides information on a broad range of mental illnesses and related issues through descriptions of programs and other resources to prevent mental-emotional disability. It also has a grassroots education initiative on children's mental health called Children's Mental Health Matters and promotes Children's Depression Awareness Day. Mental Health America offers information, referrals and publications, including a newsletter and a resource catalog through its resource center. Materials are available in Spanish. The association also provides public education, research, and advocacy services and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Advocacy, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Program descriptions, Publications, Spanish language materials

National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP)

Annotation: The National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy center dedicated to state health policy and practice. NASHP conducts policy analysis, provides training and technical assistance to states, and–through its publications, web site, meetings, and annual state health policy conference–disseminates information designed to assist states in the development of practical, innovative solutions to complex health policy issues. Current projects include work with the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), health care for children in foster care, and the developmental services states provide young children and their families through Medicaid.

Keywords: Policy, Access to health care, Conferences, Health insurance, Health policy, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional societies, Publications, State children's health insurance programs, State programs, Technical assistance, Training

National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)

Annotation: The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is a non-profit, non-partisan policy research organization whose mission is to identify and promote strategies to reduce child poverty and improve the well-being of low-income children and their families. NCCP alerts the public to demographic statistics about child poverty and to the scientific research on the impact of poverty; designs and conducts studies to identify programs, policies, and practices that work best; disseminates information about economic security, early care and learning, and family stability; brings together public and private groups; and challenges policymakers and opinion leaders to change the adverse consequences of poverty on young children. NCCP maintains a web site of information and resources and publishes newsletters, reports, issue briefs, and fact sheets, and maintains an e-newsletter. In partnership with the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the Institute for Social Research, the University of Michigan; and the U.S. Child Care Bureau, it provides the Web resource Child Care and Early Education Research Connections.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Conferences, Early childhood education, Economic factors, Education, Family child care, Family support, Information dissemination, Information sources, Libraries, Maternal health, Poverty, Public policies, Publications, Statistics, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.