Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (40 total).

ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH)

Annotation: The ADHA Institute for Oral Health (IOH) advances the profession of dental hygiene in collaboration with the American Dental Hygienists' Association through scholarships, research grants, community service grants, and fellowships. The website provides information on fundraising tools and resources, the IOH benefit reception and auction, and volunteer opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Fundraising, Grants, Oral health, Professional education, Research

Aetna Foundation

Annotation: The Aetna Foundation is the independent charitable and philanthropic arm of Aetna Inc. Founded in 1972, the foundation helps build healthy communities by promoting volunteerism, forming partnerships and funding initiatives that improve the quality of life where their employees and customers live and work. Grants are given in a wide variety of health topics.

Keywords: Foundations, Grants

Alliance for Early Success

Annotation: The Alliance for Early Success (formerly the Birth to Five Policy Alliance) provides leadership, funding, and curates technical assistance to improve state policies that lead to better health and economic outcomes, especially for the most vulnerable young children. The alliance brings state, national, and funding partners together to improve state policies for children, from birth through age 8. The website provides information about partnerships and grants. Resources address three policy areas (health, family support, and learning) and three policy foundations (standards, screening and assessment, and accountability). The alliance also published a blog.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Family support, Grants, Health policy, Leadership, Learning, Public private partnerships, Socioeconomic status

American College of Gastroenterology (ACG)

Annotation: Founded in 1932, the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) works to advance the scientific study and medical practice of diseases of the gastrointestinal (digestive) tract. The college sponsors annual scientific meetings, provides regional postgraduate training courses, awards research grants, advocates on behalf of gastroenterologists and their patients, and disseminates scientific information on digestive health and GI disorders. Publications include the Journal of Gastroenterology. Patient materials are posted on ACG's Web site.

Keywords: , Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Grants, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional societies, Professional training

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP)

Annotation: The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) was founded in 1987 to advance knowledge of suicide and its prevention. The Foundation funds projects that attempt to increase understanding of suicide, serves as a suicide information and education center, supports programs to assist survivors of suicide, and educates the public on the size of the problem and the need for research, prevention, and treatment. Services to consumers also include referrals. Publications include a newsletter. The foundation sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Grants, Research, Suicide

American Public Human Services Association (APHSA)

Annie E. Casey Foundation (AECF)

Annotation: One of the Annie E. Casey Foundation's main objectives is to provide the best available data and analysis on critical issues affecting disadvantaged children and families, as well as the knowledge and tools that practitioners, policymakers, and citizens need to advance their efforts on behalf of children. For more than half a century the foundation has worked to improve the futures for kids at risk of poor outcomes. Their mission encompasses direct support services to vulnerable children and families, and in recent years has used major grant making to support demonstrations, evaluations, and advocacy aimed at helping large public systems, as well as nonprofit networks, to become more effective in their efforts on behalf of struggling families and at-risk kids.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Data analysis, Family support, Grants, High risk children, Low income groups, Poverty

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Carnegie Corporation of New York

Annotation: The Carnegie Corporation of New York, a philanthropic foundation created by Andrew Carnegie in 1911, promotes knowledge and understanding among Americans. The foundation currently has four program divisions: education; international peace and security; international development; and special projects: Civic Engagement for the 21st Century. The corporation also has a scholars program.

Keywords: Philanthropy, Grants

Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center)

Annotation: The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (Innovation Center), in partnership with the health care industry, the business community, and clients and their families, examines new care and payment models that improve and sustain the Medicare and Medicaid/Children's Health Insurance Programs for beneficiaries and the health care system at large. Website contents include news, events, and funding opportunities.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Diffusion of innovation, Federal grants, Federal initiatives, Health care financing, Medicaid, Medicare, Program improvement

Children's Health Fund

Annotation: The Children's Health Fund (CHF), founded in 1987, is committed to providing health care to the nation's medically underserved children through the development and support of innovative primary care pediatric programs and the promotion of guaranteed access to medical homes and appropriate health care for all children. CHF initiates health care programs for underserved children and creates low-literacy health education materials to assist children and their families in learning about a variety of health related topics.

Keywords: Children, Grants, Homeless persons, Immunization, Spanish language materials

Emergency Medicine Foundation (EMF)

Annotation: The Emergency Medicine Foundation provides financial support for hypothesis-based emergency medicine research projects and education to improve patient care in emergency medicine. Donors are emergency physicians, professional practice groups, and corporations actively involved in the emergency medicine marketplace. The foundation publishes SCOPE, a semi-annual report.

Keywords: Emergency medicine, Grants, Research

Foundation Center

Annotation: The Foundation Center is a national service organization providing information on grants, loans, and funding from foundation programs available to nonprofit organizations. The Center has offices in Atlanta, San Francisco, Washington, and Cleveland. Through collections at the five offices and a network of over 200 cooperating libraries throughout the United States, grantseekers have free access to core center publications, plus a wide range of books, periodicals, and research documents relating to foundations and philanthropy. Publications include many guides on available grants, such as Guide to Funding for Children, Youth, and Families and Guide to Funding and Health. The Center also makes information available electronically through FC Search: The Foundation Center's Database on CD-ROM, and custom searching and online services. The Center also hosts various seminars and events. A catalog is available upon request.

Keywords: Foundations, Grants, Nonprofit organizations, Philanthropy

Foundation for Child Development (FCD)

Annotation: The Foundation for Child Development's grantmaking activities focus on efforts to understand and improve the life conditions of children and their families. FCD has a special interest in children in working families, particularly in those families that are struggling to meet their children's basic human needs. Three cross-cutting themes guide FCD's work: linking research on children and families to formation of relevant programs and policies; identifying fresh approaches to crafting sound social strategies for children and families; and nurturing new generations of leaders in child development research and policy. Foundation publications include working papers and information updates.

Keywords: Child health, Foundations, Grants, Poverty

George Gund Foundation

Annotation: The George Gund Foundation was established in 1952 as a private, nonprofit institution with the sole purpose of contributing to human well-being and the progress of society. It funds projects in the arts, economic development, education, environment, human services, green building policy, retinal degenerative diseases, and philanthropic services infrastructure. It focuses on the greater Cleveland, Ohio, area.

Keywords: Grants, Ohio, Philanthropy, Social change

Gifts in Kind International (GIKA)

Annotation: Established in 1984, Gifts in Kind International directs donated products and services to non-profit organizations that serve the needy. Donations made by companies include computer technology, office products and supplies, personal care products, clothing, educational materials, furniture, appliances and other needed materials.

Keywords: Grants, Corporate programs, Financing, Organizations

Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families (GCYF)

Annotation: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families (GCYF) serves as a point of contact for grantmakers seeking collegial and collaborative relationships with other funders concerned with children, youth, and families. Focus areas include building constituencies in diverse communities, maternal and child health, immigrant youth and educational opportunities, poverty and working families, and grantmaking in times of crisis.

Keywords: Children, Families, Grants, Philanthropy, Youth

Grantmakers In Health (GIH)

Annotation: Grantmakers In Health (GIH) is an educational organization serving the professional needs of trustees, executives, and program staff of private foundation and corporate giving programs in health and related human services philanthropy. It provides educational services to over 800 private grantmaking organizations throughout the country whose funding interest and concerns include health and human services and alerts grantmakers of opportunities for strategic and effective funding, as well as the possibilities for collaborative programs with grantmaking colleagues. Services include providing technical assistance and consultation to grantmakers on both programmatic and operational issues, convening, publishing, education and training, brokering professional relationships, and conducting studies on health philanthropy. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Grants, Philanthropy

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

Hispanic Dental Association Foundation (HDAF)

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.