Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The Alliance for Young Families (now known as the Massachusetts Alliance on Teen Pregnancy) is a nonprofit consortium of health and human service providers in Massachusetts. The Alliance's mission is to provide statewide leadership to prevent adolescent pregnancy and to promote quality services for pregnant and parenting teens and their children through policy analysis, education, research, and advocacy. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The Alliance sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Parenting

Annotation: The Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation (CECMHC) was funded as an Innovation and Improvement Project by the Office of Head Start in October 2008. The 3-year grant brings together a group of university researchers to develop strategies to help Head Start programs build a strong mental health foundation for their children, families and staff. The site provides materials for Healthy Start staff and for families.

Keywords: Child mental health, Federal programs, Head Start, Parenting

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: The Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC), a nonprofit organization founded in 1974, works to give parents the education and support they need, and to give the professionals who work with parents and children the latest continuing education to enable them to provide high quality parenting and child development services. CICC creates, evaluates, delivers and disseminates a variety of parenting skill-building programs that are taught in communities in the form of parenting classes, seminars and workshops. The Center delivers classes and seminars in these programs in Los Angeles and other cities throughout the United States, and it does this in cooperation with schools, childcare centers, Head Start agencies, hospitals, and civic, cultural religious and other local institutions. CICC offers a variety of books, videos, and other materials on parenting and child development issues and has an online methodology for parents and service providers to help determine whether children under five may have special needs (The CICC Discovery Tool).

Keywords: Child health, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Parenting

Annotation: This publisher has easy-to-read materials on pregnancy, pregnancy hazards, postpartum, parenting, teen pregnancy, nutrition, newborns, high-risk pregnancy, labor and birth, breastfeeding, and women's health, including books, PowerPoint/CD ROMs, charts, posters,flip charts, and other materials.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Parenting, Pregnancy

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Keywords: Special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Employment, Equal opportunities, Health services, Parenting, Poverty, Pregnancy, Sexuality, Violence, Women

Annotation: The Duluth Family Visitation Center offers support for victims of domestic violence and their children as well as supervised visitation, monitored visitation, and monitored exchange services to families affected by domestic violence. The center provides information, resources, online data sources, and intervention tools to help curb domestic violence and heal the effects of abuse.

Keywords: Child abuse, Domestic violence, Parenting, Visitation

Annotation: Educating Communities for Parenting (ECP) offers a variety of programs and services for children, adolescents, and adolescent parents. ECP programs serve preschool to high school students in public, private, and alternative education sites. Workshops and programs are customized to meet the specific needs of the populations served. The website provides information on programs and services, workshops, special events, news, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Children, Community programs, Parenting education

Annotation: Family Network on Disabilities (FDN) is a national network of individuals of all ages who may be at-risk, have disabilities, or have special needs, together with their families, professionals, and concerned citizens. Their mission is to provide family-driven support, education, information, and advocacy. FDN provides online learning tools (including archived webinars), a digital library, and resources at the national library and Florida state level.

Keywords: , Special education, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Education, Florida, Information services, Parent education, Parenting, Support groups

Annotation: The Family Research Council (FRC) is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that analyzes issues affecting families and works to ensure that the interests of families are considered and respected in the development of national policy. The organization is dedicated to the promotion of marriage and family and the sanctity of human life. Maintains an online bookstore, publishes legislative action periodicals, hosts radio programs and blogs, and posts national survey data related to marriage and families in America.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Parental leave, Parenting, Public policies, Public policies, Work family issues, Working women

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: Healthy Teen Network, formerly the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, is a national resource network of individuals and organizations focused on solving problems related to adolescent pregnancy prevention, sexuality, pregnancy, and parenting. The organization serves as a resource sharing and communication network to inform service providers and others about available resources and successful program models. Some materials are available in Spanish. It publishes a quarterly newsletter and also prepares alerts on funding opportunities and legislation. The organization also sponsors conferences. In 2010 it launched an evidence-based resource center.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Community programs, Parenting, Prevention programs, School based clinics, Self help clearinghouses, Sexuality

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Adolescent health, Child health, Educational materials, Health education, Health promotion, Infant health, Information sources, Media, Parenting, Teaching

Annotation: Mothers of Supertwins (MOST) is a national nonprofit organization founded in 1987 as a support network for families who have or are expecting triplets or higher numbers of babies. MOST provides information, education, resources, and support during pregnancy, infancy, and childhood. Services include a medical and educational advisory board, a quarterly journal, referrals for families with special needs, parenting packages for a variety of topics, and local networking within the U.S. A resource catalog is available.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Multiple births, Parenting, Triplets

Keywords: Prenatal care, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Federal agencies, Information sources, Nutrition, Parenting, Patient education, Spanish language materials, Weight management

Annotation: Founded in 1991, the National Organization of Single Mothers seeks to help the country's single parents meet the challenges of daily life and to counter the negative stereotype of single parents. The organization maintains an online bookstore, publishes an online magazine, hosts discussion forums, and links to blogs, support groups, and other resources of interest to single mothers.

Keywords: Child support, Parenting, Single mothers

Annotation: The National Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is a nonprofit association that works to support and speak on behalf of children and youth; assist parents in developing the skills they need to raise and protect their children; and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools of the nation. The PTA provides leadership training tools, as well as parent resources on topics such as child safety, health and wellness, student achievement, and media technology. The association hosts online forums, produces print and electronic publications, and sponsors a variety of meetings, conferences, and events.

Keywords: Adolescents, , Child advocacy, Child health programs Parenting, Children, Education